We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umngazi River Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows
Save
You added Umngazi River Bungalows to your Saves list
Dumasi, Port St Johns, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent a holiday at Umngazi together with two other families. Umngazi requires some traveling to get to, but once you are there you forget all about the rest of the world. The resort is immaculately maintained, the staff are friendly, the accommodation is spacious and comfortable, the food is delicious and varied and the location is wonderful.
Our children were taught to fish by Teddy, their gilly, and when they were not fishing there were numerous organized activities to keep them busy and entertained throughout the day.
There is plenty to do including trail running, mountain biking, walking on the beach or trails, swimming in the warm sea, canoeing, pedal boating, sand boarding, tennis, spa and many indoor activities in the event of bad weather.
Umngazi offers some of the best value for money you will find anywhere. No wonder many families return year after year.

Room Tip: Although you will not be disappointed by any bungalow, I would recommend one of the river front bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    81
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
138
173
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Every reviewer who has rated this property excellent is absolutely correct. A well run Hotel in a stunning location with friendly, helpful staff and a really caring attitude, Add genuine value for money and you have the perfect package. It's ideal holiday destination, or a perfect stopover on the arduous trip from East London to Durban

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Umngazi River Bungalows were recommended to us by family members who go there on a regular basis. We booked 4 nights and could have stayed forever! From the first moment of arrival to the last wave good bye we have nothing but high praise for the resort. Although we were the oldest couple staying at the time we loved seeing all the young families enjoying all that the resort had to offer. There seemed to be something organised for all ages from fishing competitions for the youngsters to potjie cooking for aspiring chefs of all ages.
The only accommodation available when we booked 4 months prior to going (outside school holidays) was one of the honeymoon suites (No 45) and the accommodation was most acceptable with a comfortable king-size bed
The Umngazi Resort is full board; breakfast, lunch and dinner. Meal times are fixed and you are allocated a table for your entire stay. The food was delicious and plentiful and always fresh and well prepared. We had no complaints what so ever in regard to anything in this stunning, beautiful, peaceful resort.
The high light of our holiday was a trip up the river with boat driver Kevin to see the bird life and the fish eagles of the area diving down to catch the fish thrown to them.
A dream holiday and a place we hope to return to very soon. Thanks especially to the friendly staff members who are well trained in guest hospitality. Many other South African resorts could learn a thing or two about good management. Well done to all concerned.

Room Tip: We had No 45. Loved it with its double outdoor showers .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A surprise stop-over stay for our one year anniversary was at umngazi. The breathtaking views, the stunning set up and the lovely ambiance of the place made making memories to last a lifetime incredible. The food was nom nom (although we ate only fish and vegetables- due to diet requirements) and the serving portions were generous! I loved eating 5 times a day!! We were sceptical about the outdoor shower,especially since we hate the cold, but we survived and it was enjoyable. The thought of no cellphone reception was a welcome as it gives one a break from everything and lets you just relax, swim, eat, sleep and fish. The kids activities are totally awesome! and the hikes that are for everyone are a must. A visit to the spa was the highlight of the trip- especially the spa bath treatment where you have a private view of the beach - Absolutely Gorgeous!!! (despite the overcast weather we got). I'd suggest an aircon in the rooms for winter and that the spa try out another product line instead - less chemical and more aromatic, also that the menus cater for strictly vegetarian and are labelled or have some way of informing you of the type of ingredients/ name of the items you are offered to eat. I definiitely Want to visit again in November!!!

Room Tip: If you have little ones choose rooms closer to the main areas like the dinning room, pool, lounge et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great place for family holiday! Stunning beach, wonderful service and great value for money. Well run by real professionals, who are passionate about what they do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel is really geared for the family, not just the kids, but the parents as well; in terms of the room designs, the environment, the facilities and activities. There is always someone ready to take care of your little ones, so that you can enjoy your partner that much more! The showers I found to be interesting, basically you are having a shower outdoors, well, you are concealed by the bamboo, I sometimes wonder how effective that is for a person with some strong lenses!! But that's just part of the environment of kicking back, washing outside is amazing really! The road and the cattle can be intimidating, but worth it once you see the place, just checking into reception with a lagoon in the background is something, the mangrove trees nearby are just breath taking! The hotel owners also just worked on this powerful deal that incorporated the locals as their business empowerment partners, so that is also and always something to support!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Gorgeous location.Not much of this left in the world.Great staff.Everyone courteous and helpful.A long drive but well worth the effort.Has the most beautiful beach for both swimming and walking

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows

Address: Dumasi, Port St Johns, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umngazi River Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.