We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fundu Lagoon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fundu Lagoon
Save
You added Fundu Lagoon to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days on the last leg of our honeymoon and it is a lovely place.
The luxury here is in the remoteness of the location, the small number of rooms and in the relaxed paradise-like atmosphere. It is not opulent. If you prefer to go to dinner dressed up or are looking for a grand hotel, then this is probably not for you.
Rooms are lovely and spacious. The food is excellent and there are no less than three bars for 18 rooms.
The spa is excellent and the massage therapists are very good.
The dive center is outstanding and Kris, who runs it is fantastic.
The resort is now 10 years old and this is just starting to show in places. No big deal yet but may become so if not addressed in the next couple of years. Compared to the other lodges we stayed at in Tanzania, the house wine was inferior. There is, however, a wine list where you can pay for better wine.

Room Tip: Would definitely go for a beach side bungalow over a hill side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the ambience of the resort. Kris will be delighted to read your comments about the dive centre, and I totally agree with you – he is a true asset to Fundu. I’m glad that you enjoyed your massages and made the most of our spa centre too.

Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – all of us at Fundu with you a long and happy life together.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    26
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
186
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the barefoot paradise described by so many other reviewers. We stayed seven nights and loved it. However, it's not for everyone as a recent less complimentary review shows. The key is that fundu is very remote and located in challenging mangrove jungle conditions. This is not conventional five star luxury insulated from its natural environment; expect monkeys on the decking and the odd ant and mossie bite. But, if you can relax into a very different lifestyle then expect a warm laid back vibe, quality food, some exceptional dishes and the friendliest staff around. One needs to stay a minimum of five nights really to get into the swing of "fundu time". A memorable stay, remarkable location and such lovely people

Room Tip: Go for on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Fundu Lagoon. You both most definitely grasped the vibe of Fundu that I was aiming to create all those years ago, and that gives me so, so much pleasure. I love your phrase of getting into “Fundu time” – it’s absolutely perfect.

Thank you for coming to visit – we all look forward to being able to welcome you back at some date in the future.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thank you Ellis, Hannis, Lilly and Gary for putting together such a wonderful staff and for building this place for the world to gather. Great place to relax, barefoot the entire time enjoying the sands and sea. Great people at the near by village, very good food especially up at the swimming pool bar, great massage room and of course awesome Balinese massage therapist. Was Paul S at the same place? A special thanks to Medi our excursion guide, you were awesome. Best wishes - Jon & Vicki RPV, CA

Room Tip: All are tents and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
What a terrific review – thank you SO much for that, it really is appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I’ll make sure that everyone will see your kind comments, especially Medi.

Come and visit us again and kick off your shoes once more!


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful location, friendly staff and great food. We stayed just after the rainy season in June to start our honeymoon and loved every minute. Yes the tide can go out a bit but you only have to walk out to beautiful seas. We snorkelled and kayaked most days and the sea life even around the hotel was fantastic. We did visit the neighbouring island for diving/snorkelling along the reef which was fantastic.

The food was always good and the staff friendly. There have been some complaints on here about the beech been covered by leaves but thats what you get in this location and its nature at its best.

We stayed in a junior beach suite which was perfect, leading straight onto the beach with a private beach area, alongside a plunge pool, outside lounge and decking area. The superior suites are double in size, but for 2 ours was perfect.

Hannes the manager was amazing and always made you feel at home

I will always recommend fundu to anyone looking for peace, quiet and seclusion

Room Tip: lots of mosquitoes so be prepared
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Fundu Lagoon on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed staying with us at the start of your honeymoon recently. You both certainly seemed to have made the most of the amenities that we have on offer at the resort which is wonderful, and I’m delighted that you also enjoyed your junior suite with its private plunge pool, beach and decking area.

It’s so pleasing to read that you did your research on the area of Africa that you were visiting before you left the UK, and I appreciate your comments in understanding that our tidal location means that our beaches cannot be acres of pristine white sand. Your tip about the mosquitoes is also handy for other travellers to read. Although we are in a low risk malaria area the annoying mosquitoes refuse to move out, so as in most African countries, we all just have to deal with them as best we can.

Thank you for taking the time to write about Fundu – your comments are very much appreciated. Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – Hannes and all of our staff and myself wish you a long and happy life together.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The travel agent described Fundu Lagoon as shabby chic. Shabby yes chic not. The shabbiness begins at Pemba airport where we were picked up by an ancient mini van with a broken air conditioner and windows that would not open. We arrived feeling like baked lobsters. Maybe the hotel once was chic, but now is tired to the point of grotty. The public areas are dark and gloomy, even a bit spooky. There is no real beach. It's a mangrove swamp and the sea hopeless for swimming in. There is a very broad tidal range which means that the water is only a foot deep for several hundred meters when the tide is in, and then brackish and full of debris, when out the water is just too far away across slimy green shoals. The good beach with snorkelling is a 20 minute boat ride away and the hotel will charge a family of four $135 to make the trip. So think of this as a daily surcharge on your room rate. We were promised fishing but the one fishing boat was booked out for the entire week by an Italian. With the tidal situation wind surfing was impossible and if you want to sea kayak they have to take you out in a motor boat again charging heavily. The room, which was a safari tent, was also tired with poor quality towels and very shabby cushions. The mosquitos were horrific. Both my wife and I had to go onto antihistamines. On the small patch of white sand, between the mangroves, that serves as a beach, there are some battered sun loungers with torn and stained fabrics. Beach towels are not provided so you would not want to lie on them. The food and drinks were included in the room rate and though meals simple were surprisingly good and the cocktails and fresh fruit juices were good. The staff were really nice which I think was the big saving grace. We left after four days having booked and paid for seven. It was that bad. Now all the above would be fine in a 2 to 3 star back packer / soft adventure establishment paying say $80 a night. We were paying $870 per room per night. That hurt.

Room Tip: Don't go for the hill rooms, strictly beach only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I was disappointed to read your review of your stay at Fundu Lagoon. We are constantly working hard to upgrade the standard of taxi service that we are able to provide, and I have taken on board your comments about this.

With regards to the rest of your review, Fundu is clearly not for everyone, and we are very sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope that the remainder of your travels was more to your liking.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for the 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect. The setting is truly amazing and the relaxed atmosphere means you settle in very quickly and start enjoying yourself. The staff are all wonderful, Hannes and Liz make sure that you are well looked after and Kris is a great diving instructor, especially seeing as it was my first ever dive. What is most important about Fundu is that nothing is forced, you do what you want, when you want which was most important. Our evenings at the bar will be remembered with great fondness, just be careful of the Hamaramarulas if Hannes tries to thrust one upon you!! Thank you so much for the most wonderful time and we will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us for the last 5 nights of your honeymoon. Your comments will be passed on to all of our staff who will be delighted to hear them.

Well done on completing your first ever dive – Kris is a brilliant instructor and you are in a very safe pair of hands with him by your side. I want all of my guests to feel that nothing is forced on them at Fundu, and it truly wonderful to read reviews where guests feel this and understand that they can just totally relax.

I did laugh out loud when I read the bit about Hannes getting you on the Hamarulas – it is one of his specialities!

Congratulations to you both on your recent marriage – have a long and happy life together, and come back and see us at any time – there’ll be a Hamarula waiting for you at the jetty bar!

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fundu Lagoon was fabulous. Having never been to an all inclusive beach place before, I was slightly nervous about the idea of a week here at the end of our honeymoon & safari, but after day one I couldn’t have wanted anything more than a week of the Lagoon relaxation on offer! The villas, communal areas, bars & restaurants were fantastic, and there were no crowds to avoid – just a small handful of other people. I love food and this place didn’t disappoint – there was always a variety of options and you don’t have to stick to the meal times if you don’t want to (in fact, make sure you miss the lunch in the restaurant at least once and have the burger/fish cakes at the pool bar!) Absolutely fantastic week here and Hannes & the staff were so friendly and the atmosphere so relaxed. You definitely get what you pay for! This is one of the few places in the world that I’d love to return to one day. Just for those Bloody Marys made from fresh tomatos! Lovely lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon. I think you should definitely pop back for a fresh tomato Bloody Mary; sounds like a great plan!

Hannes, Liz and all of our staff will be delighted to read your kind comments about them. Many congratulations on your recent marriage – have a long and happy life together and we’d all love to welcome you both back at some time in the future.

Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
28.3 mi away
The Manta Resort
The Manta Resort
#2 of 5 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
12.4 mi away
Pemba Lodge Ltd.
Pemba Lodge Ltd.
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mchanga Beach Resort
Mchanga Beach Resort
#36 of 145 in Zanzibar Island
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundu Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pemba Island
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fundu Lagoon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fundu Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.