We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back paradise with tropical diving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manta Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manta Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Laid back paradise with tropical diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a fabulous week in early September - Manta gets the balance right on all sorts of things - luxurious whilst unpretentious, friendly but allowing privacy...
We had a seafront room which I recommend, the vast baloncy with daybed was great. We also made the most of our daily treatments - massages, facials, manicures - such a treat and with the bonus of hearing the waves lapping whilst being pampered.
The diving is nice and close, hassle-free with lovely coral reefs although a bit pricey once you've added in all of the kit hire etc. Worth doing it though if you've gone all that way.
Special mention and thanks to Haji who looked after us beautifully - even bringing us pre-breakfast cups of tea to our room. We were very spolied!
Do come here if you want to completely unwind and switch off in the most beautiful of places.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the seafront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    28
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
30
110
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bassingbourn, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We returned from the Manta last weekend and all I can say is that we are suffering from holiday blues.... For us Manta ticked all the boxes for a relaxed, intimate and thoroughly enjoyable holiday. It is the only place we have found where you can holiday whilst watching local life progress at its chilled pace whilst at the same time not appearing to be voyeuristic. This was a real privilege and something that made the holiday so special. Our view is that Manta is fully integrated within the community such that it is part of the community. All the staff and locals are really keen to chat with you about their lives and their island of which they are so proud. In addition they are keen to understand about you and your lives. If you go take time out to enjoy discussions with the staff and locals to learn more about them and their lovely island. The resort has its own rustic African charm that embraces you like a warm hug. One thing that stood out for us was that due to the small number of guests and the intimate atmosphere it revived the art of conversation between everyone. This was enhanced one night when the resort got everyone to have dinner together, including the management, using a long table on the sundeck. The food was outstanding and for the 2 weeks I more than ate my 5 a day of fruit and vegetables. Note that the small bananas are awesome. Diving on the resort was chilled and highly enjoyable with the opportunity to see many things which have alluded my check list over many years. So in conclusion Manta is a resort that drives you to relax and enjoy an island pace of life. It was a really privilege to met so many fantastic people and so anyone who does not want a plastic Disney type holiday experience this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

What can we say about Manta? Truly perfect place to honeymoon! Matthew, the owner, has the most incredible vision to maintain a 'local ethic' and bring the real Pemba into the resort which he is achieving brilliantly. The whole place is simply done but beautiful - the bar is even made out of an old wooden canoe! Very cool! We would recommend the sea front villas as the views are amazing. Every single member of staff was incredibly friendly - we were honoured to be looked after Sele, who lived in the nearby village and had felt the urge to set up a school room to teach the local children English in his spare time. A true legend. We intend to send out resources to him regularly as we were truly inspired by him and his work. The food was outstanding and the free drinks as part of the stay were incredible value - fabulous cocktails! We were treated to an amazing seafood platter on the beach twice - lovely touches that made our honeymoon all the more magical. The resort was actually full when we stayed but still felt lovely and quiet - you can really keep yourselves to yourselves. Plenty of opportunity to head out and about or to just chill if you want! If you want clear blue tropical waters, character, amazing food and service, real local culture and quiet honeymoon romance, this is the place - we just wanted something as picture perfect as the Maldives but without the grim commercialisation! (Just be aware that the resort is on the north of the island so is open to the wind and sea - the water isn't always pancake flat!) We were truly gutted to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destelbergen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Manta Resort in August after a 2 weeks Safari trip. After a bumpy ride you arrive at the resort. Greeted by Matthew - the perfect host - you are guided to the terrace where you have your first 'wow'-feeling. The beginning of your stay in paradise. We stayed in the sea-view bungalows and there was the second 'wow'-feeling. And it keeps on going like that. The staff is wonderful, helpful and so much more. The every day massage -if you would have any worries - keeps them away ! The food and drinks ..... Shabani will not have you leaving without hunger or thirst ! The diving team also brings you to the most fantastic underwater sites ! When we had a little problem with our returning flight Stacey was there to help us and everything was solved in a finger click ! I hope we can return one day !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Flying into the airport you are immediately aware Pemba isn't ruined by tourism and I hope it stays that way. On arrival we were met by our driver who explained he didn't speak English but handed us a card that had a map of the island and an explanation to enjoy the bumpy ride! The roads are ok but the further North you go the more they become tracks, having read another review on trip advisor I knew what to expect. This just adds to the charm that you are going somewhere truly special. There are no signs directing you to the hotel and as you drive through the forest and then the village you do wonder where you will end up. Fear not the journey is worth it. You will be greeted on arrival with a warm damp cloth to wipe the sweat off, a world class friendly greeting and a cool drink. We were taken to the veranda for our first glimpse of the sun setting and the amazing view that we spent every day watching the world go by. This place is special, our service fundi - fasil (flame if you get to know him) was there for whatever we needed at every meal. We stayed in a superior garden room and I could not fault it. They solar heat the water so please give it a chance to run through before you think it is broken, it only took one cold shower before it was explained to me! The staff are all out of this world for service and if that is how people from Pemba treat people I wish more of them lived in England, I miss their friendliness for sure. Even the guys who rake the beach every morning where friendly and it is a safe place to be with no hassles at all. You will want to learn Swahili just to return the compliment. There are 2 food options for lunch and dinner with freshly caught fish that day as one of the options, I cannot fault a single meal and as a fussy eater I ate everything, the chef is amazing.
Matt the manager has something amazingly special going on off the shore and I hope all those who read this and go to the hotel get to experience what we did. We were sworn to secrecy before it is finished, but for someone like me who cannot snorkel or scuba dive because I am so short sighted I gained an experience that to my knowledge is the only place in the world I would have got it. Please go here with respect for the proud people of Pemba, don't go to change them go to embrace them, they will show you what relaxing truly is in an amazing setting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Owner at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much for thoughtful words. It was such a pleasure to share Pemba with you both.
Your review really meant a lot to all of us that is the Manta family. Thank you for helping us keep Pemba a real and genuine place .

The Manta Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived in Pemba Island after a 10 day safari trip and we had no idea what to expect as we had booked a honeymoon package from an agency in our country without really paying attention to the "relaxing" part.

We stayed 8 days in total and we absolutely loved the place!

The first day we were greeted by the hotel managers and got introduced to our personal "guide" in the resort (Haji) who would take care of us throughout our stay. After we watched the beautiful sunset we were taken to our room (Superior Garden room). The room was nice but, lets say, not appropriate for honeymoon as it is pretty basic. We asked to be moved to a Seafront villa room and fortunately there was one left. The managers were kind enough to give us a really good price to upgrade into the new room which was absolutely great!

The food was great (gained 3kg during this holiday :p) and was always fresh! Freshly baked bread every day with nice salsas and tasty fish (crabs, king fish etc) that local fishermen catch every morning next to the resort when the tide was low. Desert was a bit poor with the exception of the amazing banoffee pie which was actually one of the best deserts I've ever had!
The cocktails were outstanding with my personal favourite the lemongrass and ginger.
Haji was kind enough to make me a bloody mary after I gave him instructions on how to make it and he also taught me how to make other amazing cocktails. His service was impeccable, always with a smile and ready to serve us. He told us great stories, taught us how to play a local game which we are now addicted to and took us to his village to see how they live! The kids of the village were the happiest kids we've ever seen and we loved the whole experience!

The diving was also really great with David and Makame (sorry if I spelled name wrong) being really passionate and they could pass the excitement to us! Great corals with loads of small fish around and we were lucky enough to see the infamous frog fish!
There was also free massage every day with great selection from head massage to full body experience. The pool was also really nice (we like staying by the pool) and even if it was small it was always pretty empty so we loved staying by it.

After the hot days of suntanning and after a great massage you will love having a cocktail to the bar and watch the most amazing night sky full of stars!

We really loved the manta resort and we will definitely return one day especially to try the new underwater room they are building (unfortunately wasn't finished when we were there) which will have breathtaking underwater views!

We would like to thank everyone in the resort who contributed to a honeymoon trip that we will never forget!

Room Tip: You will not need a superior garden room (the one with AC) during the dry season (especially june-au...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the place to spend a relaxing wonderful time by the beach, diving, snorkeling off the beaten tracks. We spent 10 days here over Christmas and New Year and it was great! It takes some time to get here but when you arrive you are taken well care of. All food and beverages are included and very good. You have the beach by yourself and swimming is good at high tide while part of the day you can observe the local village people who use the low tide for cultivating and harvesting what ever they find out there. The diving experience was wonderful. The staff is very friendly and accommodate any request you would have. We had a fundu (waiter and constant help with anything you'd need) named Hamezi and he was so very friendly. We were even offered to come with him to his church and a visit to his house in a nearby village. This was a great experience for all of us (specially for our children of age 11,13). Don't forget the daily spa treatment which was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Address: Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manta Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and water sports on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Manta Resort to your Saves list