We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic stay after a bird watching tour of tanzania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manta Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Manta Resort to your Saves list
The Manta Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pemba Island
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Romantic stay after a bird watching tour of tanzania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay after a pretty full-on three weeks in Tanzania. We had just come from a research centre in the Usambara Mountains, so what we really needed was some relaxation, luxury and some great food. We got all that and more, everything was taken care of with the staff all incredibly friendly.
The snorkelling from the beach was great and I'm sure when they have the under-water room available that will provide a really unique experience.
We were really pleased and surprised that all inclusive was including all cockails and wines as well as local drinks, and we were also able to have a joint massage each day.

We also went out birdwatching one afternoon with one of the staff and we were able see all the Pemba endemic birds (three of them actually occur in the grounds).
Meal on the last night was a great experience.

Room Tip: Cottages with beach view and bed on the veranda are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    33
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
142
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just returned from a week in paradise and found that we didn't want to leave. Manta is not the slickest or most luxurious place to stay (in fact the term 'Resort' could be a bit misleading) but it's one of the most authentic, welcoming and naturally beautiful places I have ever had the pleasure of staying.

When you arrive you are welcomed into the Manta family which to the more cynical would appear to be a clever marketing ploy....

Let me reassure you that this is not the case.

The warmth and hospitality of this place really sets it apart and the staff, from the guys who rake the beach to your personal service fundi, are from the local village. This is genuine Tanzanian hospitality and your service fundi will even take you to his village and introduce you to his family if you like!

Manta sources its supplies locally, shares its water with the local village and is actively involved in improving the lives of the local community through a philosophy of ethical tourism.

This is a place to truly relax and unwind, gradually reconnecting with nature and what's truly important in life. The beach is perfect powdery white sand and you can enjoy good snorkeling from the water line. The scuba diving around Pemba is also spectacular with a variety of wonderful dive sites nearby. We saw a pod of dolphins from our veranda and the sunsets were simply stunning. All our alcohol was included and we especially enjoyed making our way through the variety of rum cocktails on offer (which are something of a specialty here).

This is nature at its best and at night you can see the milky way so clearly the amount of stars are almost like a cloud across the nights sky. If you want an authentic experience of real Tanzanian hospitality in a remote location of unspoilt natural beauty, you can't do much better than Manta. It'll take you a couple of days to really relax into the vibe of the place so you really need to spend a week here at the very least.

We're already looking forward to our return and next time we'll make sure we stay for longer.

Room Tip: Stay in a Sea View Villa to make the most of the light, space and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 8 days here in February and we could have stayed here for 2 months and still not have had enough.

I couldn't agree more with the previous posts, this is a four star hotel in a five star experience. The staff are extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food is amazing with freshly caught seafood everyday. The beach is hands down the best beach i have been too in terms of the colour, clarity and beauty (the colours are like the professional photos). Doing the honeymoon package we had a dinner on the beach which included fresh lobster, snapper fillets, calamari and salad. We regularly could not eat dessert as we had so much for entree / mains. The entire vibe at the hotel is relax and enjoy yourself and that is exactly what we wanted. Though that said, there was always something to do, from the sandbank, to sunset fishing boat cruises to diving / snorkeling on one of the perimeter islands.

We were talking to the managers about their proposed underwater room which is due to be complted this year and we cant wait to be back in a few years to see it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you so much for your review. We are really looking forward to checking you into our new underwater room ?
Thanks again for sharing your honeymoon with us.
Warm regards,
The Manta Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the Manta resort.
Everything was perfect!

The staff were very nice and helpful, our beachfront villa a dream and the food was really delicious!

My husband did a lot of diving and he said that the dive center was very good too, nice and competent staff and good equipment.

I am sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Beach front villas are islands of tranquility and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guests,
We are all very grateful for your review and happy to have been able to share this unique part of the world with you both.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soonest.
Kindest regards,
The Manta Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Manta for our honeymoon in August. My husband is a diver and tagged a week on Pemba after a two week safari. Our whole jpurney was an amazing adventure, but our favorite part was Pemba and Manta. The place is literally at the end of the world, remote and incredibly beautiful. The villas were rustic, yet well appointed, lovely linens and the most amazing soap made from cloves in the nearby village. The first night we were there, we were treated to a special beach dinner. Incredibly romantic. All of the meals were amazing. It was lovely to completely disconnect and play backgammon and scrabble at night. There's no tv here...thank goodness! But plenty of books and conversation. The daily spa treatments were great and the diving and snorkeling was spectacular although we never saw a Manta. But what really makes Manta special is the people. The staff and all of the people we met on the island, particularly Faisal who became a friend on this visit. We miss the sunsets and the beautiful call to prayer that echos across the island at dusk. A truly magical place that has forever captured our hearts. We are already planning to return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear honeymoon guests,
We are truly delighted to have been part of making your honeymoon such a memorable adventure. Thank you for your review and for noting all that makes Manta so special.
Kindest regards,
The Manta Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been to Pemba Island 3 times since the island was first opened to foreigners circa 1990 to go diving and it hasn't changed a lot except that today there is the newly-upgraded Manta Resort which is a lovely, comfortable hotel but has remained quiet. Zanzibar, in contrast, is well on the road to "development" with its international airport and numerous top-end hotels and growing crowds. I first went to Zanzibar in the late 80s (1980s, that is !) after it was just opened for tourism and it was a VERY sleepy destination with only one decent hotel, the Stone Inn, I believe it was called at the time, which didn't even have mosquito nets !! There weren't any car rentals but we managed to rent a 4 wheel drive jeep for a week for $100 in cash from a General in the Tanzanian Army. His military jeep had an official flag and all the police and soldiers on the island would salute as the mzungo drove by..... Those were the days !! .......If you are looking for a yet still "undiscovered" destination, Pemba Island just to the North of Zanzibar is very similar in topography to Zanzibar and just as beautiful but not yet developed. The beaches and coral reefs in Pemba are untouched and astoundingly beautiful. The blindingly-white coral sand beaches are amongst the most beautiful in the World, Bahamas included ! The 40 kilometers of coral reefs are truly virgin and untouched except for the occasional Pembian fisherman rowing by in his dugout. Pemba hosts some of the best dive sites in the World with it famous Manta rays and well-known herds of dolphins. There are a myriad of shallow reefs where you can snorkel in an aquarium of fish (without much current for children) and you'll be the only boat on the horizon. For accomplished divers, there are dozens of fantastic dives to do as well. (see photos)

The Manta Resort is a very relaxing yet luxurious lodge. The views from the restaurant, bars and pool over Pemba Sound are amazing. The food is delicious. Mostly locally-caught fish and seafood. The beach is one of the nicest I've ever seen and on a bad day there will be 10 people sharing it with you....the service is very friendly and low key....no nightclub but you can enjoy watching the star-filled skies......( a few photos attached)

We enjoyed a special local cultural treat one night where the villagers came to the beach for a traditional Pembian "Voodoo Dance" near the sacred caves......now this isn't some Club Med show for the white folk but a tradition on Pemba Island and some of the hotel guests and most of the employees joined in....the rythmic sound of the drums and local Swahili chanting and dancing had an exorcism effect on some people and several of the dancers started to thrive on the ground and speak in tongues to release the spirits and devils ( it wasn't evident they were all evil) in them. Even one apparently beleaguered and frustrated French banker was taken in by the spell and sunk into a trance-like state and started to dance uncontrollably and screamed as if he was being burnt on the stake....so much so that he scared the locals and me too !! (He is probably a derivatives trader who lost a fortune ??...)......Anyway, it was quite a scene and completely unrehearsed. Thisthe stuff Life and travel should be made of ! Maybe you will be lucky enough to experience the same ?? I highly recommend Pemba Island and the Manta Resort.

Room Tip: The rooms on the sea front are higher-end and more expensive but they all have an amazing view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your time in writing this review. You really did connect with Pemba and we are just happy to have been part of that. We hope to have you back for a fourth time.
Warm regards from The Manta Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Have seen a number of excellent reviews of this resort thus I do not feel needing to add another one! Perhaps I should make it simple: remoteness, simplicity and the friendliness of staff are the best part of this resort. General manager makes sure everyone is happy by talking to each guest group, your waiter (you will have a designated one throughout your stay) will go out of his way (I had coffee delivered every morning to my villa as I wanted it before going to dining area for breakfast), pool staff will look for empty deck-chair for you and try help to get extra mattress if you wish one, diving shop staff will try to squeeze you in outings when you have no booking but still wish to go out.

As it is in such a remote place, materialistic request may not be met (or they will have to fly someone in as they did have an electrician fly in to fix AC in my villa...!), but if that is what one wants, it is best to stay in Zanzibar. This place is really for tranquillity and peace of mind...

And did I mention - there is no music in the resort except new years eve. GM said to me 'every night is a special night here, but new years' eve is special for everyone incl. Staff. So we play some music, just for one evening.'. If you like the sound of this, you will definitely love staying at Manta resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guests,
We are very grateful for you review and thank you so much for pointing out the essence of The Manta Resort. We will be here, in our remote spot on Pemba Island, to welcome you back when you again need to break away from it all.
Kindest regards,
The Manta Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Address: Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manta Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and water sports on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Manta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.