We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Restaurant

Milano Restaurant
594 New Loudon Rd, Ste 4, Latham, NY 12110-4025
518-783-3334
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Milano Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 119 Restaurants in Latham
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 155
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

reservations for 10 people, seated promptly... and from there it went downhill.... the restaurant was full, assuming most had reservations... there were only 2 waitstaff and no bartender on duty. Drink orders took at least 20 minutes to arrive... dinner was prix fix at about $45.00 per person, 3 courses... no problem with that... but meals were not served at the same time, ordering a glass of wine took so long that the entree was finished before the wine arrived. We were told that this was the first time they served Thanksgiving dinner, so things were a bit hectic.... so hectic that the Matre'd was serving and busing tables. When dessert came, we were told that only 2 were left, pumpkin pie and pecan pie... 2 people opted for the "pies" which were nothing but tiny little tarts. I feel that since it was prix fixe for 3 courses and they really did not have a dessert course, we should have received some sort of compensation.... the constant apologies did not compensate us. Overall a very bad experience

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Milano Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Milano never disappoints! It serves wonderful dishes prepared how you like it. The service is fantastic--the staff makes you feel at home and very important. Nate (the manager) does a superb job of organizing this jewel in Latham, NY.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Presentation is nice but the food is bland and unimaginative. Service left a lot to be desired and definitely veered towards ignoring newbies in favor of locals/friends.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Milano fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Have been going here for lunch and dinner for the past few years and have yet to go home unhappy with my meal or service. Milano knows their Italian food! I would say the best place in the Albany area to get such. While its a small bit of the meal, the bread dipping oil is the best I've had at any Italian resturant anywhere! I would highly suggest this established resturant to anyone. While the prices may be a bit on the higher end, you pay for the quality you get.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always good food at Milano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I'm really surprised at some of the recent reviews. My husband and I go to Milano at least every few months, and we've never had a bad meal. We've never had poor service either. I LOVE the spicy calamari and the pizzas. My husband usually gets some type of fish, and it's always good. The desserts have always been good as well. We will keep going.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milano Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Milano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.