We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Nour

Hotel Residence Nour
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bizerte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Residence Nour
Sidi Salem Rte de la Corniche, Bizerte 7000 , Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Bizerte
Wigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“French only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed one night here on a recent trip to Tunisia. The rooms were very spacious and more of a small apartment. Whilst there was a cooker there were no pans? The room was very plain and the decor very tired. Since the revolution, times have been hard in Tunisia and are only just recovering, unfortunately the Nour was suffering as the resort was very quiet. There was no AC on in the reception, bar or dining room, which made it very uncomfortable. A request for a beer was declined at the outside bar in the afternoon but I am unsure why. It may have been Ramadan or just closed but food was available. As we finished our meal, the table next to us received beer and wine! This review is based on the situation in August 2012 and things may well improve as the country gets back on its feet and the tourist return. The other aspect is that this resort is predominately French, so take that as you find it.

Room Tip: There are rooms close to the poo with french doors opening out directly by the pool. It was only 15m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
4
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Positives
1. Nice location by the beach with a nice pool but watch out for all the wasps
2. A very friendly and helpful receptionist on the afternoon shift
3. Secure car park
4. Free wifi around reception
5. Has a small playground for children
Negative (a lot)
1. Rooms are really dated
2. List of things that don't work including a missing tv which we had to ask four times to get one. Hair dyer, outside light, telephone did not work
3. Breakfast was pretty bad with almost undrinkable coffee but might suit depending on your taste.
4. Foods at restuarant is disappointing, service is appalling. Price is reasonable if the food was betyer. Mains and starters came out the same time
5.air conditioning is only in the front room and doesn't really reach the bedrooms
6. They appear to like the English.

We are not being picky but being truthfully honest with our opinion and want to shef light to those who are thinking of booking at this hotel. But if your just looking for a bed to stay, this isn't terrible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We arrived in Bizerte with no reseration so set about trying to find a hotel for one night. We aimed for what the Lonely Planet referred to as the Tourist Zone but that seemed to be stretching the term somewhat- there wasn’t much there. Between the Tourist Zone and the City Centre, off a side road we found two new hotels, The Nour and another which I believe was called the Andalus. I tried there first and was told by the receptionist that there were no rooms available…however if we stayed more than one night, there could be!? How that works I don’t know so I left and went to the Nour next door.

I liked it as soon as I entered the stylish open plan reception looking out to a nice big pool and the beach and sea beyond. I was shown a room which was a bargain at 116 Diram (about £45). The room had a balcony and looked over the pool and to the sea. It was a good size and was actually an apartment with fridge and cooking facilities. It was modern, light and airy and very clean. There were also a number of swallows nests above the balcony and it was nice to watch the birds swooping in and out of the nests (good for keeping mosquitos down too).

The hotel was quiet and we were able to enjoy the pool with only a few other people present. The beach is through a security gate and across a scrubby dune but was very nice- one of the best we saw in Tunisia with a nice clean sea, and not too crowded.

We ate at the hotel at night and the food was Ok and service was good. Breakfast was included in the price, was buffet style and we probably didn’t see it at its best as we arrived around 9.45 and it ended at 10- therefore it was nothing to get too enthusiastic about.

Bizerte itself is a low key place that doesn’t seem to attract many overseas tourists. It has a very picturesque harbour overlooked by a Kasbah though and was one the most scenic spots we saw during our trip. The harbour is lined by cafes (no alcohol as is the norm in Tunisian towns away from tourist resorts) and is a nice place top spend an afternoon. The Nour is about a 15 minute walk from the harbour.

In summary, this is a really nice hotel -good service, nice rooms and facilities and well situated. A good price too. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and also had my family stay here during visits.

It has a lovely position on the front of the sea and the communal areas are clean and bright.

However the rooms are a little basic inside but then again nearly all hotels in Bizerte are the same if not lower standard.

The hotel is in a great location on the beach and walking distance to the centre of Bizerte.

Please note that swimming pool can be out of action in low periods.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Nour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Nour

Address: Sidi Salem Rte de la Corniche, Bizerte 7000 , Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Bizerte Governorate > Bizerte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Bizerte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Nour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Nour to your Saves list