We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Coast Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umngazi River Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows
Save
You added Umngazi River Bungalows to your Saves list
Dumasi, Port St Johns, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wild Coast Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I think my title says it all - of all the Wild Coast establishments, this one is my favourite. From well appointed bungalows (without gruffalos to my daughter's disappointment), to the luxurious spa, to the magnificent meals; from the caring nannies to the entertaining Kevin; from the well informed guides and the general magnificence of it all, my little family had a glorious week at Umngazi. Thank you for that opportunity to kick off our shoes, recharge our batteries and feed our souls. Our tanks are full again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Robyn,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review which I have shared with the team, it is always satisfying to hear that you have left us feeling relaxed and recharged as you mentioned. I hope we do get to welcome you back, until then, we will try our very best to get some gruffalo's for your daughters next visit.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    81
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
134
173
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Awesome place with natural beauty! The staff and locals are friendly, food is amazing and activities from day 1 were exciting and I look forward to going there again. Package options are good and you get your moneys worth.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was fantastic to read that we had managed to entertain you all throughout your stay and that you left feeling Umngazi feeling that we were great value for money and more importantly planning to return.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have recently stayed here with friends after they were married in the Midlands. It is well worth the long drive to reach it. On arrival we were shown to our bungalow with the most beautiful views out to the sea. Our room had an outside shower, which if windy can be a bit useless - but if it's calm is a great extra.
The food was excellent, and each evening we had a different selection on offer, and always at a good standard.
There is a well maintained tennis court here as well which you can book time on at reception, they provide tennis rackets so you don't need to take these with you.
There are also 4 canoes that take 2 people in each that you can just take out yourselves and enjoy the peace and quiet.
The location was second to none and we would happily return here to spend more time, it was very sad to leave after just 3 nights.
The bar staff in the evening were brilliant and so full of fun, we even had a dance on the bar one evening!
There is a games area in the bar - full size snooker table & a darts board which keep you entertained.
If you wonder what the writing on the wall is - just ask at the bar....and good luck!!

There is a spa = but book on arrival as it get's very busy!

Room Tip: All excellent rooms - but if you can, get a sea view Make sure you do the evening sundowner boat tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this amazing review, I am so pleased that you as well as all the 'Buddymoon' group of friends enjoyed your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure for us all here at Umngazi to have you with us for the very special occasion.

I do hope we get you all back here every year to celebrate all the anniversary's to come!

Best wishes,

Graham

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The location is fantastic, very scenic. he bungalows are nice, the view is breathtaking, overlooking a lonely beach and the sea. we have even seen whales from our room. The food was good. Negative points were: the service at front desk was rather unfriendly. Beach towels rent does cost. When we have receipt the bill, we found 300 ZAR for not returned towels although we have returned all of them. After having claimed the same, they removed the amount without comment. I've felt ripped off!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you so much to write this review it is greatly appreciated as was your visit to Umngazi River Bungalows. Thank you for your positive comments and my sincere for the lackluster service you received from our reception it will be addressed.

I do hope we get to welcome you back to Umngazi in the not to distant future and thank you once again for visiting us here on the Wild Coast.

Kind regards,

Graham

Graham Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredsten, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

After a gruelling day in the car and after driving 700 km, we finally arrived at this wonderfull place, just in time for evening dinner. The hotel is situated at the end of a side road to the main road, which is some 10-12 km long. Especially in the dark, this road is rather adventurous, with landslides, potholes, cows, donkeys, sheep and goats in the middle of the road. The place itself is very nice, with nice large rooms in sort of bungalows. There is an inside, but also an outside bathroom, inside a tub, outside a hot and cold shower. A pity that we only could stay one night, because the nature around the place is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the kind review as well for making the trip to visit Umngazi River Bungalows, as you found out this is not called the Wild Coast for nothing, but as you experienced it is certainly worth the journey. We do look forward to welcoming you back again one day and definitely for longer next time.

Best wishes,

Graham

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Umngazi 's food is outstanding and has improved since the new chef arrived.
We had great weather for the week we stayed at the hotel and the fishing was excellent.The staff are friendly and helpful. It is a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Garth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, your feedback and comments are extremely important to us. I have passed this onto JJ our chef who will be happy he and his team have delivered on the food side, I know they work extremely hard to do this.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Umngazi in the not to distant future.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been trying for years to get a booking at this establishment and on the off chance took a shot at getting a booking . I got lucky and they had two bungalow's for us. It was quite a drive to get there but was worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay , all aspects Food , Grounds , Position , Bungalows ,Views , Spa , Staff were all fantastic. Its a beautiful part of the South African coast line and a destination specialising in family holidays. The local community working at the the venue are all very helpful and available to host different activities they offer.
Children big and small will enjoy this experience ,mine certainly did. I can highly recommend Umngazi and I will return and lengthen my stay next time . My tip...... five nights was a bit too short stay longer if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Schiess,

Thank you so much for this extremely kind review, it was great to read that we finally managed to welcome your family to Umngazi after so many years, thank you for persevering! It was also wonderful to see that you will be returning and for longer next time, we certainly look forward to that.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows

Address: Dumasi, Port St Johns, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umngazi River Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.