We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Rensselaer Avenue, Latham, NY 12110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Latham
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Have stayed here every year for the past 5 years for Saratoga racing. It's convenient, right off the highway, 20 minutes to the track and is a good value for what you get. Hey, it's not a 5 Star Marriott, Hilton, or Hyatt, but you're paying 3-4 times more for the same 8 hours you spend in your room. I'll take the extra $200 in my pocket and go out for a good dinner.
Hotel is in good shape, staff is very friendly and accomodating, typical hotel breakfast.
Never have seen any bugs here and I look for this kind of stuff. I am a Marriott and Hilton rewards member so I can make the comparisons. Good place, good people, I will be going back when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Chris is the GM, have any problems talk to him and he will resolve. If you don't tell them they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hello Chris the DOS here, Thank you guest for pointing out the comparisons between a budget economy hotel chain like Microtel and mid and luxury hotel chains. If some of our recent reviewers had your mindset and sensibilities , I would not be challenged to responding to them in a professional and courteous manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    134
    94
    27
    19
See reviews for
126
84
33
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgton, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed one night for business and was very pleased with the experience. Although it was a little hard to find (tucked in on a little side road), the rate was good and it was spotless. This was my first stay at a Microtel. The room is compact but comfortable. i would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hello Chris the DOS here.
Thank you for the recognition and for your business stay. .We look forward in providing clean and affordable accommodations on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

You won't even get what you pay for, don't try to save 10 dollars, you get a 2-1/2 star Hotel
in the same area for less money the place is crawling with bugs

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hello, Chris the DOS here. My Goodness, bugs you say. Noticing that you room was on the second floor by the exit door that is being utilized by our contractors for our renovation, I can see the possibility that you might have had a bug problem in your room but not making us aware of this so we could have handled it immediately would have been an excellent way for us to prove our value and allow to to enjoy your overnight stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY area
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

this was our 5-6 visit there in the last 5 years; and seriuosly, the halls and common areas are really getting dirty and smelly...even with our airconditioner working in the room, there was no let up all night, to the sweaty, musty smell...the internet didn't work well; and the breakfast is next to nothing now, down in the lobby....at least the toiletries were decent in size and quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Chris the DOS here, First, not only want to thank the guest for their review but more importantly their ongoing business with us. Now I have noticed some concerns and it may be cause by the construction that is occurring right off of the Front lobby. I hope that this guest can get in touch with us to find out if the their room number and more importantly check their air conditioning unit as it may be effect but the dust.
Well , hopefully the end will justify the means as we will be able to add some new breakfast items in the new breakfast area after the construction is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is looking a little tired and dated compared to other Microtels but perhaps the renovations will improve things. The receptionist was friendly on check in and made recommendations of local places to visit. Our room was very small and had basic facilities but good value for money and clean. We appreciated the free wifi and complimentary continental breakfast available in reception. One slight complaint was the noisy fridge in our room that kept waking us up. The free parking was a bonus and there were plenty of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: There didn't seem to be a lift so ask for a ground floor room if this will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hello, Chris the DOS Here, Being one of the first Microtel in NY, We do have a history to the property but you are correct, renovations are not only in order but in progress. We hope that you will return in about 2 months time to enjoy the new Lobby area, the new 24 seat Breakfast room, Fitness room and Guest laundry. Thank you for the review about the value for your stay, We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is great and right off the highway. There are plenty of food and shopping options.

We were greated by a friendly clek Brenda. She knew the area and was able to meet all our small special needs. We were a family traveling to the area for a funeral and she was so kind and helpful. She was truly the best part of our stay.

The rooms are small, all you need to do is sleep and relax. They could be updated a bit. The breakfast was OK if you eat lite. Note there is only space for 4 people to eat. Our party of 4 stood around the lobby eating as there were already 4 guests eating. It would not cost much to add a few more seats and tables. Maybe they do not want you to relax and enjoy and maybe eat a bit more that just get you throught to go out to Dunkin Donuts as we did for a filling & comfi b,fast. We did have some cleaning issues and the clerk in the morning assured us they would be taken care of. When we returned after a very stressful day we found the issues had not been addressed. Thank God for Brenda. She promptly called her supervisor, Mark if I remember correctly. She called me back within 20 mins. and gave me a satisfactory resolution. We met her supervisor in the morning and he was very gracious and accomidating.

I would reccomend this hotel for a short stay and I think you will be satisfied. I hope you meet Brenda. She is so helpful. I think this young lady will be an asset to anything she decides to do in her life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hello Chris the DOS here but you can call me Mark. As aside from the name confusion and I will pass on to Brittany your kind remarks in assisting you. As mentioned in our last reply , the new breakfast area should allow many to enjoy their breakfast seated comfortably. We truly look forward to it and hope that you can return to the hotel under better circumstances to enjoy the new room as well - sorry for your loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We've stayed here many times before as it is convenient to the Albany airport and close to several nice restaurants. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk person and given keys to our very very small single queen room. Boy - was this ever a small room - just room for the bed , no chair and the standard Microtel "bench" . The bedding was old and worn, the sheets very wrinkled and the room itself showed a lack of serious maintenance. (holes in the wall where the old tv was hung, ripped wall paper, and a super dirty and ripped desk chair that looked filthy). The breakfast area ........ 2 small tables for two set in an area that only allows 4-5 people to get their coffee and cold cereals at once.. We now are looking for another place to stay when in the area as this one isn't for us any longer.

Room Tip: don't accept the rooms facing the highway - traffic noise is very loud from the road and the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mic28255, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hello , Chris the Dos here, First and most important is that I want to thank this guest for providing us this feedback and in this case like a recent review,housekeeping and Room maintenance are brought to our attention. To focus on the room that you stayed in is sort of a mystery as every room has the familiar bench sit. Recently, we notice that the bed linen needed to be retire and purchased all new linens for the whole property. Now , we have to admit , in the excitement of upgrade all the rooms to Flat screen TVs we have not completed the process of covering the hole left by the removed mirror that made way for the TVs. Lastly, If you did not notice, we are in a period of renovation in which two of the closest rooms to the front lobby are being converted to a larger breakfast area that will seat 24 guests. We are so looking forward in providing this expanded service for our guests . Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport

Address: 7 Rensselaer Avenue, Latham, NY 12110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Albany Airport Hotel Latham
Microtel Albany Airport
Microtel Hotel Latham
Microtel Latham
Latham Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.