We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly fantastic week.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fundu Lagoon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fundu Lagoon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7 nights for 4
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A truly fantastic week.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A big thank you to Hans the manager for making our holiday so special.
So pretty and peaceful along with fantastic food.
Our room was perfect and the staff could not do enough to make our stay amazing.
Thank you Hans and thank you Fundu Lagoon
Jane and Jon

Room Tip: we had a beach villa and worked well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the resort. Hannes and all of our staff will be delighted to read that you both had an amazing holiday with us. All our guests are special to us too.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    22
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
156
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights to relax after the rigours of a 10 day safari. Our travel agent couldn't have chosen a better place for us to unwind and recuperate. Its remoteness and tranquility were the perfect restorative and the requirement to do nothing more than eat, sleep, swim and read was perfect.
Our lodge was fantastic - large, tastefully furnished and with its own private plunge pool on the very spacious verandah. It's position, right on the beach, was perfect and private. What a wonderful experience it was to wake up in the morning and walk straight into the Indian Ocean from the steps of our lodge, for an early morning swim!
The thoughtful provision of sunhats and bag was a nice touch as was the range of teas, coffee (including filter coffee), fresh milk, soft drinks, beer and wine. And water, of course. The stock of clean towels never seemed to diminish, no matter how often we swam and showered!
Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Although English is very obviously a second language everyone was willing to engage in conversation and exchange pleasantries. Staff seemed very pleased that we had learned a little Swahili and enjoyed correcting our mis-pronunciations! We were very willing students!! We enjoyed the sunset cruise on a traditional fishing vessel and chatting with the captain, Simba.
The food was of a high standard and there was always a good variety to choose from. The cinnamon-coated French toast with Pemba honey was my favourite breakfast dish, although to be fair, I didn't try anything else because this was so good!
I enjoyed wonderful massages from the wonderful Balinese masseuse and felt as if I floated back to our lodge afterwards.
This was a perfect end to our holiday and well worth the two flights, bus journey and boat trip to get to such a wonderful destination. The seclusion and privacy, with no demands made on us at all, made for outstanding R&R. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
It was wonderful to read your fabulous review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so glad that everything fell into place for you both and that you enjoyed your time with us. I’m delighted that you felt relaxed and at home in your beach suite, and thank you also for your kind words about our standard of cuisine and spa treatments.

Any words of Swahili that our guests learn are always appreciated by our staff. As you correctly observed, English is their second language as 75% of our staff are employed from the 3 villages that surround us. I feel it is important to employ local people wherever possible as we are all guests in their country. Our staff are gradually becoming more confident with their English and really enjoy talking to Fundu’s guests. As you discovered, they are also highly entertained by any western mis-pronounciation of Swahili phrases and words!

The sunset cruise is a favourite of our guests – the view of the sun going down over Fundu from the hotel’s dhow boat is always so beautiful.

Feedback from our clients is always important to us, so thank you again for taking the time and trouble to write your review.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days on the last leg of our honeymoon and it is a lovely place.
The luxury here is in the remoteness of the location, the small number of rooms and in the relaxed paradise-like atmosphere. It is not opulent. If you prefer to go to dinner dressed up or are looking for a grand hotel, then this is probably not for you.
Rooms are lovely and spacious. The food is excellent and there are no less than three bars for 18 rooms.
The spa is excellent and the massage therapists are very good.
The dive center is outstanding and Kris, who runs it is fantastic.
The resort is now 10 years old and this is just starting to show in places. No big deal yet but may become so if not addressed in the next couple of years. Compared to the other lodges we stayed at in Tanzania, the house wine was inferior. There is, however, a wine list where you can pay for better wine.

Room Tip: Would definitely go for a beach side bungalow over a hill side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the ambience of the resort. Kris will be delighted to read your comments about the dive centre, and I totally agree with you – he is a true asset to Fundu. I’m glad that you enjoyed your massages and made the most of our spa centre too.

Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – all of us at Fundu with you a long and happy life together.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the barefoot paradise described by so many other reviewers. We stayed seven nights and loved it. However, it's not for everyone as a recent less complimentary review shows. The key is that fundu is very remote and located in challenging mangrove jungle conditions. This is not conventional five star luxury insulated from its natural environment; expect monkeys on the decking and the odd ant and mossie bite. But, if you can relax into a very different lifestyle then expect a warm laid back vibe, quality food, some exceptional dishes and the friendliest staff around. One needs to stay a minimum of five nights really to get into the swing of "fundu time". A memorable stay, remarkable location and such lovely people

Room Tip: Go for on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Fundu Lagoon. You both most definitely grasped the vibe of Fundu that I was aiming to create all those years ago, and that gives me so, so much pleasure. I love your phrase of getting into “Fundu time” – it’s absolutely perfect.

Thank you for coming to visit – we all look forward to being able to welcome you back at some date in the future.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thank you Ellis, Hannis, Lilly and Gary for putting together such a wonderful staff and for building this place for the world to gather. Great place to relax, barefoot the entire time enjoying the sands and sea. Great people at the near by village, very good food especially up at the swimming pool bar, great massage room and of course awesome Balinese massage therapist. Was Paul S at the same place? A special thanks to Medi our excursion guide, you were awesome. Best wishes - Jon & Vicki RPV, CA

Room Tip: All are tents and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
What a terrific review – thank you SO much for that, it really is appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I’ll make sure that everyone will see your kind comments, especially Medi.

Come and visit us again and kick off your shoes once more!


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful location, friendly staff and great food. We stayed just after the rainy season in June to start our honeymoon and loved every minute. Yes the tide can go out a bit but you only have to walk out to beautiful seas. We snorkelled and kayaked most days and the sea life even around the hotel was fantastic. We did visit the neighbouring island for diving/snorkelling along the reef which was fantastic.

The food was always good and the staff friendly. There have been some complaints on here about the beech been covered by leaves but thats what you get in this location and its nature at its best.

We stayed in a junior beach suite which was perfect, leading straight onto the beach with a private beach area, alongside a plunge pool, outside lounge and decking area. The superior suites are double in size, but for 2 ours was perfect.

Hannes the manager was amazing and always made you feel at home

I will always recommend fundu to anyone looking for peace, quiet and seclusion

Room Tip: lots of mosquitoes so be prepared
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Fundu Lagoon on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed staying with us at the start of your honeymoon recently. You both certainly seemed to have made the most of the amenities that we have on offer at the resort which is wonderful, and I’m delighted that you also enjoyed your junior suite with its private plunge pool, beach and decking area.

It’s so pleasing to read that you did your research on the area of Africa that you were visiting before you left the UK, and I appreciate your comments in understanding that our tidal location means that our beaches cannot be acres of pristine white sand. Your tip about the mosquitoes is also handy for other travellers to read. Although we are in a low risk malaria area the annoying mosquitoes refuse to move out, so as in most African countries, we all just have to deal with them as best we can.

Thank you for taking the time to write about Fundu – your comments are very much appreciated. Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – Hannes and all of our staff and myself wish you a long and happy life together.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The travel agent described Fundu Lagoon as shabby chic. Shabby yes chic not. The shabbiness begins at Pemba airport where we were picked up by an ancient mini van with a broken air conditioner and windows that would not open. We arrived feeling like baked lobsters. Maybe the hotel once was chic, but now is tired to the point of grotty. The public areas are dark and gloomy, even a bit spooky. There is no real beach. It's a mangrove swamp and the sea hopeless for swimming in. There is a very broad tidal range which means that the water is only a foot deep for several hundred meters when the tide is in, and then brackish and full of debris, when out the water is just too far away across slimy green shoals. The good beach with snorkelling is a 20 minute boat ride away and the hotel will charge a family of four $135 to make the trip. So think of this as a daily surcharge on your room rate. We were promised fishing but the one fishing boat was booked out for the entire week by an Italian. With the tidal situation wind surfing was impossible and if you want to sea kayak they have to take you out in a motor boat again charging heavily. The room, which was a safari tent, was also tired with poor quality towels and very shabby cushions. The mosquitos were horrific. Both my wife and I had to go onto antihistamines. On the small patch of white sand, between the mangroves, that serves as a beach, there are some battered sun loungers with torn and stained fabrics. Beach towels are not provided so you would not want to lie on them. The food and drinks were included in the room rate and though meals simple were surprisingly good and the cocktails and fresh fruit juices were good. The staff were really nice which I think was the big saving grace. We left after four days having booked and paid for seven. It was that bad. Now all the above would be fine in a 2 to 3 star back packer / soft adventure establishment paying say $80 a night. We were paying $870 per room per night. That hurt.

Room Tip: Don't go for the hill rooms, strictly beach only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I was disappointed to read your review of your stay at Fundu Lagoon. We are constantly working hard to upgrade the standard of taxi service that we are able to provide, and I have taken on board your comments about this.

With regards to the rest of your review, Fundu is clearly not for everyone, and we are very sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope that the remainder of your travels was more to your liking.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fundu Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fundu Lagoon 4.5*
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fundu Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fundu Lagoon to your Saves list