We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, good restaurant, musty room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel at the Century House

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel at the Century House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel at the Century House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   997 New Loudon Road, (Route 9), Latham, NY 12110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Latham
Gonic, NH
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice people, good restaurant, musty room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this location for one night on the weekend. It was easy to find and seemed near empty. I was greeted pleasantly by Christina. All the staff people encountered were friendly, they made eye contact and acknowledged you whenever your were within 5-10 feet. The check-in was quick, the room was ready and I went to the room. My first impression was a musty, moldy smell. I went out to get ice and came back to a similar smell. My spouse has had sinus surgeries and she would not be able to stay at this location. I went to the business center a little while later. I had become used to the smell in the room, but when I returned 10 minutes later the smell hit me again. The business center itself was stocked and had a printer, all-in-one fax, copier, printer and two working terminals. I was able to get my work done and this was a nice benefit. The pool is outdoor and seasonal.
The internet and desk area were adequate in the room. The bed was firm, but the pillows were a real disappointment. They were all very flat with no substance to them at all.
The bathroom sink did not drain at all and the toilet was very small, to fit the compact bathroom and not hit the door. The shower was hot with good water pressure.
The thing that impressed me about this location was the semi-attached restaurant. I went up for dinner and had an excellent prime rib dinner. I chose the smaller cut, but it appeared to be a large cut portion, it was cooked to request and a recommended Carr Napa Cab for $10.00 was a nice accent.
I would return to the restaurant without a doubt. I would probably not return to the hotel because similar priced hotels were available in the area that I know would not have the linger musty-moldy smell. I did stay here to take advantage of the 2 night get 1 free promo through Choice, that is why I chose this location initially.

Room Tip: This is a two story location with a lower level entry at the rear of the building. I did not see an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Clarion Hotel at the Century House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Please know that I appreciate your feedback along with your attention to detail.
As the hotel manager I would like to personally apologize for the condition of your room, and thank you for noticing the quality and attentiveness of our entire team.
I am currently investigating this incident and preparing to review proper cleaning and room inspection procedures within our next hotel meeting.
I would also like to inform you that we are currently in the process of remodeling all of our in room bathrooms to include new granite vanities, plumbing, and aesthetics.
As a choice privileges member I'm sure that you recognize our brand standards, and know that we will take this constructive criticism to heart and continue to learn and improve.
We truly hope that you will give us another chance to display that our hotel services are just as unique and memorable as those of our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    41
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
36
12
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recently my company held a meeting for 60 people at this hotel. We utilized sleeping rooms in addition to the meeting rooms and banquet facility. The staff was very helpful and accommodating for the times on our meeting. The members raved about the food and accommodations. It was a great experience being there, and the staff in planning the event was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Clarion Hotel at the Century House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I am so happy to know that our meeting rooms, banquet facility, and restaurant services helped influence your positive experience. We are pleased to hear that planning your event went smoothly, and look forward to hosting you and your company again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The room was OK. The food was OK. The staff was very nice I have to say. For a historic hotel, I think I would have expected that it was a bit nicer and better put together.

What I hated was the parking situation. The night I was there, there were multiple events happening at the hotel. The lot is small with alot of islands that you have to drive around. This lot in no way can handle that much parking. Cars were all over the place in the isles, on the road. Luckily I checked in early and no problem, but when I had to go out later, I had to wiggle my car out slowly, run my errands. And guess upon my return? After driving around for 30 minutes, including the lot of the hotel next door and the restaurant, I sat in my car for another 15 min until someone left and I wiggled back in. I realize this was probably unusual for the middle of the week but before I stay there again my first question would always be to ask if there are any events happening when I'm suppose to be there. If there are, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've been coming here annually on business for almost 10 years and we get buffets for lunch and predetermined dinners. The food was way below par. The ham at lunch was certainly not deli ham (cooked ham and then sliced?). The chicken both nights was ok, but served with watery mashed potatoes. What prompted me to write this review was the "Coke" served at lunch in pitchers. It was so diluted that nobody (30 people) touched it. They used to have a waitress for breakfast, and that was cut out.

Room Tip: skip the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Clarion Hotel at the Century House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Our team would like to sincerely thank you and your company for your faith in our services these past ten years. We appreciate your comments and plan to utilize them as a tool to improve future events and guest experiences. Our management team is currently looking into why our cuisine was not properly prepared, and is determined to make sure that all beverages are refreshed throughout events. We have a commitment to providing quality foods and accommodations, whether you are attending a luncheon, or enjoying our freshly served breakfast after a nights stay. We hope that you will give us the chance to regain your confidence, thank you for the opportunity to improve our business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here on a Sunday night and I had a top notch experience. First of all I got a really good rate - probably because it was Sunday night. But the staff was extremely polite and friendly; very accommodating. The room was clean, nicely decorated. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel was extremely quiet and the wifi operated with no problems. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Clarion Hotel at the Century House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found that our hotel was not only affordable, but quiet and comfortable as well. We look forward to your next visit, and assure that we will continue to provide the quality services that you expect and deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRONX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my third time staying in this hotel. Friendly staff, very nice clean rooms. Excellent restaurant right next door. There are also additional very nice places to eat in close proximity.
I have finished shopping around. If I am near Albany, this is where I stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was impressed with the presentation and staff at the Clarion Hotel. I was staying their for a business trip and they made me feel right at home. The breakfast was a good qaulity, got to enjoy Starbucks coffee but the wait staff really made it a great experience. The room was a business suite so it was above my expectations. The bed a more importantly the pillows were very comfortable, got a great night sleep.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel at the Century House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel at the Century House

Address: 997 New Loudon Road, (Route 9), Latham, NY 12110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Latham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel at the Century House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel at the Century House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Latham
Clarion Hotel The Century
Latham Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel at the Century House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.