We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carl's Rip Van Winkle Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carl's Rip Van Winkle Motor Lodge
Save
You added Carl's Rip Van Winkle Motor Lodge to your Saves list
810 Route 23 B, Leeds, NY 12451   |  
Hotel amenities
NY Southern Tier
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Always stay in one of their cabins. No frills, but quiet, clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a great get away with family or just a romantic weekend, this is the place. Grandson lives in Hudson, NY and this is much cheaper than a B&B there. Cabin this time had refrig and micro wave. Great coffee at office. Wonderful family owned business. They are happy to accommodate. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to Carl's Rip Van Winkle Lodge for the Memorial Day Weekend. Lovely surroundings but, unfortunately, bare bones accommodations. This was a family gathering and we were surprised of the total lack of amenities. This was a cabin in the woods but we expected more than a single bar of soap. No fridge, no tissues, no extra toilet paper, let alone a hair dryer. If you go, bring your own supplies and don't expect much. Unfortunately, in Catskill, NY there aren't many choices.

Room Tip: Choose a motel room and not a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Right before Storm Sandy hit one of the last weekends that were nice in October we went up to Leeds and stayed at the Rip Van Winkle. As a kid I used to come up here with my family and then as my kids were little we used to come up and stay in the log cabins. This time we stayed in the motel rooms. They are not the most up-to-date but they are extremely clean and the shower worked fabulous. We only stayed for one night to get away and it is close enough to the Rip Van Winkle Bridge which we walked over and back. If you want a good breakfast you can go down the road to Bettys or there is a family restaurant (which for some reason I can't recall the name of it) but was rather good. Only down the road from the hotel. All in all I could see myself coming back in the future and I would love to stay in the cabins once again!

Room Tip: If you can stay in cabins! I loved this as a kid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here twice this year....once to go to a family funeral and a separate time afterwards. Place is very very clean. Colonial decor needs some updating. Sister stayed in cabin in back and it was so so old and smelled sooooooooooooo musty...but clean.
One evening we came out to car and it was scratched...man who worked there told me without asking his opinion that it didn't happen here....HOW do you know that sir? I asked him kindly that if anyone comes into office to say if they heard anything about car getting bumped to please let me know. At check out I asked him if anyone contacted him about hitting our car, His response to me was," I have no idea what you're talking about?" Really??? Cause I just spoke to you about it less then 24 hours ago??!!!??? Very strange response. Recently when I stayed there, we went to the office to see if they had a first aid kit because our 70 year old Pops had fallen on rocks chasing our 20 month old nephew. He scraped his face. When we went into office to ask for band aids, Lady working there said very rudely that she couldn't help us and that basicly it was his own fault for climbing on rocks. Plain, old nasty people! On that note, I won't be staying here again until Hell freezes over.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the "Faux" Log cabins or any cabin without bringing Lysol to spray...too mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This was such a cute get-a-way! The cabins are nestled around the property and has parking at each cabin. Cabins are outdated but extremely clean! each cabin has a deck with adirondack chairs. Great place to just relax. Bring a book and some wine to entertain yourself! Nice pool area with lots of chairs and a few tables with umbrellas. Not too far from quaint town with antique stores and a great store called mahalo. It has clothes and trinkets. Also a nice italian restaurant called la conca d'oto. Great food, atmosphere, and service. (Lighting is very dark though so bring reading glasses for the menu!) I would be very interested to see how it is in the colder months.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Yes but only in style plus a few 'regular' motel rooms. Perfectly maintained family business showing care and courtesy. There should be more motels like this one. Run in the true American style of comfort and grace.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Rooms were spotless and fresh. Stayed in the "blue spruce" cottage. The place is clean, cozy, and quiet. The only thing I don't like is that they are closed in the winter. Would have liked to have crashed there after going skiing at Windham

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carl's Rip Van Winkle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carl's Rip Van Winkle Motor Lodge

Address: 810 Route 23 B, Leeds, NY 12451
Location: United States > New York > Leeds
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Leeds
Number of rooms: 41

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carl's Rip Van Winkle Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.