We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time & would love to go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Had a great time & would love to go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was a great place to see and at the top of a hill to oversee a lake. The service there was great. I did expect more from the room for the price but overall, I would stay there again. Had shuttles schedules to all the destinations. It was a little loud with all the kids running around. It was a great time for a first time visit to Lake Placid and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to take advantage of the breathtaking views our property has to offer from being on top of the hill. We look forward to seeing you back again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    301
    135
    43
    21
See reviews for
264
305
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westfield, ma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just stayed here for a hockey tournament This is a great location. The rinks are within walking distance at the bottom of the hill , as are many shops and restaurants. The rooms here are very clean the pool area is very nice with a large area to gather. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant omelette and pasta bar were excellent. We were with a hockey team so it was a bit loud, if your looking for a quiet stay make sure there aren't any hockey tournaments. We would defiantly stay here and recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the review of our property! We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Hopefully the tournament went well for you all and I am glad to see that everything about our property was perfect for your team’s needs. We look forward to hosting your stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This Crowne Plaza is beautiful but don't stay in the winter. We have stayed many times and finally have had enough of the noisy hockey groups, children, and obnoxious parents that are constantly there in the winter. They actually run up and down halls and gather in groups outside of rooms and socialize at all hours. Loud banging room doors is an extra treat when trying to sleep!

Room Tip: I don't know any way to get a quiet room from December through end of February, early March
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am displeased to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stat with us. During the winter, Lake Placid does host a couple of hockey tournaments. Being a family friendly hotel, they do decide to stay here at times during these tournaments. However, they are not every weekend. In the future, please feel free to call the hotel directly to inquire about such events going on throughout the town. If not in the winter, we do hope to see you again in the spring, summer, or fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We visited Lake Placid during the winter Olympics, so I'm not sure how much influence that had on our experience, but wow what a great place to stay!

We decided to go with a king bed room with a fireplace and a whirlpool. Admittedly it was a little pricey, but given that we save up and plan to spend during ski season, it was an easier pill to swallow. We decided on the whirlpool room based on planned skiing, knowing our full schedule would put us back to the hotel well after the pool/hot tub closed, and knew we'd need it to let the legs recover.

When we checked in we were informed we had been upgraded to a lake view room; very nice. We seemed to be in a much newer, up to date, section of the hotel. The room was easily one of the nicest we had ever stayed in, and could've easily cost more. We really liked the lodge style feel.

We did the Lake Placid Winter Challenge which, in short, is the general publics chance to try about a dozen Olympic events. The hotel is easily within walking distance of the majority of the Olympic venues; the back parking looks over the top of the Herb Brooks Arena.

There are plenty of dining options both in the hotel (breakfast was very good) and right down the street. You can easily walk the main drag of Lake Placid in both directions with no trouble.

What a great place, hope to someday go back. I would recommend, if possible, visiting during the winter Olympics. The atmosphere is just awesome!

Room Tip: Looks like it'd be fun to visit anytime, but I highly recommend visiting during the winter Olymp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review of the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY! We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the events taking place during the winter Olympics! Lake Placid sure is a special place during that time. In regards to the hotel I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed the upgrade given to you at check-in! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visit Lake Placid often, and usually stay at The Golden Arrow (which is also lovely and dog-friendly). Our Newfie pup goes everywhere with her, so dog-friendly accommodations are a must. We found a few pluses at Crowne Plaza that we did not have at The Golden Arrow, such as a lower pet deposit, more freedom (our room opened to a potty area - had to take an elevator at the Arrow, and were more limited as to where she could accompany us in the hotel). The room was very comparable to the room at the Arrow and considerably less costly. The location is very convenient (on a hill overlooking the lake) and the views are incredible. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Plus, the pool was nice and warm! We had a rowdy neighbor and one call to the front desk quieted the fray (we were traveling with our two young children, and any sleep we can all get is vital). I was a little disappointed with the housekeeping, as I tip well. That said, there were 4 of us to be fair.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am glad to see that there were many experiences that caused you to enjoy our resort over others in town! As a Torchbearer Award winning resort our staff prides themselves on delivering top level customer service and we are thrilled to see that it shows. In regards to your housekeeping concern I would like to apologize and I will definitely be passing along the information to our housekeeping manager. We hope to see you back in the area soon and look forward to hosting your stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was a busy time and I think the hotel was likely full. The hotel is up a steep hill, that can get icy and some of the front desk staff could be friendlier. The 2 queen bed rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Bath products are of good quality unfortunately water pressure in the shower was weak. The great room is very comfortable and views are spectacular. Several other areas with couches to lounge on. The pool was greatly enjoyed by all of us, as was the jacuzzi. There is onsite laundry. Views in general from this property are spectacular. I feel the staff could be more friendly and outgoing. Overall though we had a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy our spectacular views we have to offer from being located on top of the hill. I apologize for the service from our front desk. As a Torchbearer Award winning resort we take pride in providing top level customer service and I apologize that this was not presented to you. However, I am glad that they rest of your stay was delightful and we hope to see you back soon and look forward to hosting your stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've just returned from our second stay at this hotel, and are so impressed with all that it has to offer. The views and decor are outstanding; the Great Room and bar are so comfortable and welcoming! The entire staff - from the people at the reservations desk, to the bartenders, to the waiters and waitresses, to the cleaning staff - are pleasant, friendly, helpful, and attentive. The cleanliness of the entire hotel is remarkable; everything (including carpets,plants, old skis and bobsleds used as decor, windows, you name it!) is dust-free and sparkling. The room was comfortable and quiet, with a lovely view, and the location of the hotel is perfect. Will definitely look forward to our next stay there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY. We are thrilled to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction! I am glad to hear that you are excited to come back and we are glad to have the opportunity to make your stay even more wonderful the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.