We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and comfortable food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D & R Depot Restaurant

D & R Depot Restaurant
63 Lake St, Le Roy, NY 14482-1007
(585) 768-6270
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Le Roy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service and comfortable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Chicken pot pie, macaroni and cheese, stuffed meatloaf, and other comfort foods are on offer at this restaurant along with other great dishes. With a menu ranging from great salads to steaks and lobster tails, the Depot has a lot to offer. Often, though, a really good bet is waiting to hear what the special of the day is. I especially recommend the Depot for breakfast when their famous muffins and baked goods (a nice touch for dinner) are an excellent compliment to a variety of breakfast dishes.

As a local favorite, the D & R Depot still keeps things fresh with changing sunday dinner specials and special events like grilled cheese month in April with a great new sandwich each day. Small touches in service - like individual tea pots kept warm by candles or small decanters of soda so you can refill your glass - elevate the experience of dining here.

Though I hesitate to check the scenic view box below to mislead those expecting grand vistas of valleys and lakes, there is a wonderful charm to dining in an old rail station that is right on tracks that are still active for local freight. A must try location for train enthusiasts.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Le Roy, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very unique and friendly dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is not the place to go if you are in a hurry but the atmosphere and food are excellent. The chicken pot pie is especially good and comforting. If you are there when a train goes by you get a wooden nickel to use for a free dessert next visit. You can also get a free wooden nickel and money off certificate for your birthday. The owners are almost always there to make sure your dining experience is superb.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“downhome cooking in a unique venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A small town in Western NY, home to Jello, LeRoy ( correct spelling), is home to the D&R Depot which is housed in the old train station. It is the most unique place with the best food around the area.
To pick one favorite item is impossible, however, they are most famous for their chicken pot pie which is all homemade and topped with a flakey crust. For the seafood lovers, they recently added a Seafood Potpie, amazing is all I need to say. Aunt ethel's meatloaf is stuffed with ham and cheese, a portion so big you'll have it for tomorrows lunch.
For breakfast, I recommend either the crunchy or coconut french toast. Lunch choices include a few gourmet hamburgers, my favorite is the bayou burger but the elk burger is a must do.
The depot caters to the young and old with all of its railroad/train memorabilia including an upside down working model train. They offer alot of specials and on sundays have all inclusive mealsm check their website and sign up for the newsletter.
you cannot go wrong at the depot, between the food, atmosphere and the staff it is a dining experience you will always want to go home too.

ENJOY!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unique decor with great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been going to the D & R depot for more years than I want to count but it is over 15 years. I have been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No matter the season, the décor is so unique with the upside down display in the main dining room and running model train in the smaller room. The meals are always very consistant in flavor and quality of the food. The service is also excellent. You get the friendly hometown feeling when you are greeted by Nancy , Shane or any other staff member. The restaurant is comfortable for solos, couples, families, business meetings or a wedding reception. They also do outside catering with the same quality of service and food that they are famous for in the restaurant. The best part is that it does not break the bank to go there and enjoy a good meal in a place that knows how to take care of their customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I try to make it there around 3 or 4 times a year. This past time we couldn't resist Ethel's meatloaf that we hadn't had in awhile it was as amazing as we remembered!!! Never had a bad experience Gonna go The Conductor next time with a toss salad and there famous house dressing. God bless Nancy you have a gem here!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D & R Depot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D & R Depot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D & R Depot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.