We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manta is in a stunning, exclusive setting - never felt so relaxed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manta Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Manta Resort
Save Saved
You added The Manta Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manta is in a stunning, exclusive setting - never felt so relaxed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I came to Manta for one week to celebrate our anniversery. We were looking for a Maldives type experience, kind of a once in a life time trip. It met all expectations. When you arrive at the resort you are taken through the open plan bar/chilling area which is tastfully decorated in traditional Zanzibar style. You are greeted by a welcoming staff member with a drink and then taken outside where you see the AMAZING view over the sea - which took our breath away. The dining area overlooks the sea and there is an abundance of tropical flowers framing the view. It is hard to decide which is prettier, the view by day, the sunset or the moonlight shining on the water!

Ok so what about the hotel? It is has an exclusive feel, almost boutique style. We loved rotating time between the pool, beach bar and the white sandy beach. If you are looking for a cast away, tranquil paradise, this beach is the place for you.

We did quite alot of snorkelling off the shore and also over the blue hole a little further out, but still within the protective reef. There are also canoes and we used one to paddly out to the blue hole to snorkel, and also to explore some of the coast line, there are some little coves and interesting rock formations left and right of the hotel area. What was great was that we could just grab a canoe any time we felt like - no need to book and pay for 30 minutes etc etc. I tried scuba diving for the first time and the diving is really clear, highlights included huge shoals of colourful fish and a turtle. If you are lucky you might see a manta. The sunset sail on a local dhow boat to a sand bank is very worth it.

The staff at the hotel really make the stay particulary special - they are friendly, personable and are happy to meet and remember personal requests. We also met the hotel owners who were also very welcoming and took the time to chat to guests. The hotel is all inclusive and the food and drink were really, really good. There are no self-serve buffets, all is served to you directly (and drinks are included too). We had dinner on the beach one night during which we had a fish platter, stunning!

On a side note, if you are a wildlife lover you are very likely to spot a bush baby in a tree during your stay! Also, in a few months there will be an underwater bedroom available on the reef which would be a further opportunity to view tropical fish by night.

Ok we really enjoyed this place, we honestly loved everything about it. It is very relaxing, beautiful and welcoming. I would heartily recommend going. You are very likely to come away a renewed and refreshed person!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit more to have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Marketing Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It is always a pleasure to read and respond to reviews such as yours and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts with us.

From your review you seem to have recognized that The Manta Resort prides itself in ‘down-to-earth’ authenticity, a genuine space in which to relax, where luxury is found in the shared beauty of the island as opposed to the traditional and usual expressions of luxury in other locations. Luxury is certainly defined differently from person to person. What we appreciate in our guests (guests such as yourselves) is their appreciation of Manta’s exceptional location and warm, friendly staff members. Thank you again! Your review reminds us of what we ourselves love about The Manta Resort. Please do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
123
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at The Manta Resort for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of our stay. I would highly recommend visitors who are seeking a quiet, secluded spot where you can enjoy some rest and relaxation with breath-taking surroundings. We appreciated the natural beauty that surrounds the resort and the authenticity of the resort itself - so unpretentious and peaceful. Bear i mind, this is not a place with a mass tourist vibe so don't expect any entertainment - there isn't even any background music at the bar! No TVs in the rooms (not complaining!). Wifi is available in the common area, although we barely felt the urge to have contact with the outside world! In fact, you only really see the other guests at meal times or at a distance on the beach, and we preferred it that way.

We were especially happy with the service, particularly from our fundi, Shabani who was very polite and attentive. Generally, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The manager was also always present and interactive with guests.

A highlight for us were the daily spa treatments, especially the hour long full body massages!

There are also a number of excursions you can choose from. Our favourite was a boat trip to the sandbank - a large stretch of sand in the middle of the ocean which appears at low tide, it was just incredible! And there were fantastic snorkling spots surrounding it.

Overall, we loved The Manta Resort and look forward to returning someday in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in a sea front villa which was beautiful, spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments, and we are grateful for your wonderful review. We shall pass on your kind mention to Shabani and the rest of the management team, and we appreciate that you recognised The Manta Resort’s vision for natural authenticity. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Manta resort for a memorable week in August having read the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor so we had high expectations and oh boy, we were not disappointed.
The location is stunning. The hotel overlooks a beautiful, unspoilt beach with powder, white sand set in well manicured gardens. The small resort is well maintained and extremely intimate and private. Our sea view villa was very comfortable with all amenities and no television-heaven!!! Although the main reception areas have Wifi for those who still require contact to the outside world!!!
The staff are amazing, from management, to waiters to gardeners, they are so friendly and I have never known service like it. Nothing was too much trouble, they are so caring and attentive and your well being was their primary concern. The food was cooked to a high standard with plenty of choice all cooked with local produce and loads of flavours. The chef, Lugendo, is very experienced and it shows, our last meal on the beach was simply outstanding-fresh lobster, king prawns, king fish-it was simply delicious.
We were fortunate to see dolphins in the bay most evenings, whilst enjoying a heavenly cocktail made by Lucas in the cosy, beach bar. Lucas always made us laugh, he was thoroughly entertaining and utterly charming! On top of this we were treated to a massage everyday and managed to enjoy the fantastic diving, whereby we dived with our own instructor on each dive. Our daughter is only 11 years old and qualified last year and this was only her second boat dive but this was never a concern, Maxwell, the dive master, gave her his total attention and reassuring support. In addition, the beach felt like it was our own, with comfortable beds and hammocks to relax the days away in.
We managed to visit the local village which is very poor but they have an amazing community spirit mostly living off the land. Sele, who works in the hotel, took us to the village and we were honoured to spend a morning with him whilst he taught the local children from his home. He is an amazing individual, who gives up his spare time to support and provide an opportunity to the children who are unable to travel to the school in another village. We learnt how the hotel is supporting the local community and the future plans to help create a new school and medical centre. It was equally refreshing to see how the hotel management only employs the locals and clearly cares about their staff. The staff were always engaging with our daughter, playing local games with her and teaching and encouraging her to learn expressions in Swahili.
On our last evening, the three of us went on a sunset cruise on a ‘ngalawa’, a small boat carved out of mango tree. For the first hour we were surrounded by dolphins swimming right up to the boat and the last half an hour the sail was opened up for an exhilarating ride whilst we watched a stunning sunset-thank you Haji for such a magical experience.
I could go on all day about the many wonders of this place but you must really experience it for yourself. We are very well travelled and have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the top hotels in the world, but The Manta Resort will always hold a special place in our hearts and we cannot wait to return again someday soon.

.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Marketing Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you took the time to provide us with such positive feedback. We greatly appreciate your recognition of our staff and we have extended your kind words to them personally. It is always such a pleasure for us to host guests who take the time to get to know The Manta Family, Pemba Island, and the people that stay close to us in nearby villages. Your generous donations are going to make such a difference and we will always be so thankful to you. We are more than pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

After visiting Dar Es Salaam and being on a safari our next stop was Pemba. The way to Manta over the island was great. Sit back and see another culture and life pass by. Well there we were treated so well. The service is great, the food and organisation too. It is a perfect place to relax and rest. But there is also activities if you like. We tested diving and snorkling - perfect. We also did a stroll through the nearby village with our fundi on our way to the old lighthouse. Another nice activity was the spice tour. We saw how common spices at home are grown and harvested. Fantastic. We miss the beach, the pool, the people and the place. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for this kind review. We loved having you here with us and are so pleased that you enjoyed the activities at and around The Manta Resort, and also that you were able to relax after your days on safari. We are also so glad that you were able to appreciate the treasure that is the Ngeni forest and all its wonders, on your drive to and from Manta. Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family travelled to Tanzania for a safari trip and the diving off Zanzibar, and Pemba was our last stop. The Manta Lodge is 65 km from Chake airport, the last 15 of which are on a rough dirt strip through a forest reserve - Land Cruiser country!
It has to be said though, it's worth the bumpy ride, as a paradise awaits. Blindingly white shell sand beach, large reception/entry area and terrace with a panorama view of the wonderful sunset, pool area below, a small spa, and the dive centre. They'd just reopened for the new season, so all was fresh and clean.
There are three types of accommodation, standard garden chalet, superior garden, and sea view chalet. We were there off-season, and were upgraded to a sea view. We were booked "All Inclusive", and as Matthew said, they mean it! You get free laundry, free time at the spa every day, and all your drinks are included. Food is good, especially the seafood, and served at table, there are no buffets here. Desserts are a bit lacking, though.
We were there specifically for the diving, and here comes the bogey. June/July is definitely not the time for this, so plan your trip for October-February for great vis and loads to see. The dive centre is good, equipment well-maintained, and David and staff helpful and flexible. We had just qualified AOWD, and tried most things, from the house reef to Manta Point (25m pinnacle and drift in a stiff current - fun!) Otherwise there's snorkelling, a sunset sail trip, or kick back and relax on that beach or by the pool.
Manta Resort is an unpretentious pearl, very relaxed atmosphere and a good place to go to unwind. Do it during winter in Europe and double your pleasure :)

Room Tip: Sea View and Superior Garden chalets have air-con, could be nice in the summer (34-38 C and humid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManta, Manager at The Manta Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are delighted with your generous review and so pleased that you were happy during your stay with us. Please do return between October and February for even better diving; you are right that the viz should be better then and we would love to have you back with us. Hopefully our desserts will be much improved by then! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our stay at The Manta Resort was truly faboulus and it exceeded all of our expectations. The location is very excluded and you will have a exciting journey going there. We were absolutely stunned by the view when we arrived.

One of the days we did a sunset sail to a nearby beach that was fantastic. We also tried snorkling next to the resort as well as further away, the reef is very alive and the water has a good visablility.

The friendly and helpful staff just kept on making every effort possible to make our 9 days there the best it could be. We are very happy with every part of our stay and would recommend it to anyone. All the people on the island are very friendly and has a high integrity. No one will try to sell you stuff or beg for money, this doesn't exist on Pemba Island.

We stayed in a sea-front villa and the room had a fantastic view and it has everything you need. The all inclusive part of the offer is really generous with all meals served at the table, no buffes. Good cocktails in the bar (included). We also had 1 hour fabulous massage every day (also included).

In short, we loved every day of our stay - thank you Manta family!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Manta Resort is the tropical dream come true! After a long journey (20 hours to be excact from Norway) and a long pumby drive (feeling like we were reaching the end of the world), The Manta Resort reveals as a gift from the Gods.
This place is located at the most beautiful white sandy beach, with ringside seat to the most magical sunset. The atmosphere is laidback, yet stylish in a comfortable way.
With only 10 bungalows, the beach never feels crowded and you will meet interesting people from all over the world. Do not expect The Manta Resort to be a resort like Hilton, Marriott or Four Seasons. It is not a 5 star resort in the sense of hotel tourist machines. This is a place for people who seeks the genuine and a place far from the mass tourism.
The restaurant has super food and a very special atmosphere under the moon. The best during our stay was the service from our fantastic waiter Shabani.
The last night, you have seafood dinner at the beach - fantastic!!
We went to Zanzibar after Pemba, and it was a very different experience. We just wanted to go back to Pemba!

Room Tip: Beach villa no 6 where we stayed is the last villa. A footpath goes from the villa and directly to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Address: Box 32 | Wete, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manta Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and water sports on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;