We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
340 E Fairmount Ave, Lakewood, NY 14750-2134
716-763-3500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in Lakewood
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Warren, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nice little oasis in the middle of all the busyness in the area. The service and food are always good, nice place to rest from shopping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Using Up Gift Cards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Again my wife and I were out for dinner and I had a $50 gift card to use.
Her dinner was way over cooked and she sent it back, mine was OK . It seems like everytime we go there we have some sort of issue, either
with the food or the service. I still have another $25 gift card, I may give
it to my kids.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“There are SOO many other places in the same vicinity...go elsewhere!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is the first bad review I've ever written. I don't write this as a knee jerk reaction to this restaurant. My last THREE visits were horrible. Mainly bad service. The food also has taken a downturn. They used to grill their steaks...now they come in with "pre"grill marks and substandard taste. I went last time JUST as an excuse to have them come over to our table and sing Happy Birthday to my 10 year old...me and my 14 year old were giving each other "knowing looks" because we had planned it out. I told the waitress as she was seating me what our plan was. Long story short...after ONE AND A HALF HOURS and watching my waitress smooooze the older couple next to me for a big tip...extended talking 15-20 minutes with them (I actually think they would have rather enjoyed their meal ALONE!)....I reminded her twice....and when she brought my bill I asked "Are you sending anyone to my table?!?!?!?!?) Waited ten more minutes..no singing,....no waitress...so I left....forever. I am a BIG tipper so she really called that one wrong! They also have changed their appetizer special menu and it's very limited now. I rather go ANYWHERE else in Lakewood. They'll never so me again....ps. My french onion soup came lukewarm with a piece of prov floating and unmelted. Ugh.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What do expect from a chain?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Things have certainly changed since our last visit in August. We normally order the two for $20 entrees. The platters for our entrees were visibly smaller and shallower, but the prices remained the same. At least the background music was not as overpowering as on our last visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average Applebee's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This location is pretty consistently good. They just did a little remodeling, using wallpaper with local sights and sports teams' photos. The service is usually fine, the food is good. It's in a good location in front of Walmart, so is generally busy. We generally get the "2 for $20" , if available. The larger steak in the 2 for $20 menu is a better choice, if you don't mind paying a couple bucks extra. Everything else is typical Applebee's, which is a good thing. My husband has had a couple of tough steaks, but I can't say that I've ever had a bad meal there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

Lakewood, Chautauqua County
Lakewood, Chautauqua County
 
Lakewood, Chautauqua County
Lakewood, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.