We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Pleasant Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otis & Oliver's Restaurant

Otis & Oliver's Restaurant
30 Mill Road, Latham, NY 12110-1180
+1 518-785-9291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 118 Restaurants in Latham
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Pub, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated on a beautiful executive, public golf course, just a few hundred yards off the main road. Open seven days a week all year round. Serving lunch, dinner and cocktails all in our newly renovated facility. A private banquet room for up to 60 people
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“What A Pleasant Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I used to pass the place on Route 7 for years and didn't think much of the facade. I saw it close and just thought it had closed. Then our friends told us they just moved to the golf course location and they suggested we give it a try as they had been here before (just after they moved).

We (two couples) had dinner on a Saturday night and it was a busy night. The service was average as we had to wait a while several times. We each had the steaks and they were very good and done correctly to our specifications. Prices were reasonable and the atmosphere very nice. We were pleasantly surprised after assuming both the quality of the old place based on the Route 7 facade and finding out that they weren't closed, just moved to the golf course.

We will definitely be back for sure based on this most pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ultimate Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

That is the name of the burger "The Ultimate Burger" and it doesn't lie. This is hands down the BEST burger I've ever had. I've eaten plenty of burgers in my day, but this beats them all. From the delicious bun, through all the plentiful toppings to a perfectly cooked burger, you'll barely be able to eat it all. Sometimes a knife and fork are required!!!

Very friendly wait staff and great atmosphere. Great for a family meal, special occasion, or just a quick bite at the bar. And the prices seem almost unfair they are so low.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family and I ate here on February 15th. It was a cold night and the fire was roaring and cozy. I had Chicken Marsala soup which was delicious! Unfortunately all we had were burgers so that's all we can comment on. (Again, it was cold so kind of a burger night.) The burgers were large, juicy and tasty. Our server, Katie, was very pleasant and efficient. You could tell this place was a local favorite as it was crowded. My only regret is that I can't come here all the time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“GREAT NEW YEARS EVE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We took a chance and called ahead and so glad we did, they had room since we could come early. We had not been back in a while and the ribs are always our favorite. That evening they had one of my favorites Lobster Bisque it was so good just like the shore ! Then of course we had to have some wings....my Husband ordered the special which was a 20 oz Prime Rib, cooked to perfection. I got the ribs. We brought home enough food for the next day and lunch! We also had the boozie bunt cake with ice cream , what a great way to start the New Year ! There food is always good ,server was amazing. She made sure to always check to make sure we had something to drink or if we needed anything.....like we could have fit anything else on that table. We left with a shopping bag, We laughed all the way home! We didn't laugh the next day when we had plenty to eat without shopping or cooking, just heated it up ! Their portions are generous size also. New location is not much farther and much larger.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great local find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wife and kids were passing through Albany and found them on Trip Advisor. Good family dining. Most notable entrees were the ribs and the crab cakes. Both were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otis & Oliver's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Otis & Oliver's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otis & Oliver's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.