We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what is it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport to your Saves list
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Rensselaer Avenue, Latham, NY 12110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Latham
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for what is it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is right off of I-87, close to the airport, loads of shopping on a cul de sac which is surprisingly quiet. It is not a Marriott or Hilton, the rooms are small, the desk is a built in shelf, there is a closet, nightstand and a window seat. Towels slightly scratchier than a 4 star place, but; the bed was comfortable, the shower worked fine and if all you need is a place to sleep in the area, the price cannot be beat!

I was in the area for family business and needed to stay over rather than driving down at night. The front desk staff is very pleasant and friendly, 24 hour coffee and tea, a continental breakfast that is not gourmet but good selection and included make your own waffles. It was probably half the cost of a well known brand, had a large fluorescent light over the bed which allowed me to actually work in the room and good linens.

Room Tip: I was facing the back lot which was quiet; given the location, there is no "view" but I us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow, I really appreciate this review from such a well heeled guest. The Microtel brand in noted as one if not the best in the budget economy chain of hotels available and we are thankful for the comparison of our value as this reviewer has done so well with those brands that are normally associated the higher hotel service levels. If it will take only a little more fabric softener for our towels to achieve an even higher level of respect then it is worth looking into.

All the Best,

Chris Steffens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    175
    111
    35
    22
See reviews for
159
107
43
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Modern. Simple. no frills like a pool or hot tub and restaurant . Has wifi. Quiet. Would stay there over and over. Area is full of shopping, eateries and easy on and off to thruway. We stayed 2nights. Street very quiet yet close to everything. Visited Albany for family event. Other family members also stayed in same hotel and were very satisfied.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are so glad that this guest took the time to share their experience at our hotel. Being at a central location for the Tri-cities of the Capitol Region of New York we are honored to be this Family Reunion hotel of choice. We look forward to their return next year or hopefully sooner.

All The Best,

Chris Steffens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife, son, and I needed a room in the Albany area and decided to give Microtel a try because the rate was very reasonable. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and remodeled and the room rate included a decent continental breakfast in the morning. We will definitely consider staying here again when we are traveling in this area in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We thank this guest for their review and look forward to their return.

All the Best,

Chris Steffens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family had a very early flight from ALB and I wanted something cheap for one night. This hotel was perfect. The room was adorable. It was clean. It was cheap. Breakfast was out at 5:30 am. My kids were happy. The staff was nice. Thanks Microtel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are truly thankful that we were able to assist this guest in making an early flight out of Albany International Airport. Being only 3 miles from the Airport , we do get quite a few overnights for early flight stays.

All the Best,

Chris Steffens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Greeted by wonderful clerk! Cheery, informative and professional
Morning clerk - not so much...bothered when asked question about breakfast, greeted him with hello in breakfast room when dropping off newspapers. No response. Disinterested.
Room was clean and neat but we were an end room and so at 4:00am folks were leaving and BOTH doors slammed extremely hard. Almost knocked me out of bed -- and it was many times from 4 on...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We would like to thank this guest for their very informative review. Apparently there is a need to praise an Guest Service Agent for being cheery and professional and a need to inquire why their morning colleague did not. We are sorry that you there was some noted hallway noise in the overnight. We hope that you also brought it to our attention at the front desk before you checked out as well as noted in this review.

All the Best,

Chris Steffens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport

Address: 7 Rensselaer Avenue, Latham, NY 12110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Albany Airport Hotel Latham
Microtel Albany Airport
Microtel Hotel Latham
Microtel Latham
Latham Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.