We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoshi Sushi

Yoshi Sushi
640 New Loudon Rd Ste 5, Latham, NY 12110
(518) 783-6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 117 Restaurants in Latham
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Albany, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I try to do lunch at Yoshi's about once a month. Their lunch box special is a great value at approximately $7. It comes with a salad that has the most delicious homemade ginger dressing I've ever had. As others have commented, the Miso soup has plentiful chunks of tofu and is superior to that found at other nearby Japanese restaurants. I've never been disappointed with the quality and diversity of the sushi in the lunchbox. The place is small and cozy, but they have a larger table near the back with cushioned bench seating that could accommodate a group of six or more people. From the exterior, you would have no idea that this the best sushi place in the capital region, but in my opinion, it is the best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Sushi so fresh it's still swimming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a wonderful very small family owned sushi bar with a few tables and take out. Yoshi makes some of the best sushi in the Capital District. It is worth seeking out, and the prices are very fair. Their spicy tuna is awesome, and I asked for it with added avocado which was no problem. I have not had a bad roll combination ever.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yoshi Sushi - cozy, intimate location - best sushi and sashimi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Yoshi prepares the most exquisite salmon sashimi; tongue-meltingly delicious - delicately sliced, buttery smooth, always fresh, perfect temperature...oh, I could go on and on! And the David roll, pure yum; salmon, avocado, with eel on top. Their miso soup isn't tepid water, but a flavorful broth with tiny chunks of tofu and tasty wisps of scallions floating about. Yoshi and Yan are the perfect hosts; if you are a sushi aficionado, do yourself a favor and stop in - your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bomoseen, Vermont
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best sushi in the Capital District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Yoshi's is a small, casual, friendly place, but offers the best sushi in the Capital District area. We use it for takeout all the time, as well for lunch. Some of my favorites on the menu - the Cara Roll which is edemame in a wasabi mayo, Boston roll, and the Inari Tofu (you won't see this listed on the menu - seaweed salad and rice in a tofu pocket - definitely ask for it!). Yoshi is also always willing to make changes or special requests. We would definitely recommend this to others!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yoshi is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Yoshi and Yan have the best sushi and sashimi in town...
Always have fresh fish and Yoshi puts it on your table as quickly as possible. I love the crab roll, and the salmon, tuna, eel and yellowtail are my favorite sushi items... Try the seaweed salad.

You get a house (American) salad and miso soup to start... Good ginger dressing.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshi Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Yoshi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoshi Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.