We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paradise on the Nile

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paradise on the Nile
Save
You added Hotel Paradise on the Nile to your Saves list
Sunset Hotel Annex | Plot 25 Kiira Lane, Jinja, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Jinja B&B and Inns
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed for one night in August. I love the location, walking distance to the Source of the Nile. The room was small and very basic but clean. Can't complain as the price was right. I thought the breakfast was great, good variety. This hotel was recommended by a friend and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
6
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Paradise on the Nile, located as it is, a stone’s throw from both the river itself and the nearby Sunset hotel, is in a great location. Safe and secure in a nice part of Jinja, it’s easy to get in and out of town here and the rooms are reasonable, from 40 to 60$ and they accept local currency and all major credit cards (One of our major reasons for staying here, other local hotels take note) For the most part the reception staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and functional, had hot water, TV with an assortment of bizarre Spanish Soap Operas on offer. Air con is a fan in the standard rooms, but if you pay the higher rate you will get a unit and a larger room, the fan sufficed just fine for us.

The bed was a little on the lumpy side, but we found here we didn’t need to use the mosquito net as much as on some nights there weren’t so many (Rare indeed) and you also get two bottles of water on arrival for your room. So far so good. They layout of the place is unusual consisting of three building, two of which are accommodation and one of these is very circular in design, though the rooms in this building seem to be popular, they corridors and shape reminded me of a hospital back in the UK, so we opted for the rooms next to the reception in the building on the left hand side. The third building is the pool, gym and has a restaurant. We should clarify that there is also a restaurant below one of the main accommodation blocks, we shall call this the upper restaurant, and the pool side one, the lower restaurant – they both however use the same kitchen.

Our problems began when we used the lower restaurant for dinner. They got our order wrong, things were missing, it took an hour to arrive, and was lukewarm. Additionally we asked something about the food we ordered, and asked our waitress to ask the kitchen about it. She said it was no problem only for her to be told by the kitchen they didn’t have it an hour later? Most regrettable for the kitchen and it made our waitress look extremely stupid even though it wasn’t her fault. We complained both before and after we ate the food (We had to eat it, what we’re going to do, wait another hour??) and little in the way of compensation was offered. We were not best pleased. We would avoid eating here when it’s busy and definitely on a Sunday when families tend to congregate to use the pool which they can pay to do even if they are not guests. People who arrived after us, got their food before us, so that didn’t go down well either. The problem is the main restaurant is in a different building from where the pool bar restaurant is. However in the interest of clarity we should add a new restaurant is being built right next to the pool and it should be complete within a year, maybe this will solve the problem. We ate their again the next day and got better service, but their pizza was very average and we’ve had far better in Jinja elsewhere. Local Talapia and chicken dishes however were tasty and good value. So on a slower day we had a better experience. On the plus side their breakfast, though variable, was on the whole pretty decent, with a fresh omelette made every morning at the small buffet if you want it. Other plus points are the room service, which can bring food to your door and can be a more efficient way of getting your meal. Wifi in the rooms is pretty fast for the most part.
The hotel can be odd in other ways too. Cleaning staff sometimes come to your room while you’re at breakfast, remove your previous days towels, but don’t bring the new ones for another couple of hours (As happened to us twice) thus you can be left without a towel at a rather inconvenient moment. I’m not sure if the logical approach of dropping off the clean towels before removing the old ones had escaped them or not, I did point this out to reception.
All gripes aside, this isn’t a bad hotel by any means. Yes it’s Uganda, but this hotel is very modern by Ugandan standards and is having money spent on it, so the poor service we had with our food was promised not to be repeated. The pool is okay but overlooked by the bar and the soon to be built restaurant so you do feel like you’re the fish in the bowl, and on Sunday, if you’re the only Mazungu, even more so. But you do also get great sunset views here from the veranda over the old Jinja railway Bridge.
Staff here though do, do their best and we would stay here again but if they can improve on anything, it’s the communication between the kitchen and the waiters, there are plenty of staff in both, so dealing with problems should not be as hard as it has been. While I do not wish to appear too critical of this otherwise decent hotel, it has to remember that with Ugandan Tourism on the increase, competition is only going to become stronger and everyone, including the Paradise, will need to pull their socks up a little bit but it’s a decent comfortable place to stay.

I should also add our experience was earlier in 2013, but it Tripadvisor wouldn't publish my review at the time because it wasn't coming from my normal terminal (Well of course not, thats what going on a trip is all about!) Hopefully this won't happen again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the right hand side building as opposed to the left, in our view are nicer and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Paradise for two nights in August 2013. We had to move rooms after the first night because a generator kept us awake. The staff accomplished this move with a minimum of fuss. Both rooms we had were fine, comfy beds and plenty of room. But the showers were in need of an update. Breakfast was good but the evening meals were not up to what you would find in the rest of Jinja and were very conservative. The pool was great and the staff were polite, but not as friendly as the publicity had led us to believe, nor as good as other Ugandan hotels we have stayed at. Nothing really wrong, but notlving up to its own billing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view over The Nile, if this is what you want be specific about it when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is an Oasis at Jinja.
Although I have not tested many other hotels in the area my experience from many hotels in Uganda, I must say that Hotel Paradise stands out in a positive way. I work with Alpha & Omega Tours and Travel a local tours operator and we have always sent and referred teams from overseas to this hotel....they have all loved and very much recommended the place. I have spent a few nights here as well.

Spending time at all common areas (reception, cafes, and restaurant) is very relaxing and enjoying. The outer areas and the Nile River side of the hotel are also loveable and the rooms are well spaced, comfortable and clean.
Room service fast and pleasant, breakfast served in a pleasant environment with all a person needs in the morning.
Most of all though, I love the attitude of the staff in every department of the hotel. A warm greeting, wonderful smile, great conversation and service to match.

In general I was very satisfied, staying there three days in a business trip.
Naturally this hotel is very expensive for what they offer as all similar hotels in Africa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was a nice enough hotel. The rooms were fine but shower pressure definitely needs some work! The staff were not as friendly as we had expected from the sign regarding the legendary hospitality of the place - should it read 'infamous hospitality'? Probably not, it was one person and we might have caught them on a very bad day. There is a really nice bar area overlooking the Nile and they have a swimming pool. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Whilst not perhaps a 'paradise' on the Nile, this hotel is a perfectly satisfactory place to stay for a few nights. It is located in a quiet residential suburb of Jinja, not too far from the centre or indeed the source of the Nile. It suffers from being on several adjacent sites, a main building, an annex and a riverside garden with pool, but I guess that is only really a problem if it rains very hard. The rooms we had were satisfactory, though beginning to show their age, but they have a decent bed, a working bathroom and even a TV, so what more do you want? My only real gripes were that the staff were initially reluctant to add an extra mattress for a third child and also that the check-out process when paying by credit card was long and complicated (why did they need to take a photocopy of my passport?). But on the plus side, they were kind enough to call me after we had checked out to inform us that we had left a T-shirt behind in one of the rooms. It's not every hotel that would do that.

Room Tip: Choose the main building if you don't want to have to walk across the road for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed a few nights here and thought it was a pretty good choice. The location is great for getting in and out of town without any hassles. The staff are all very friendly and keen to assist you with anything you might need. Although the rooms are not fantastic by western standards, for East Africa they're on a par with other similar places. They're clean, serviced daily, there's DSTV available as well as free wi-fi, and a lovely view over the Nile, plus hot water always available which is what you want after a long hot day. The swimming pool is a huge plus for the hotel and it's nice to sit at the poolside bar in the evening for a drink or some food. Breakfast is buffet and very good, although we discovered that going earlier is better, especially if you know there are any large groups staying in the hotel at the same time. Overall a good stay and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paradise on the Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradise on the Nile

Address: Sunset Hotel Annex | Plot 25 Kiira Lane, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Jinja
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paradise on the Nile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.