We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable ‘Smile Wide’ Pemba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manta Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Manta Resort to your Saves list
The Manta Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pemba Island
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unforgettable ‘Smile Wide’ Pemba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Unforgettable ‘Smile Wide’ Manta Resort, Pemba.

From the moment you touch down in Pemba (30 minute flight from Zanzibar), you are collected by your Manta Resort driver and transported on a mini ‘safari’ to the northern tip of the island through many bustling small villages, past Coconut Groves, Banana plantations, Clove plantations and picturesque Tropical surroundings. The locals playing football, cows and chickens everywhere… The final stretch before you reach Manta Resort as the sun begins to set, leads through the Ngezi Vumawimbi Nature Reserve Forest, everything shiny and green.

From the moment you arrive at Manta, you are taken care of. Your bags are taken to your room as you are invited to the terrace to take in the amazing view and enjoy a fresh local cold fruity iced tea. Your 'service fundi' is introduced to you and takes care of you from that moment on. (Enough time to freshen up before returning to the communal eating area where you get to choose your table and the relaxing holiday begins… taking in the environment and sounds (DON'T FORGET MOSQUITO SPRAY!!).

The food is incredible! It was great to taste local flavours from exotic spices to tropical fruits! Each meal is three course and FRESH! Service is always with a genuine smile!

The views are breathtaking, the beach is dotted with sun beds under palm-frond umbrella’s. The bar on the beach is a great place to chill and read your book while enjoying one of the famous cocktails (Also a great place to hide when the clouds burst and the short rains fall in November). The water is warm and perfect for snorkelling through the coral reef. DON’T FORGET FACTOR 50 SUNSCREEN, Sunnies and a cap/hat. - Did I mention the daily massage included!

There is enough to do, with optional extra’s which include the Ngezi Rain Forest Tour, Local Village Tour, Diving with the dive centre, Sunset cruise in an Ngalawa traditional sailing vessel (MUST EXPERIENCE THIS), Pemba Spice Farm and Lighthouse walk to name a few. Snorkelling around the new Underwater Room was fun and kayaking was a good way to see the island coastline with unlimited opportunities for the perfect photo!

I envy the management and locals who get to experience this type of paradise everyday! You can never take enough photos of the perfect ‘African Sunset’. Just after the sun goes down, the laughing Bushbabies and flying foxes appear. Keep your camera handy as you stake-out the sugar bowl that the Bushbabies raid religiously at 7pm (cheeky!).

This is a hidden gem that you will return to annually if you have the ways and means! Truly unforgettable… that Smile Wide Pemba Holiday! Hakuna Matata (“no worries”).

THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT MANTA RESORT, PEMBA ISLAND, TANZANIA

Room Tip: Seafront Villa's with incredible ocean views, sun sets, sun rises and the sound of waves to rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    33
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
142
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is the best place I've been so far in my life. Thank you Micael and Tina for such a perfect hospitality making heaven on earth! I will definitely come back with my girlfriend some day... Thank you thank you! The rooms, the food, the service, the scuba, the hospitality, the signature drinks, all! Perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've lived in Tanzania for a long time and been to many beach resorts, but this was one of my best experiences yet. Manta has a lovely beach, good service, really nice food and excellent snorkeling and diving right near by and a nice dive shop with good dive leaders - especially for we less and moderately experienced divers. Each group is assigned a personal service "fundi" and ours was great. The resort package comes all inclusive with food, drinks (including alcohol) and daily spa treatments for each person! We were three families with kids, and although they don't normally have many young children there - they welcomed us with open arms and made accomodations for food and time of dinner. None of us wanted to leave and I imagine that we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Loved this place! Not too fancy, but perfect. Beach is gorgeous, with super soft sand, ocean a thousand shade of turquoise. Beach chairs and hammocks for all. Lovely little pool. Good service and delicious food (including freshly baked bread at all meals). On-site dive/snorkel shop with knowledgeable and friendly staff, and good equipment. Drinks and daily spa treatment included. Good day-trip options around the island. What else could you want?

We had 3 families with 6 kids aged 5 to 10. The staff were very accomodating on food and meal times. Everyone loved it.

Room Tip: Be sure to request AC for the hot season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

When planning our holiday this year we were split between booking a diving holiday or a relaxing beach holiday. With Manta Resort we got the best of both. The resort makes no claims to be a five star resort and it isn't but this said what it lacks in amenities it more than makes up for with its friendly, relaxed atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel special - there may not be tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but this is always available in the lodge and if you just can't face the day without that kick start you only have to ask and someone will bring it to your room for you.

Travelling as three adults we had adjoining garden rooms , these are the more basic of the rooms on offer but are very comfortable with en-suite facilities, the showers were lovely and warm and much appreciated after a morning diving. The food is well cooked and delicious - the bread is amazing.

The diving is superb, now if you are expecting whale sharks and Mantas at every turn then you may be disappointed, they do get them around Pemba but wildlife is notoriously unreliable, but if you are prepared to just enjoy what is there, and there is so much to find, then you will enjoy the diving as much as we did, and we like to dive a lot. The coral is pristine and covered in myriads of colourful reef fish; leaf fish, scorpion fish and nudibranch are plentiful and even the octopus and mantis shrimp are visibly evident rather than hidden in dark holes. The whole place seems almost untouched and is a joy to explore. David and the team in the dive centre really looked after us and much of the time it was like having our own private dive holiday.

After a morning diving there were the afternoons enjoying the spa, the pool and relaxing in the hammocks on the beach watching the world go by. You can swim in the sea or if this is not for you, or the tide is out then the pool is the place to go. Then the evening meal watching the stars and listening to the Bushbabies laugh. All in all a perfect day every day. The team at Manta make you feel very welcome and do everything to ensure that you get the relaxed, luxury holiday you deserve - five star treatment all the way in a tranquil corner of paradise.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms have a fabulous view and benefit from the sea breezes. We would definitely upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

22 September - 6 October 2013
Wild, remote and romantic . Manta Resort is one place that I will highly recommend if you want 50 shades of turquoise , body massages , white coral beaches and the most beautiful caring and gracious a staff , owners and "fundis " . It has left a yearning in my heart , to go back and we will never forget the experience.
The local sunset boat trip was another highlight and has left an unforgettable feeling of ecstasy and awe . We watched pods of dolphins dancing and the most spectacular view . We stayed in the beach house number 6, a seafront house , and found it very spacious , private and like home ! The owners and management were so warm and caring and invited us into the family of the Manta Resort . I knew what he meant when we left . A tear ran down my cheek as we drove away ... Hope we have an opportunity to go back one day .
Bonnie and Johan
Johannesburg . South Africa

Room Tip: number 6. It is the largest , with sea view and sunset views daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I was at beutiful Manta Resort 1 year ago. A fantastic stay! So friendly and professional people. Special attention from Idi who became our friend and it was very interesting to learn more about Pemba culture and visit his village. Walking on the beach, swimming, snorkling ,relax with book in the shaddow,drinks in the beautiful sunset looking at dolphins jumping in the sea, candle light dinner and end up with stargazing laying on the beach . A fantastic relaxing paradise. Now I know that a underwater room soon will be open at the resort - exiting !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Address: Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and water sports on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Manta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.