We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dog-Friendly Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Peru, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Dog-Friendly Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visit Lake Placid often, and usually stay at The Golden Arrow (which is also lovely and dog-friendly). Our Newfie pup goes everywhere with her, so dog-friendly accommodations are a must. We found a few pluses at Crowne Plaza that we did not have at The Golden Arrow, such as a lower pet deposit, more freedom (our room opened to a potty area - had to take an elevator at the Arrow, and were more limited as to where she could accompany us in the hotel). The room was very comparable to the room at the Arrow and considerably less costly. The location is very convenient (on a hill overlooking the lake) and the views are incredible. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Plus, the pool was nice and warm! We had a rowdy neighbor and one call to the front desk quieted the fray (we were traveling with our two young children, and any sleep we can all get is vital). I was a little disappointed with the housekeeping, as I tip well. That said, there were 4 of us to be fair.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am glad to see that there were many experiences that caused you to enjoy our resort over others in town! As a Torchbearer Award winning resort our staff prides themselves on delivering top level customer service and we are thrilled to see that it shows. In regards to your housekeeping concern I would like to apologize and I will definitely be passing along the information to our housekeeping manager. We hope to see you back in the area soon and look forward to hosting your stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    326
    143
    47
    22
See reviews for
283
324
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was a busy time and I think the hotel was likely full. The hotel is up a steep hill, that can get icy and some of the front desk staff could be friendlier. The 2 queen bed rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Bath products are of good quality unfortunately water pressure in the shower was weak. The great room is very comfortable and views are spectacular. Several other areas with couches to lounge on. The pool was greatly enjoyed by all of us, as was the jacuzzi. There is onsite laundry. Views in general from this property are spectacular. I feel the staff could be more friendly and outgoing. Overall though we had a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy our spectacular views we have to offer from being located on top of the hill. I apologize for the service from our front desk. As a Torchbearer Award winning resort we take pride in providing top level customer service and I apologize that this was not presented to you. However, I am glad that they rest of your stay was delightful and we hope to see you back soon and look forward to hosting your stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've just returned from our second stay at this hotel, and are so impressed with all that it has to offer. The views and decor are outstanding; the Great Room and bar are so comfortable and welcoming! The entire staff - from the people at the reservations desk, to the bartenders, to the waiters and waitresses, to the cleaning staff - are pleasant, friendly, helpful, and attentive. The cleanliness of the entire hotel is remarkable; everything (including carpets,plants, old skis and bobsleds used as decor, windows, you name it!) is dust-free and sparkling. The room was comfortable and quiet, with a lovely view, and the location of the hotel is perfect. Will definitely look forward to our next stay there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY. We are thrilled to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction! I am glad to hear that you are excited to come back and we are glad to have the opportunity to make your stay even more wonderful the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Relaxing clean and comfortable.We decided to come to Lake placid for the weekend of our Anniversary for a quiet get away. While checking in we were told that our room had been upgraded to a Lake view suite. We had just booked a king room with a fire place. So that was a nice surprise!! Our room was awesome! Clean, quiet , comfortable and relaxing. Great view. All of the staff were friendly and helpful with anything we needed. Room service was fast and the restaurant and bar staff were also great. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review and for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! I am very glad to hear that you appreciated the upgrade given to you by our front desk staff upon check in and found the room to be clean, quiet, comfortable, and relaxing! We are looking forward to hosting your visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in one of the tower suites in the Adirondack Wing. The room was beautiful - very clean, great views of the surrounding area and nice amenities with the full kitchen and two bathrooms. The staff was friendly, the location in the center of town was perfect and there was plenty of free parking. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY. We are thrilled to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit with us! I am glad that you felt our staff is friendly and that the location was perfect! We look forward to seeing you back in the area again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is beautiful & very clean. We had booked a deluxe fireplace lake view room, when we got there they had upgraded us to a 1 bdrm. suite with mountian views. At 1st we were really hesitant because we wanted to over look the village & the lake. Boy were we surprised!!! The view from our suite was INCREDIBLE! It had west views so watching the sunsets was beautiful. The size of the 1 bdrm. suite was impressive. The Empire Winter Games was going on & the halls were full of kids, but when we got up to our room in the Adironack Wing & it was a romantic peaceful getaway. The bar/lounge area was very comfortable & also had wonderful veiws of the lake & village.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! I am very pleased to see that you fully enjoyed your upgrade given to you at check in and were able to have a romantic and peaceful getaway! It is really nice to hear how we helped to make your stay memorable. Again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to hosting your next visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I love visiting Lake Placid during the Winter Carnival in Saranac and this year instead of renting private home, we stayed at the Crowne Plaza. The location was perfect, easy walk down the hill to town (the walk back up the hill is not as easy!). I upgraded our room to a deluxe king with fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and balcony. Everything in the room was as I expected and nice and quite, despite the large amount of kids staying there for the Empire State Games. It was lovely to watch the fireworks for the close of the Games from our room! The lodge area was perfect for unwinding after walking or skiing. I wish the outside fireplace had been working. It would have been so nice to make s'mores out there. ;) I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY! I am so glad to hear that you went and enjoyed the Saranac Lake Winter Carnival! I am also ecstatic to see that you had decided to give the Crowne Plaza a go this year for your visit and that we didn’t disappoint. Thank you so much for recommending our property and we look forward to hosting your visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.