We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtesy and comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Courtesy and comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I was able to spend one evening at this charming Inn while on my way to Canada. We were greeted with graciousness and made to feel welcome. They were informative or the area and made good recommendations for where to dine and to relax as well as things to see while in town. The room was spacious and comfortable. As a gay couple we were very received and accepted, which was comforting. I wold recommend this as a destination to all those looking to escape to a stunning little town and a fine quiet retreat. I am sorry to say I was not able to enjoy their spa.

Room Tip: We had a suite. They have discounts for those visiting friends or relatives at the college.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    188
    87
    81
    32
See reviews for
104
390
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arkport, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Nice hotel. Spa employees were exceptional. Do make a reservation for any spa treatment in advance. I went for an overnight with a friend; one of those spa package deals. We didn't make reservations in advance and they were quite booked up but the employees were very accommodating and squeezed us in. I wouldn't recommend going in the summer time. There air conditioning was quite weak. I'm sure the fall, winter, or spring would be nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the water or that has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent two nights at the Barton Hill Hotel. While it is a beautiful hotel with a lot of character, and a great location it falls short in some important areas. The first night we were upgraded to a king room with a fireplace. The room was large and very nice. The bathroom however had some issues. Peeling paint on the ceiling and one dim light over a sink, also the toilet seat was falling off the toilet. We also never could get the fireplace to work. There was no information whatsoever in the room. Not for the TV, fireplace, local attractions, maps, nothing. Upon checkout I informed the person of the obvious issues. When we returned we were upgraded to the same type room but a floor higher. The bathroom in the room did not have paint peeling but the same lone dingy light bulb over the sink and yet another toilet with the seat falling off. Overall a nice hotel but with upkeep issues. Overall for the price they show a lack of attention to detail. It seems that with someone taking some control of the property they could take it to the level of quality their price reflects.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the Niagara River (though it is a distant view) are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We spent last weekend at the Barton Hill hotel and spa. We had a wonderful time! Not only is the area of Lewiston full of history and charm, but so is this wonderful hotel! From the moment you walk in the door, you are transported back in time. The lobby is huge, and filled with beautiful furniture and history.
Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We also had a complementary breakfast, which included hot eggs and hashbrowns. That was a pleasant surprise!
The rooms were very comfortable, especially the bed! Our fireplace did not work, but since it was very warm out, it really didn't matter. The only problem with the room, was in the bathroom, they need to put a small table or dresser to hold your toiletry bag. Also, they need hooks on the back of the bathroom door. Otherwise, we loved our room and our stay!
I would definately go back and stay there again.
As we were checking out, we were greeted by the owner. She was very friendly and was eager to give us directions that we needed and also some additional information about upcoming events at the hotel.
I got a facial from the spa there. A young lady Karen, did an excellent job, and she was an abosolute delight!
Thanks Barton Hill for a very fun/romantic weekend for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a water front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

What a little gem of a hotel. We have stayed many times at Niagara on The Lake in Canada but now we have the same thing right here in the states at considerably less expense. We had a wonderful time and the village is so quaint . Will go back as soon as we can . Great view from the room of the Niagara river. Comfortable, clean and large rooms.Very nice staff!

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I purchased a Travelzoo voucher for a one night stay with day spa treatments. We had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious and had a great view of the river. We both had pedicures, at the same time, that lasted for a full 45 minutes. It was my husband's first pedicure and he quite enjoyed the experience. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. My husband commented on how peaceful the hotel was in the lobby and with no disturbances during the night. This is probably due to the fact that there is no bar or restaurant in the hotel. There is a nice park across the road from the hotel where you can launch your boat, fish or just enjoy the scenery of the Niagara River. There is easy access to the Lower River Road to drive to Fort Niagara. We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Choose a riverview 3rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We went for a family wedding the weekend of September 16th - 18th, 2011 and the Barton Hill is where all the wedding guests stayed and where the reception was held. The lobby was very charming with its hardwood floors, area rugs, comfy couches and wingback chairs etc. Staff was friendly and helpful whenever approached for anything. The room we had was quiet, clean and roomy with king size bed and the bathroom was roomy with a whirlpool tub and a large shower stall. The room also had an electric fire place, flat screen tv, wingback chair with a foot stool, desk and a large wardrobe. The bed was very, very comfortable. The only down side to our room was the alarm clock didn't light up so that you could see what time it was. It was supposed to include continental breakfest but it was much more - eggs fritata, fruit, yogurt, muffins, scones, bagels, bread to toast, coffee, tea. The reception was held on the second floor with a large terrace attached overlooking the river. Very beautifully decorated for the event. I had a very enjoyable stay and would go back again. I also would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: 100 Center Street, Lewiston, NY 14092 (Formerly Niagara Inn at Barton Hill)
Location: United States > New York > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is the Niagara Region's premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests at Barton Hill will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service, in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway or a business retreat. All of our elegantly appointed guest retreats and suites are decorated with an historic flair to reflect the heritage of the area, and are also equipped with the most contemporary amenities including fireplaces, flat-panel high-definition televisions, and I-Pod docking stations. Dating as far back as the 1600's, Lewiston and the Niagara Frontier have been the gateway to adventure and commerce along the Great Lakes, and today the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa is known as the premier luxury boutique hotel of the Niagara Region. In addition to stunning rooms and an attentive staff, Barton Hill's central location in the charming historic village of Lewiston allows guests to enjoy easy access to some of the area's most exciting attractions and events. Whether you are in the area to enjoy the natural beauty, shoot the Class 5 rapids of the Niagara River Gorge, traveling for business, or just looking to get away from the everyday, you will always find a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barton Hill Hotel Lewiston
The Barton Hill Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.