We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The non-smoking room was clean and comfortable. The staff...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   681 Troy Schenectady Road, I-87 Exit 6, Latham, NY 12110-2501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GM Special/Advance Reserv
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Latham
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    39
    12
    22
See reviews for
50
32
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Soke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

As usual booked in advance to get the discount for my road trip. I had driven from Hyannis, MA, so a long day's drive through Vermont for the Fall foliage. Very nice young lady on reception, welcoming and check-in only took 5 minutes, credit card, photo ID, job done. Very nice room (315) loads of space, 2 massive double-beds, everything as you would expect, and clean. Wi-Fi was ace, I was getting 20 Meg download onto my laptop.Had a good night's sleep, then went to Denny's next door which has just opened in the old Friendly's building, very nice breakfast, then headed for Niagara Falls. Photos to follow.

Room Tip: Had room 315, very nice large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We thank you for your review and apologize that it took so long for us to respond. A drive through Vermont in October is truly beautiful. When you stay with us again you will be happy to know that if you show your room key at Denny's you receive a discount on your order. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is definitely dated, however the staff seems to be trying. The rooms were clean, with flat screen televisions. Not luxury, but acceptable. Breakfast was not strong. As john z said, the hotel is barely 50 feet from a busy road - by putting the fan up loud, we were able to block most of the street noise, but it is loud. Walls are also pretty thin. Next time I go I will request a room on the "quiet" side of the hotel. Unlike other writers, I found the staff very accomodating. It is what it is - I have stayed in Super 8's that were newer and nicer, but the price was more than fair for what I got.

Room Tip: You want a room on the side of the hotel away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, General Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank for reviewing our property. We have updated the facility over the past several years, and will continue to do so. Our goal is provide excellent service for a great price. We hope to see you in the future.

Thank you again for the Splendid review!

Take care
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Clean, well presented, nice staff, quiet building - nothing much to complain about really. A perfectly adequate place for a night's sleep when you just need a rest after a long day on the highway. Would happily stay here again if passing through

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to give our guest a quiet and comfortable place to sleep whether it is just for one night or several. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clearly the super 8 is an economy hotel and people who have expectations greater than this will be disappointed. I thought the room are area seemed safe enough for a single female traveling alone. The room itself was clean, and the soft furnishings were clean (a rare find in most economy hotels). The furniture and bedding is not luxurious, and that should not be expected. I found the bathroom to be clean and fully functional with nice fixtures. When I checked in the desk person seemed to be attentive and professional. I had a non-smoking room, and I thought it smelled like smoke- perhaps from a previous occupant or perhaps drifting in from another room. When I checked out the desk attendent asked how it was and I reported the smoke smell. He told me that the 2nd floor is non smoking that shouldn't have happened and left immediately to check it out (again attentive and professional). The breakfast area was teeny with maybe two tables and a meager selection of items (again- as expected for economy hotel and value price). I was here looking for a clean, safe, inexpensive hotel to spend the night before a very early flight and that is exactly what I got. Under the same circumstances, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8LathamNY, General Manager at Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest thank you for the excellent review !

We appreciate our guest feedback especially ones who enjoyed their stay.
The Super 8 in the Latham NY, strives to provide friendly service, along with a clean, comfortable, economically priced rooms. We provide a great stay with for a reasonable price.

We hope to see you again, you are a Super Guest !

Thank you
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area

Address: 681 Troy Schenectady Road, I-87 Exit 6, Latham, NY 12110-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Albany Airport and Downtown Area Attractions. Take a break from the road at our Super 8 Latham / Albany Troy Area hotel. Located off Interstate 87 four miles from Albany International Airport and just minutes from downtown Albany, our Latham, NY, hotel gives you easy access to New York’s capital and beyond.Plan your busy day with free Wi-Fi. Start your morning energized with free SuperStart continental breakfast. For business class comfort, book one of our king executive suites, equipped with recliner, refrigerator and microwave or Delux 2 Doubles equipped refrigerator and microwave . Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Latham,NY/near Alany & Troy area hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Latham/Albany Hotel Latham
Super Eight Latham
Latham Super Eight
Latham Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Latham/Albany, Troy Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.