We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome at the Brookside Inn at Laurens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Inn at Laurens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brookside Inn at Laurens to your Saves list
Brookside Inn at Laurens
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   99 Main St., Laurens, NY 13796   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Laurens B&B and Inns
valley cottage
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome at the Brookside Inn at Laurens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lori and Dave were warm and welcoming at their charming inn. We brought our daughter for a tour of SUNY Oneonta, others were touring Hartwick and still others were at All Star events near Cooperstown. Lori and Dave's inn is about 20 minutes from SUNY Oneonta. They welcomed us and provided mid afternoon snacks which were welcome after a long day of driving. We enjoyed the large front porch. Breakfast was delicious and there were eggs, sausage, pastries, and fruit as well as cereal, milk, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The rooms were comfortable, clean and cozy. The bathroom on the first floor was large and very clean. I would definitely recommend this inn.

Room Tip: The red room on the first floor accommodates four if you are a family traveling together and can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooksidelaurens, Owner at Brookside Inn at Laurens, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review we are glad you enjoyed yourself next time you come we will have to show you a shorter route to the college since we are only 5 miles to SUNY Oneonta and Hartwick it should only have taken 10 minutes to get there
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
25
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived past our check in time because if the road conditions and Laurie waited for us and showed us to our room. It is in a beautiful house with such a warm and cozy atmosphere, it was especially nice after a 7 hour drive. The inn is located in a scenic area, at night you just see a sky full of stars--absolutely mesmerizing!! The breakfast is hearty, and this windy drive plus lovely inn is the highlight of our weeklong road trip. Baseball hall of fame is a must visit, only 15 mins away!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a really nice and relaxed time at the Brookside Inn. Lori and Dave have put their hearts and souls into the place and they are most accommodating. The breakfasts and snacks were delicious and plentiful. The setting of the Inn next to the brook is very peaceful. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaner than any hotel. It's close to SUNY college and Hartwick College. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This lovely inn was an ideal spot for a quick getaway. Lori and Dave are terrific hosts and the room was spacious and well equipped. It was a bit farther from Cooperstown and the sites we wanted to visit than we thought. The amenities are excellent and the breakfast choices were more than ample as well as yummy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful stay at Brookside Inn, where we enjoyed the warmth of Lori and Dave's hospitality while accompanying our grandson to attend Dream Week in Cooperstown. What a cozy welcome back each night to a quick snack of ginger bread cookies before bed- the counter is always well-stocked and available to hungry late-nighters. Only surpassed by waking up to the smell of bacon in the morning and an ample, tasty breakfast. The Inn is chock full of Lori's collectibles, happy, quiet, has a nice porch to do a crossword on with coffee in hand. A wonderful home away from home! Thanks, Lori and Dave, and best of luck to you both.
Lynn and Allen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Brookside Inn at Laurens combines the old world charm of a turn of the century bed and breakfast with all of the modern amenities of any contemporary hotel chain.

It should be noted that while the establishment makes use of shared bathrooms, they are in fact far more sanitary in both appearance and upkeep than any individual-room bathroom I've ever utilized at a major chain hotel.

After a (very) long week in a major hotel chain in (less than scenic) Niagara Falls, NY, staying at Lori and Dave's establishment was like visiting long-lost relatives. The breakfast was superb and complete with a dizzying array of options. This establishment is a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced option for both individuals and families visiting nearby Cooperstown and surrounds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I would have given the inn a 3 but the owners are absolutely lovely and so helpful so I gave it a 4. I should've checked about the shared bathroom, my bad, but it wasn't that bad and the place was very clean and easy to use. The room could have used MUCH better lighting. Just one light in the ceiling is depressing to me. However, the service you get is so personal and helpful, professional and prompt that all is set aside for that. And they set out a very complete and yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
75vete, Owner at Brookside Inn at Laurens, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks Christine for the great review and we value all recommendations so we can make every guests experience the best as possible we are going to get right on the lighting and add some lamps to the room it was great meeting you and hope to see you again in the future

Dave & Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookside Inn at Laurens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Inn at Laurens

Address: 99 Main St., Laurens, NY 13796
Location: United States > New York > Laurens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laurens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Inn at Laurens 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn offers five spacious, beautifully decorated guest rooms with a babbling brook along side, and a charming gazebo overlooking Knapp Park. Each guest room is fully furnished with a comfortable king or queen-size bed, except for the Lavender Room which has two comfortable twin beds or one king. Each has a gas fireplace, cable TV with DVD player, pillows, clock, and ceiling fan, A/C, wireless Internet, ironing board, robes, and towels.A scrumptious, bountiful buffet breakfast is available each morning between the hours of 8-10:30am; indulge where ever the mood takes you...in the Great Room which is magnificently decorated with 10 ft. ceilings, two huge ceiling fans with decorated glass and cherry wood, huge white fireplace decorated with fluted molding, and marble surround. You can sit in cafe section, and enjoy your breakfast along with piped in music such as jazz, soft rock or many other melodies to choose from, or you may prefer to watch TV on our 30-inch screen TV while you dine, or you may dine outdoors at our brook-side cafe, or in your very own personal guest room. Come join us for our Upstate New York Hospitality with a little bit of City flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Brookside Inn at Laurens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Inn at Laurens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.