We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and very affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher Safaris Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingfisher Safaris Resort
Save
You added Kingfisher Safaris Resort to your Saves list
P.O.Box 608, Jinja, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Jinja
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and very affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My first impressions was that it was a little off the beaten track... both in terms of how far it was away from Jinja, but also that it was so close to the beaten up, run down railway track (miraculously, still working), but wnen I walked around the corner of the car park and saw a sign indicating no ties were allowed, I chuckled and instantly began to relax. A nice touch and my kind of humour.

The next sight was the swimming pool... and it looked lovely. Our 18 month old daughter adores swimming and so this was perfect for us. I was VERY impressed with the gardens (inc playground equipment) and the views. Someone has done a very good job there.

A few notes though; the pool wasn't the best maintained (a few tiles missing and a thin layer of algae on some of the sides) and the lock in the adjascent room had to be replaced because it didn't lock. We waited an hour for the 'porter' to take our bags (they offered, not us) and then gave up and took them ourselves. The cats around the tables always annoys me too. I was also accosted by some local kids in the gardens asking me for money. Our room had a (very) broken mosquitto net on the window (but that was okay, considering we slept under thick mosquitto nets).

However, I viewed these problems as 'reasonable', considering the price of the rooms. This was, simply put, spectacular value for money.

Oh... and we took the baot trip to Semuka Island. That, for me, was a big waste of time. I'd have much ratehr stayed at the resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
7
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Things we liked:
Affordable
Nice pool (the first two days)
Beautiful gardens
Good food (breakfast is mediocre) - favorites: steak donor, muchumu pork chop kabob, coconut curry
Adjoining rooms for the kids
Managerial staff are very kind, courteous and attentive

Things we did not like:
Cats around our table and ON our table (stole food right off the plate)
Pool got really dirty
3-4 weddings on Saturday and men from the event standing around the pool leering at women
Outside guests crowding the pool on the weekend
Multiple times the food was cold when served - it happened many times over four days. This really needs to be addressed by kitchen management, because the food is good but won't be enjoyed when served cold.
Our bathroom smelled strongly of urine.

Bottom line: We like the family environment that Kingfisher provides. The pool is kind of hit and miss -- most of the time it is clean but at times it is dirty and unappealing.

In town: 2 Friends Pizza for good pizza and fun miniature golf. Black Lantern for a nice dinner for 2

Advice: Order food an hour before you want it. Once you catch on, it isn't a problem.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for a night with friends. You get what you pay for. The property is really nice, rooms are okay.... It'll do. The pool didn't look very clean the day we were there, but that may be because it had just rained. Breakfast is not spectacular, neither is dinner. I recommend going somewhere else to eat. It's quiet, by the lake which is quite night. Overall, it's fine if you're just planning on sleeping there and don't intend to hang around for too long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a really nice, budget resort. Not a five-star resort but for the cost, it is worth it. I have two issues; first, the stray animals. My son has allergies so the three stray cats and two dogs (that we saw) was not cool (considering we asked and were assured they were taken care of). It probably would not have been an issue but they are farrow so they would come up and sit next to our table. Not a reason to not go but a reason to think twice if you hate strays or have bad allergies. Secondly, I have to say breakfast was not the greatest. It tasted ok but the exposed food was swarming with flies, easy fix though, simply cover the food so if they fix that I would say the buffet fit well with the budget stay. So over all, it is worth the stay, if they fix those flaws I think it would a five-star budget resort.

Room Tip: The single rooms are small but will comfortably fit one adult and one child or two adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spend our christmas here and am proud to say that it was the best christmas decision we made. The service however, is slow but their food is great. I would definately go back to this place for many more Christmas holidays to come. the cost is also very affordable and it is a family friendly place, especially for small children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went to Kingfisher for a weekend out of town with the kids. A couple of days before we left, friends of ours lowered our expectations, saying that the bandas are not exactly great and food is not worth talking about.

That turned out to be true, but at a rate of less than a hundred USD for the entire family of four, we got great value for money.

The pool is awesome for smaller kids and once you've realized that it takes the kitchen 1.5 hours to prepare food, you simply adjust your planning accordingly.

The place features a huge garden with some sort of playground (which very much requires supervision) and offers boat rides straight from the resorts own shore.

We loved the place and we'll definitely be back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we were also in kingfisher lodge in queen elizabeth national park (from the same owner). same concept, kids loved the pool, beautiful location, varied menu. basic accomodation. i'm rating it less because it had many dirty cats and dogs wandering around the garden and hotel. some people don't mind... but i don't like that. also many people coming to play in the pool that are not staying in the lodge. very busy and few beachchairs available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingfisher Safaris Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Safaris Resort

Address: P.O.Box 608, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Jinja
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an exclusive family hotel with a German management, located 82 km from Kampala and 9 km from Jinja. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Safaris Hotel Jinja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher Safaris Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.