We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Lewiston B&B and Inns
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Really cannot say enough about this beautiful place, from the staff to our room. There was a rustic feel, loved the hardwood floors, the bed was very comfortable, bathroom perfect. We didn't want for anything!
The location is perfect, building was beautiful, definitely returning!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    183
    84
    78
    32
See reviews for
103
380
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at the BArton Hotel and Spa and although the building andlobby is very nice the service was extremely poor and you can hear everyone beside, below and above you. The poor kid who served us was hopelessly unorganized and overwhelmed and under trained, asking for our main dish order before our drink, forgetting our appetizer. We waited 55 minutes for our dinner entre to arrive. Breakfast in the morning was barely edible with no servers in site and hard over cooked quiches and limited items. The whole building was extremely cold and damp and we had to get sweaters just to eat dinner. The building and lobby is very nice and location is excellent. They have a long way to go and need to hire skilled hospitality people instead of minimum wage high school kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We purchased this voucher on Living Social, the hotel was absolutely gorgeous! Staff very friendly and helpful, only problem was the thin walls and ceiling. We stayed on the 3rd floor and heard the family above us and the walking back and forth was very annoying. My husband and I were sleeping and then at 6am we were awoken by them upstairs and the walking back and forth as the floor boards creeked like an old house. Beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were very warm.
If you stay here ask for the rooms on the top floor, this may eliminate the noise factor!
Otherwise the hotel is beautiful and lots of historic charm!

Room Tip: top floor any room to avoid the noise above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I spent a day/night there for some r&r. They upgraded our room for free and we had a view of the Niagara River. While we didn't go to the Falls or casino, they were both about 15 minutes away. My wife choose the outlet mall (15 minutes away) instead. We had a nice dinner. The wait staff was nice but a table of 12 had them a little overwhelmed. We had to ask for our drink order a 2nd time after they neglected to deliver on our 1st order. I had a massage that was quite nice but the spa facility is pretty much a waiting lounge and private rooms for massages. The continental breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

A wonderful place to relax. The rooms are spacious and inviting, the fire place and poster bed are a nice touch. We went during the week and it was very quiet, the staff were friendly and accommodating. The town is really quaint and it was beautiful walking along the river. The spa treatments were great. Overall I would recommend this place to couples needing some time to relax.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Like many other reviewers on here, I stayed here with a Groupon deal. Our room was as promised - large, with a king-sized bed, flat-screen t.v., bathroom with a shower and tub with jets, etc. It was technically a "river view" room, though from a slight distance. Breakfast was kind of a glorified continental breakfast but tasty: hot items like eggs and hashbrowns, fresh-baked goods, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc.

Overall, the inn looks really nice at a surface level. My fiance and I checked in and were like, "Wow, this is really nice!" for about five minutes. Then we started noticing the cracks in the ceiling, issues with the crown molding, terrible dry-walling in the bathroom (seriously, poorly spackled and not even painted completely). As Jim B., another reviewer mentioned, the insulation was terrible; we could hear the majority of the conversations of the people staying above us. Since it was built in 2007, I'm guessing they were going for an old colonial-style look, which fits with the atmosphere of the town. However, it just looked and felt shoddy with a veneer of antique "luxury." The room and the hotel were very clean, though.

The service from the hotel staff was pretty good. They were nice and accommodating. We had TERRIBLE service in the restaurant, however. Seriously. I generally tip 20% for even average service but our waitress was completely missing in action for most of our meal, which led me to tip 15% (she probably didn't realize it was a slight but I know how hard it is working in food service).

It was a pleasant stay overall but I'm extremely glad I had a discount. If they didn't bill themselves as a "luxury boutique hotel" (from their website), I might have felt a little differently about the quality. As it is, I would not stay there and pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honeoye, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Let me start out with saying that I have been a Travel Agent for 16 years and have stayed in many hotels. This one was pleasant, especially since I got a great rate. Room was lovely, Keurig Coffeemaker great, nice large Shower, very satisfied. Here comes the bad part - avoid the restaurant. This was supposed to be a special evening for us, dinner was so disappointing and certainly did not justify the price. Their Special Beef Stew - seemed as if it had cooked for days, only some shredded beef in a bland sauce. I had the Chicken Pot Pie, another disaster. What a shame, nice hotel but the quality of their food needs major improvement - especially since there are great restaurants in Lewiston. We never bothered with breakfast but opted for a funky little Bakery/ Coffee Shop which was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.