We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amapondo Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amapondo Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Second Beach Road | Wildcoast, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Meerensee, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Amapondo is nothing but awesome. Winding your way through the beautiful Port St Johns you suddenly arrive at this picturesque, idyllic backpackers situated on the slopes of a hill overlooking the river mouth, second beach, coral trees and natural forest.

I will never forget Amapondo, the people, the staff, food, our beautiful view from our self catering unit, the music and the feel good vibes. It truly is the ultimate backpackers!

Room Tip: Turtle Cove – Self catering unit, on the slopes of a hill overlooking second beach. Duplex unit, ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    35
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
52
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just got back from an amazing weekend at Amapondo in Port St Johns. I did not stop smiling from the moment I arrived. The atmosphere and the views (from everywhere in Port St Johns) are brilliant. We ended up staying an extra day and really wanted to stay for another day/week/year/lifetime. We stayed in one of the chalets which was top quality with the best view ever. Staff is excellent and there is so much to do in the area which they encourage you to do. Amazing restaurants for such a small town too. I've got pondo fever and will definitely be back there soon!

Room Tip: If you can get one of the chalets, don't hesitate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I sprung for the Turtle Cove delux cabin, it was lovely, with big beautiful windows with amazing ocean/jungle views, a nice big bathtub with (slow) running hot water, a nice porch and kitchenette. It really was a gem and we loved it! Unfortunately, at this time of year, we did have to cope with some rat problems. The staff was very hospitable and helpful, but not in a completely conventional way. "Pondo fever" and its accoutrements, was very prevalent. The location was nice, a very short walk from 2nd beach and we appreciated the limited but accomodating shuttle service into/from PSJ. There were some great hikes and activities, lovely beaches and plenty of photo ops, but we took the opportunity to just chill out and enjoy the cabin. The restaurant was basic but good. The bar had GREAT music, wi-fi connection was pretty good too. With a little bit of TLC, this place could really be a first-class backpackers! The weather was a bit chilly this time of year but it was great - but again, maybe not for everyone.

Room Tip: We got the cabin and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deganwy, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

stayed here before and after a trek, the staff were very friendly and helpfull, kept any unwanted items for us while trekking and stocked up on lasagne for 17 of us when we returned! good enterainment in the evenings and felt very comfortable! want to return :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Not many options for Port St Johns and a girl on the same bus as me recommended this place, but when we got there even she said the place was very rundown since she was last there.
The dorm was awful, matresses were as hard as the floor and overall gave the sensation that it would be better to sleep on the beach. No lockers or keys for the room...
They had free internet though and the food was really good and affordable.
Locals are always hagging around the place, not a problem but with not being able to lock our room, felt a little unsafe as anybody can walk around.
Dogs from the backpackers will follow you around and protect you from unwanted people trying to sell you stuff on the beach! :) You have your personal guard dogs!
If you're out of options, just take you're on sheets or sleeping bag and don't look too closely at things...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Amapondo had the best showers....I had been traveling from Durban to Cape Town and staying in many places along the way.....amapondo showers were the best. I enjoyed my stay, lovely vibe and use of space..... I will go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed there with my girlfrriend and we had decent accommodation, but did not enjoy our sty. The beaches which where not close and Port St. Johns in general don't make you feel safe, as in many places in South Africa you are hassled and bothered. The backpackers is really excatly what it is called a small backpackers which is a bit dirty, noisy and has a drinking and stoners atmosphere. We have seen many single backpackers being loud and partying, but did not meet any interesting people nor had a good conversation. The upkeep lacked and if you where looking for a backpackers party place you may have been in the right place. I would not come back and can not recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amapondo Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amapondo Backpackers Lodge

Address: Second Beach Road | Wildcoast, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amapondo is Ama-azing. From the moment you walk in and meet their friendly pet donkey (who's a bit of a barfly), you'll know it's an Ama-Awesome spot. Amapondo is nestled on a hill on the verge of a tropical rain forest and only 2 minutes walk from a beautiful beach. Head down to sunbathe or plunge in the clear warm waters of the deep rock pools nearby. The African-themed rooms and deluxe private self-catering cottages all have their own unique design and style. The quirkily designed cottages have incredible views, are really comfortable and come at a price that you'll find hard to match. Turtle Cove has one of the best views on the Wild Coast from its upstairs bubble bath, whilst Crystal House, with its glass frontage, offers classic panoramic ocean views. Whether you want a quiet, relaxing break in your own piece of paradise, a base from which you can explore the natural beauty of the area, an adventure on one of their many tours, close interactions with locals, genuine cultural experiences, yoga lessons, a deep tissue massage, or a thumping all-out party at their buzzy bar, you'll find it at Amapondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Amapondo Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amapondo Hotel Port St Johns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.