We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAN/AM Hockey Tournament” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“CAN/AM Hockey Tournament”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location for youth hockey tournament. Best location to Olympic Ice Rinks. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean but could use updating. Food very good at on site restaurant. Main Street has wonderful shopping. Don't think you need more than long weekend here to see and do all that is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay during a Can/Am hockey weekend. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    345
    152
    53
    23
See reviews for
306
343
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at the Crowne Plaza Resort. The staff was very helpful and nice. Our king room was upgraded to a suite --- what a great surprise! Room was very clean and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable.

Restaurant recommendations from the bartender were a hit. Loved The Cottage and Brown Dog. Skiing was great too. Our timing was great as we got 15 inches of fresh powder!

It was a great first visit to Lake Placid and Whiteface. Will definitely return to the Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent ski and stay vacation at our resort. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your room and the wonderful conditions at Whiteface Mountain. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you on your second trip to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hotel, very nice rooms in the new wing. Great time, stayed for Eastern Synchro Championships. Only down side is the BIG hill to walk or drive up, especially in the cold weather and snow. They do a good job with keeping the hill ice free so it had little impact on our stay and got the heart rate up, walking up and down a few times per day.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing. Join the club program for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for review of your stay. Sitting up on the hill over the Olympic Center provides us with the best views in town with still being right in the heart of Lake Placid. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed mid-march, and it suited our needs perfectly, all what you would need for a rest from a hard day on the slopes. The staff was excellent, and in particular housekeeping, who seemed to embody the term hospitality. Sure it is dated, but you don't throw something out if it works just because it is older.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to relax when you returned from the slopes. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are frequent flyers when it came to the hotel. My family are pretty familar with hotels in Lake Placid, and have been traveling there for vacations for over 20 years. We decided to spend a night here on a Saturday night, on a return trip from Cape Cod. Being the middle of the summer, prices were high, so we decided to book thru an alternative website, for a better rate. Now in saying this, our better rate was still $200.00 USD a room (X2). We arrived and were first informed that our rooms were still not ready, I can't remember the time, but it was not to far off from the displayed check in times. Anyhow, back to my big complaint, we arrived, and went to lay on our freshly made beds((((????))))), and discovered cookie, or some form of crumb in my daughters bed. Which was a clear indication that the sheets to this bed were not changed. We informed the front desk, and they sent house keeping to our room, but there was no real apology for the inconvenience. Then to top things off, the faucet/plumbing in our washroom had a severe leak, to the point we had to lay towels on the floor so our 5 year old didn't slip. Now, we didn't complain about the flood in our room while we were there, as we were still on vacation, and already complained about the crumbs in our bed. I later wrote to the Crowne head office, who then directed me to the hotel manager. This is the killer, instead of an apology, I was informed that because I reserved the room through a third party website hotel provider, my complaint could not be processed!!!!???!!!!! The hotel lost my busisness, and word of mouth travels a long way. Stay out of this dump! I've been served by better managers at Mcdonalds.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments about your stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. The Crowne Plaza website offers the lowest available prices for our hotel that are on the internet. We do offer a 4 PM check in time and we work hard in the extremely busy months of the summer to make sure that we have all of our rooms available at that time. I apologize that you experience issue with your room and that the person that came to fix the issues did not offer you an apology. Please contact me at scott@lakeplacidcp.com so that we can obtain additional details regarding your stay. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Lake Placid again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thai is our second year staying at the Crown Plaza for hockey tournaments. I think it was better this year, the room was very clean and comfortable. The food was decent and my son and hie teammates enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor in the new wing if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was in Lake Placid for Synchronized Skating Eastern Sectional Championships and this was the hotel that my daughter's team was staying in. 2 years ago we were on Main Street in a hotel that I wish I had reviewed at the time because it was the most horrible experience (I won't review now, maybe they did work) but this was the complete opposite!

It is a beautiful resort and I'm sure in the summer months it is just as amazing. We had a double room that overlooked the lake. It looked updated and had a flat screen TV. It had a small balcony. The room was roomy, beautifully appointed and the beds were comfortable. The heating unit worked fine and there wasn't any loud noises from the hall or adjoining rooms. The bathroom was roomy. There were plenty of plugs in the nightstand for chargers & devices.

The rink is next door, down the hill and and the main street with all the restaurants and shops are right there too. There is a shuttle, but if you don't mind walking the hill is great exercise going to the rink or town and back.

We got food from the restaurant both days, it was very good and the service was great. We did not use the pool, but did take a look and it was being used. It looked clean and the kids were having a great time.

I would definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza in Lake Placid & would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Wow, Thank you for your review and for your recommendation. I was glad to see that you enjoyed all of the aspects of the hotel from your room to the restaurants to our location in the beautiful town of Lake Placid. You posted some wonderful pictures of the resort with all of the snow. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.