We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was looking forward to this new addition to our town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durian

Durian
Chatsworth Ave, Larchmont, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 53 Restaurants in Larchmont
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Larchmont, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I was looking forward to this new addition to our town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013


I had been meaning to eat for awhile and finally did so last Week. I was quite disappointed. The service people were disinterested at best and the food was mediocre. People seem to like eating outdoors , so the tiny dining room was rather empty. The lettuce wraps were full of dry cardboardy chicken.
The whole fish was okay but nothing special. The waitresses all seemed more interested in talking with each other, rather than serving the diners or checking to see if they needed anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai food with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Dorian is a small cozy restaurant near the Larchmont train station. The food is excellent. I love the appetizers ( summer spring rolls, chicken satay, salads). The food is just as good. I've had many of the dishes and they were all good. The service is excellent with the most wonderful hostess. I have gone there with my family and have always had a good meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good , tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I love Thai food, and I am really glad to know that Durian is at just 10 minutes from our home, I have not eaten there (it is a small place); but I have done take out and food is delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First time try - winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my daughter after we got our hair done on the recommendation of our stylist. The food was very well presented . The waitress was very nice and knowledgable . We had salads with a peanut dressing which I did not care for. I then had chicken fried rice Andy daughter had a chicken and noodle dish both were excellent! Other than the restaurant being tiny no complaints we will be back .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Durian has been open for about a year, but was new to me. My first visit was four days ago. The menu is extensive and includes dishes I've not seen at other Thai places, including five different duck dishes, fried pork belly and Thai sausage salad. There were four of us on that first visit, and of the eight dishes we ordered, all were superb except for one, a seafood stew that is normally quite spicy. My wife asked the waitress to tone it down a bit, but through a missed communication it had no seasoning whatever. The other seven dishes, including pork shank, pork belly, duck and grilled oysters were superb.

My wife and I returned for lunch the other day and were just as impressed. This time she had the chicken pad thai, which was as good as any we've had anywhere. I had the Thai sausage salad, which was superb.

The downside to Durian is that it's a very small place and about half of the seats are outside, fine in the summer but not so good in the winter. They don't take reservations. If you're local, it's a good idea to call and see how busy they are before going. Also, if you have special requests or dietary requirements, I suggest you speak directly with the owner/manager rather than with the waitresses, some of whom seem to have a limited command of English. I'm giving the restaurant an overall five stars because the food is so good it makes up for the shortcomings in the service and ambience (the restaurant is next to the Metro-North tracks, with I-95 just beyond). We'll be coming back on a regular basis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durian also viewed

Larchmont, NY
Larchmont, NY
 

Been to Durian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.