We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafting supreme!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nalubale Rafting

Nalubale Rafting
38 Kira Road, Jinja, Uganda
+256 782 638938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Jinja
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White water rafting on the White Nile. We're a small company with friendly service and a great team, we'll give you the confidence to tackle the big rapids. We run everything from family float trips on grade 2 rapids through to full day adventures on grade 5 rapids.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rafting supreme!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The rafting was excellent, absolutely loved it! A very exciting activity indeed. Our raft captain Matt was well able to manage the raft. Just remember to hold your breath before you go under!
Seriously tempted to go back to Uganda just to give the bodyboarding a shot!
We were allowed to swim down the river in-between rapids which was wonderful, paddling away, checking out the scenery! Lunch was nice and the beers after were well appreciated.
We stayed at their river camp, its a beautiful spot on the river with a comfortable lounge by the bar and decent grub. Just remember to bring your own towel, although air drying worked fine!

p.s. For pasty white complexion, good quality factor 50 did the trick for the day on the water.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A fun couple of days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent one day river rafting and one day river boarding with Nalubale Rafting. From the first email to our final drop off the overall experience was very good. Although at times a I was a little worried as they seemed so laid back about our arrival, pickup and booking but everything was on schedule. There were 8 rapids - 4 in the morning and 4 in the afternoon ranging from class 3 to class 5. The actual rapids can change from day to day depending on the water level as a result of the dam. We found the rapids good and the guides and safety staff excellent. There were 8 safety kayakers the first day and 4 the second day - not sure why the difference as both days there were 2 rafts going down (except the second day was the day after Christmas). They also had a safety raft both days. We only ended up water boarding 5 of the rapids due to the low water levels the second day - but 5 was plenty. Water boarding is a little harder on the body than rafting but we are glad we tried it. We also stayed two nights at their camp in the upgraded tent with shared bathrooms which was fine. We would recommend this to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must-do for any tourist in Uganda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A friend and I went rafting with Nalubale in December. It was a great experience! Our guide, Matt, put us totally at ease with practice drills in flat water before hitting the rapids (we were both quite nervous beforehand!). I fell out of the raft, which only added to the fun of the experience. Nalubale was professional and made sure we had a lot of fun throughout the day! Great experience that I would do again in a second.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent trip, excellent guide, excellant day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nulabale shuttled me to Jinja from Kampala. Provided breakfast and a place to stay in Bujagali after the trip. Our guide, Jane, has a ton of experience and explained each rapid before we ran it. Running the Nile is incredible. So powerful. Also note, it is very evident once you are here that the owner of Adrift is trying to scam more money out of rafters by charging big money for the portage. Don't support Adrift.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best rafting in Jinja”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had an awesome rafting experience! Our guide Matt was amazing - he took the best care of us. With all the safety precautions Nalubale did, it was also a very safe adventure. Great crew, very helpful. We got hooked on rafting now!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nalubale Rafting also viewed

 
Jinja, Eastern Region
 

Been to Nalubale Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nalubale Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.