We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep above a pub. An honest review; not sure what others saw in the place.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rogues' Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rogues' Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Rogues' Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2079 East Shore Drive, PO Box 97, Lansing, NY 14882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lansing B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place to sleep above a pub. An honest review; not sure what others saw in the place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

If quiet and beauty are your objectives, this is not the place for you. Rogues' Harbor is located on the corner of two high traffic truck routes in Lansing, near Ithaca, NY. Traffic noise does not cease until very early in the morning, and then it starts up again a few hours later, and there are no rooms which avoid the noise. The second floor is right above a restaurant and a noisy bar; you can hear the music right through the floor. The third floor avoids the noise of the pub but also contains a ballroom where you might be surprised by a party one night and the strange overnight inkeeper's personal drama the next. As for the setting...do not expect any after-breakfast strolls. All that surrounds the building are a car shop and a boarded up skating rink. That said, the rooms are nicely appointed, the bathrooms are clean, and the staff if not the proprietor are incredibly friendly, but that's where the positives end. I'm posting my review because I'd want other people to avoid the disappointment I felt.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    9
    6
    12
See reviews for
14
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I spent a night at the Rouges' Harbor Inn this past week and I must say I was VERY diassapointed. We arrived and you walk in past the kitchen that reeks of a deep fied food. After checking into Room 2 at the fron desk, we made our way up the stairs to a room that was a decent size and looked ok. I attempted to follow the instructions to turn up the heat to no avail. The room is above a bar/restaurant and is extrmemely noisy. We were forced to sleep with the Television on to drown out the patrons below. Upon exiting your room you immediately smell the fried food again. The people that were occupying the room next to us seemed like they were in our room at times as well. We also found afew dead flys in the room. Upon check out we decided that we couldn't trust the breakfast there and instead made our way into Itaca to a bagel shop. The close to two hundred dollars that were spent for the room was definitely not worth it. Look else where for a B& B on/ near the lake.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

VA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Our Room, Number 4, was subjected to horribly load road noise all night. It sounded like a Plane was landing every few minutes. The Bed was very hard and the Pillows were also hard. We voiced our concerns and we were moved to another room the second night. The noise was less and the bed was softer. I am very upset about wasting money on the first night, though. I would have rather stayed in a Red Roof or Comfort Inn and got a good night sleep. Also, to agree with another reviewer, you will hear Bar Noise until at least 11:00, so be warned. While we do appreciate being moved and the second night stay being better, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mashpee, mass
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

I really love staying in unique places, especially historic. i've stayed at the rogues' harbor inn several times over the past few years- usually in room 6 or 2. i love the charm of the old woodwork and pressed tin ceilings. the rooms are lovely without being overdone. the staff is friendly and helpful without being fussy. on my last stay the owner had finished renovating the ballroom which is where they now serve breakfast. local coffee, free range scrambled eggs and cinnamon rolls in a 19th century ballroom- wow.

  • Liked — carefully renovated historic inn
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

The room was cute and cozy, the staff were very nice and helpful, and the burgers--seriously amazing. I hadn't planned on that aspect, but if you stay here, order a burger for dinner with a nice bottle of red!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We found the Inn to be rundown and the room was not kept up to par. While it was 'clean', we would not call it 'immaculate'. The slanty floors and crooked windows are quaint, but the windows let in a terrible draft that literally blew the plastic sheeting away -- placed there, I'm sure, to keep out the cold. They do provide a nice space heater and we kept it on high the whole night and it did make the room comfortable.

We appreciate the efforts toward conservation, as noted in print throughtout the Inn.

The bed was harder and more uncomfortable than we prefer. A nice pillow top mattress would have helped. Unfortunately the room, located at the back overlooking the parking lot, was very noisy. We could hear loud voices from the parking lot (presumably people leaving the bar) and the heavy footsteps of people running up and down the wooden stairs and doors slamming. In all, it was not a very restful night.

The dining area is very quaint, the gas fireplace was nice and warm, and our waitstaff were very friendly. The selection of entrees as nice; my prime rib, however, was grilled (?) and so tough I couldn't cut it with a steak knife.

We had thought we would spend two nights but after considering we didn't have any specific plans and didn't want to be tied down to one Inn, so we checked out after one night. The morning staff appeared to not care less.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

The staff is certainly friendly but that is where my praise for the property ends. I do not have outlandish standards. If I have a clean room I can be happy almost anywhere. Our room was not clean. It clearly had not been vacuumed. There was visible dirt on the floor, dead houseflies, and dust on everything from the lamp bases to the furniture. There was also hair in the bed. The bathroom too was not filthy, but not clean either. I like the location, and the staff but unfortunately, we will not return.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rogues' Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rogues' Harbor Inn

Address: 2079 East Shore Drive, PO Box 97, Lansing, NY 14882
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rogues' Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Cornell and downtown Ithaca along the Cayuga Lake Wine Trail our historic inn and restaurant has been welcoming guests since 1830. Recently renovated rooms combine a graceful blend of period antiques and modern conveniences. Charming restaurant & pub on site featuring original dishes with quality local ingredients and complimented by Finger Lakes wines and local craft brewed draughts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rogues' Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rogues` Harbor Hotel Lansing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rogues' Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.