We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Off Season Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Off Season Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the second year of an off-season guy trip on the hotel's golf deal. Everyone wants their own room so it gets a little pricier but the hotel is well maintained and there are many lakeside rooms overlooking mirror lake. Both the mountain and links courses are extremely quiet and a pleasure to play. Of note all the staff at the hotel and courses were friendly and courteous and made the trip a total pleasure. I would highly recommend except I hope no one else shows up when I'm there. Restaurants at Hotel and Boathouse across the lake offered quality food and service.

Room Tip: Rooms in original hotel are a little more dated then Adirondack Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your golf and stay package. The best pricing for our golf & stay packages is based off of double occupancy. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    324
    143
    47
    22
See reviews for
282
324
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had to stay here because of a conference. I decided to book a couple of extra nights to make this a much needed vacation. I read trip advisor reviews and because of the complaints, I asked the manager (Scott) for assistance. His usual answer to complaints was to “ask for what you want” or to ask for him. So, that is what I did when I booked the room. I paid the highest price and was very clear about what I wanted. However, we were met with a nasty woman called Cindy who told us that she could care less about our request. She assigned rooms for HER convenience and put us in a handicap room (someone else probably could have used that room-maybe the hotel would need to upgrade someone). We would have been happier with a lake view room on a higher floor (what I asked and paid for). The room was priced because of the “fireplace” (poor fake of lighted plastic with flickering foil-ugly). The room was small and did not even have a desk. The TV did not work very well. The manager told me the next day that “we will do better next time when you come back”. That is what he always says on trip advisor and I told him that we would NEVER come back.
We moved to the hotel across the road and it was wonderful (Golden Arrow). The room was so much more comfortable (the basic room at the Golden Arrow was larger-big desk, sitting area with nice sofa) and the view was awesome. The cost was much less (one third).
I do not recommend the Crown Plaza. The staff is rude (especially Cindy, but Scott was not helpful). The food is horrible (disgusting dinners on both nights). The rooms are not that great.

Room Tip: Do not stay here-no good lake views. If you want a nice view-stay at the Golden Arrow (and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. I apologize that you did not find our Deluxe King Lakeview room at 425 square feet large enough for your liking as well as our flat screen TV's with HD programming. As you mentioned our hotel was sold out and we had no flexibility to move you to a larger room or to a higher floor lakeview room and for that I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weekend and 2 weekdays at the beginning of May. Hotel was crowded with event arrendees on the weekend and nearly empty on the weekdays. Weekday rate for a suite looking at mirror lake and the Olympic Ski Jump was $99. Many attractions, nice staff, great stakes in dinning room. Excellent wireless coverage everywhere. Small indoor pool. The only drawback was breakfast in the restaurant and room service didn't start until 7 am, that includes coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view suite. They have some three bed rooms that are layed out very strangely. Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I was glad to see that you enjoyed the Great Free WiFi coverage at our hotel as we have been working hard to upgrade and improve our signal throughout the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on our next visit to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took a Girlie weekend at this hotel with a great rate for late April. We got a two room suite for $199, slept 6. The room was excellent, very clean and lovely linens. The pool and hot tub were superb and facilities great, we used the Boathouse Restaurant for an evening meal (free shuttle to and from hotel) and had breakfast buffet style in the dining room, both were good value for the level of hotel. The Boathouse is stunning setting for a special meal, try to book a window table.
All in all an excellent hotel BUT.........
It is perched atop a very, very steep hill. To get to the village you have to walk down and back, no avoiding it BUT once again, there is a free shuttle to and from the village if you're prepared to chill out and wait. We waited!!!
I would recommend this hotel for all users.

Room Tip: Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation of our hotel and restaurants. I was glad to see that you were able to get away with your friends and have a rejuvenating stay while enjoying our indoor pool and hot tub. Thank you for your comments from your meal at our Boathouse Restaurant and the food and views and the free shuttle that we offer from the hotel. We look forward to being your destination of choice in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location at the top of the hill in downtown Lake Placid provides amazing views, and easy access to the shopping and restaurants in town. The staff is extremely warm and welcoming. This is a popular destination for hockey tournament guests, which can at times be a little loud so you might want to confirm with the hotel for the weekend you might be booking whether they will be hosting hockey players.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I appreciate your comments about our staff and I will share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I attended a conference recently and my husband decided to come with me. This place is wonderful. Price was great for April. I am sure the rooms are much higher during summer. Hotel is very decorative as a woodsy lodge and the views are breathtaking. Good service. Boat House resturant great and just a short shuttle ride from the hotel. The shuttle is free and convienent. Conference rooms are nice and also made a great meeting place if you are thinking of hosting a meeting. We loved this hotel and resort!

Room Tip: Stay in the Adirondack wing, very nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your conference stay. I was glad that you and your husband were able to enjoy our facilities and our Boathouse Restaurant. The rates are lower in April than they would in the summertime but all of our amenities will be in full swing including all of our golf courses and our wonderful private beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel let t us check In early, it was friendly service and the restaurant food was good . I Highly recommend this to anyone staying in lake placid. Great pool and hot tub and work out room . Thanks for all the hard work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at our resort. We appreciate your recommendation and your comments about our hotel and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.