We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service at an otherwise nice place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service at an otherwise nice place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

6 of us rented one of the chalets which had a great view. the main building was nice in a very rustic kind of way. however, in one of the bedrooms, the radiator is so loud that you couldn't sleep if you had the heat on. seeing as it dipped down to almost -20 Celsius, this was a real problem. when we mentioned it at the front desk, the first staff member was polite but unhelpful. when we next spoke to the manager on duty, she was not only rude and unhelpful but argumentative and aggressive as if somehow we were the problem. it was the worst customer service I have ever experienced at any hotel in the over 45 countries I have visited. re-inforced the negative stereotype about poor American customer service and manners. what a shame, for the resort itself was quite lovely. however, there are many other places to choose from so I strongly recommend looking for other options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear snadon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our hotel facility. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. I am sorry that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience because of the problem with heating in your room. Also, please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced with our team members. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and will help us improve for your next stay.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    342
    151
    53
    23
See reviews for
305
341
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a great trip to Lake Placid. Hotel was in a good location, was clean and the staff was very nice. The breakfast buffet was nice, but as always with motels, a bit price. The pool was good for the kids, although a bit cold. It would have been nice if the hot tub was bigger. Also, the gym was a bit limited, they should invest a bit more in that. We had dinner at the Boat House and it was really good and they provide a free shuttle to it. I would come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We value our guest’s opinions given that it only helps us to improve. I am glad to hear that your experience at our Boathouse restaurant was enjoyable. To all of your suggestions for improvement I will certainly pass along the information. Again, we thank you for your time and suggestions. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Have returned to this hotel three times. A comfortable feeling permeates the place. The staff makes one feel welcome and has been very helpful. One evening several of us went to the Great Room to enjoy the view and to play Scrabble. The atmosphere was great. Dinner at The Veranda Restaurant is highly recommended. Plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY! We are thrilled to hear that each and every time you stay with us it is thoroughly enjoyed! We value you as guest and look forward to hosting your stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a basic hotel if your looking for luxury this is not your place. Its average and not the cleanest. I saw a dog peeing on the hallway carpet. I like the location just steps away from main street. It is a nice properly with a pool and great view of the lake. I agree with the noisy too. We were awoken by an angry groom who made us feel like we picked the wrong place to stay. Security was on it but it was a little scary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY. I am displeased to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. While we are a pet friendly resort, I can assure you that once staff is made aware of for instance a dog doing its business on the floor they would clean it up right away. I am, however, pleased to see that you found our distance from town to be convenient for you. In regards to the incident with the angry groom I am glad to see that security was able to handle the situation and help keep everyone safe. I do hope that we see you again in the future so we can prove that we are the right resort destination for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was a great place to see and at the top of a hill to oversee a lake. The service there was great. I did expect more from the room for the price but overall, I would stay there again. Had shuttles schedules to all the destinations. It was a little loud with all the kids running around. It was a great time for a first time visit to Lake Placid and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to take advantage of the breathtaking views our property has to offer from being on top of the hill. We look forward to seeing you back again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westfield, ma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for a hockey tournament This is a great location. The rinks are within walking distance at the bottom of the hill , as are many shops and restaurants. The rooms here are very clean the pool area is very nice with a large area to gather. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant omelette and pasta bar were excellent. We were with a hockey team so it was a bit loud, if your looking for a quiet stay make sure there aren't any hockey tournaments. We would defiantly stay here and recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the review of our property! We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Hopefully the tournament went well for you all and I am glad to see that everything about our property was perfect for your team’s needs. We look forward to hosting your stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This Crowne Plaza is beautiful but don't stay in the winter. We have stayed many times and finally have had enough of the noisy hockey groups, children, and obnoxious parents that are constantly there in the winter. They actually run up and down halls and gather in groups outside of rooms and socialize at all hours. Loud banging room doors is an extra treat when trying to sleep!

Room Tip: I don't know any way to get a quiet room from December through end of February, early March
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am displeased to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stat with us. During the winter, Lake Placid does host a couple of hockey tournaments. Being a family friendly hotel, they do decide to stay here at times during these tournaments. However, they are not every weekend. In the future, please feel free to call the hotel directly to inquire about such events going on throughout the town. If not in the winter, we do hope to see you again in the spring, summer, or fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.