We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday we've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fundu Lagoon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fundu Lagoon
Save Saved
You added Fundu Lagoon to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7 nights for 4
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday we've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We travelled to Fundu Lagoon with 2 friends after gorilla trekking in Rwanda and met 2 more friends at Fundu where we spent a wonderful 7 nights.
From the moment we arrived we could not have been better cared for by all the staff especially the manager Hannes. Make sure to ask him about all the hotel does for the local community and how it came into existence , so interesting.
The accommodation is 5 star beach chic and barefoot, beautifully done to compliment the setting. Do not expect Dubai 5 star bling, this is on the edge of the jungle, on a beach, on a remote island off the coast of Africa. I think what they do here is completely amazing. And the food is the best I have had in Africa. Go on all the trips, to the island to snorkel, the dolphin safari, the sunset cruise and the village walk.
One word of warning, take Deet insect repellant and apply liberally at all times, we did and were not bitten once but those who ignored this advice paid the consequences!!
I have never been more sad to leave at the end of a holiday , quite simply we all adored Fundu.
Thank you Hannes.
Tolly and Sarah x

Room Tip: Go for anything on the beach or the Jungle suite. All fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you both so much for your great review of Fundu Lagoon. Hannes is actually flying back to Fundu as I write this, having been on leave from the resort for a short break. Whilst he was over here in London he and I had a good opportunity to spend time together discussing all aspects of the hotel, and one of the things we did chat about was saying how lucky we’d been in having such wonderful guests to stay with us at Fundu such as yourselves.

I’m so glad that you both had such a good time at Fundu and the Deet tip is a good one. Our chefs will be beaming with delight when they are told that a guest has said that their food is ‘the best in Africa’; it means a lot to them and indeed to all of us, particularly as we’re hardly in a position to be able to run down to the local supermarket to pick up any daily supplies!

Should you ever consider it, we’d love to be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Fundu at some time in the future. Thank you again for your review.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    23
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
157
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Fundu Lagoon after a week of safari in the Serengeti and it was the perfect ending to our August honeymoon. It’s a bit like Ewok Village meets Robinson Crusoe – extremely remote and ideal for unwinding. To get here requires another short flight from Zanzibar, a 45 minute cab ride and a 10-15 minute boat ride, but it was well worth it.

The service was terrific and the food was amazing. There’s fresh fruit, vegetables and fish at just about every meal. We spent most of our time in the spa and at the infinity pool, which was never crowded, most likely due to the fact that there are only 18 rooms, which seemed to be filled half by honeymooners and half by families with older children. Chris & Phil in the dive center were great and offer a number of activities. We opted for the sunset cruise in a dhow boat and a day at Misali Island, (which is an even more remote island ideal for snorkeling and picnic lunches) both of which were fantastic. Dinners seem to get moved around the resort, which is a great way to keep things fresh; we ate on the jetty, in the main dining area, and had a private dinner for two on the beach.

There’s a very cool story on the history of the resort and its relationship with the local villages, which I won’t ruin in this review. A big thank you to Hannes, Ellis, and Kris for making our stay in paradise so memorable.

Room Tip: Go with a beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
How wonderful to read your lovely review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I love the analogy of Ewok and Robinson Crusoe! We are indeed a little bit off the beaten track which usually involves 3 different types of transport to reach us, but I’m glad that you both felt that it was nonetheless worth the effort.

Our chefs will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the variety of food and beverages that we have on offer at Fundu. As you say, there is fresh fruit and vegetables (much of which is grown on site) and locally caught fish served wherever possible. I was also pleased to read that you appreciated the change of dinner venues at Fundu – we have fun arranging this, and I would agree with you that it keeps things fresh. How wonderful also that you had a private candle lit dinner for two on the beach.

Kris and Filbert will be so pleased to read that you enjoyed meeting them, and that you had fun at Misali Island and on the sunset cruise.

All of us are delighted that you chose to spend the end of your honeymoon at Fundu Lagoon and that you had such a ‘memorable stay in paradise’. Our congratulations on your recent marriage, and we wish you a long and happy life together.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A big thank you to Hans the manager for making our holiday so special.
So pretty and peaceful along with fantastic food.
Our room was perfect and the staff could not do enough to make our stay amazing.
Thank you Hans and thank you Fundu Lagoon
Jane and Jon

Room Tip: we had a beach villa and worked well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the resort. Hannes and all of our staff will be delighted to read that you both had an amazing holiday with us. All our guests are special to us too.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights to relax after the rigours of a 10 day safari. Our travel agent couldn't have chosen a better place for us to unwind and recuperate. Its remoteness and tranquility were the perfect restorative and the requirement to do nothing more than eat, sleep, swim and read was perfect.
Our lodge was fantastic - large, tastefully furnished and with its own private plunge pool on the very spacious verandah. It's position, right on the beach, was perfect and private. What a wonderful experience it was to wake up in the morning and walk straight into the Indian Ocean from the steps of our lodge, for an early morning swim!
The thoughtful provision of sunhats and bag was a nice touch as was the range of teas, coffee (including filter coffee), fresh milk, soft drinks, beer and wine. And water, of course. The stock of clean towels never seemed to diminish, no matter how often we swam and showered!
Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Although English is very obviously a second language everyone was willing to engage in conversation and exchange pleasantries. Staff seemed very pleased that we had learned a little Swahili and enjoyed correcting our mis-pronunciations! We were very willing students!! We enjoyed the sunset cruise on a traditional fishing vessel and chatting with the captain, Simba.
The food was of a high standard and there was always a good variety to choose from. The cinnamon-coated French toast with Pemba honey was my favourite breakfast dish, although to be fair, I didn't try anything else because this was so good!
I enjoyed wonderful massages from the wonderful Balinese masseuse and felt as if I floated back to our lodge afterwards.
This was a perfect end to our holiday and well worth the two flights, bus journey and boat trip to get to such a wonderful destination. The seclusion and privacy, with no demands made on us at all, made for outstanding R&R. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
It was wonderful to read your fabulous review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so glad that everything fell into place for you both and that you enjoyed your time with us. I’m delighted that you felt relaxed and at home in your beach suite, and thank you also for your kind words about our standard of cuisine and spa treatments.

Any words of Swahili that our guests learn are always appreciated by our staff. As you correctly observed, English is their second language as 75% of our staff are employed from the 3 villages that surround us. I feel it is important to employ local people wherever possible as we are all guests in their country. Our staff are gradually becoming more confident with their English and really enjoy talking to Fundu’s guests. As you discovered, they are also highly entertained by any western mis-pronounciation of Swahili phrases and words!

The sunset cruise is a favourite of our guests – the view of the sun going down over Fundu from the hotel’s dhow boat is always so beautiful.

Feedback from our clients is always important to us, so thank you again for taking the time and trouble to write your review.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days on the last leg of our honeymoon and it is a lovely place.
The luxury here is in the remoteness of the location, the small number of rooms and in the relaxed paradise-like atmosphere. It is not opulent. If you prefer to go to dinner dressed up or are looking for a grand hotel, then this is probably not for you.
Rooms are lovely and spacious. The food is excellent and there are no less than three bars for 18 rooms.
The spa is excellent and the massage therapists are very good.
The dive center is outstanding and Kris, who runs it is fantastic.
The resort is now 10 years old and this is just starting to show in places. No big deal yet but may become so if not addressed in the next couple of years. Compared to the other lodges we stayed at in Tanzania, the house wine was inferior. There is, however, a wine list where you can pay for better wine.

Room Tip: Would definitely go for a beach side bungalow over a hill side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the ambience of the resort. Kris will be delighted to read your comments about the dive centre, and I totally agree with you – he is a true asset to Fundu. I’m glad that you enjoyed your massages and made the most of our spa centre too.

Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – all of us at Fundu with you a long and happy life together.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the barefoot paradise described by so many other reviewers. We stayed seven nights and loved it. However, it's not for everyone as a recent less complimentary review shows. The key is that fundu is very remote and located in challenging mangrove jungle conditions. This is not conventional five star luxury insulated from its natural environment; expect monkeys on the decking and the odd ant and mossie bite. But, if you can relax into a very different lifestyle then expect a warm laid back vibe, quality food, some exceptional dishes and the friendliest staff around. One needs to stay a minimum of five nights really to get into the swing of "fundu time". A memorable stay, remarkable location and such lovely people

Room Tip: Go for on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Fundu Lagoon. You both most definitely grasped the vibe of Fundu that I was aiming to create all those years ago, and that gives me so, so much pleasure. I love your phrase of getting into “Fundu time” – it’s absolutely perfect.

Thank you for coming to visit – we all look forward to being able to welcome you back at some date in the future.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thank you Ellis, Hannis, Lilly and Gary for putting together such a wonderful staff and for building this place for the world to gather. Great place to relax, barefoot the entire time enjoying the sands and sea. Great people at the near by village, very good food especially up at the swimming pool bar, great massage room and of course awesome Balinese massage therapist. Was Paul S at the same place? A special thanks to Medi our excursion guide, you were awesome. Best wishes - Jon & Vicki RPV, CA

Room Tip: All are tents and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
What a terrific review – thank you SO much for that, it really is appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I’ll make sure that everyone will see your kind comments, especially Medi.

Come and visit us again and kick off your shoes once more!


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fundu Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fundu Lagoon 4.5*
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fundu Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.