We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints from us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No complaints from us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our stay at the Crowne Plaza resort went very well the week of 3/24 - 3/27. I'd say we have no valid complaints with this place.
The rooms are standard hotel rooms but very adequate and comfortable. The pool area served it's purpose & we only saw happy kids there. The lobby is great for after dinner drinks by the fire. The location was good - for the views and walking distance to town. And we didn't see/hear/smell any pets even though this was a pet friendly place (so I read from other reviewers). Fortunately, there were no real crowds during our stay so that perhaps made all the difference.
Our main purpose of the week was to ski Whiteface - and we were lucky to have great spring skiing conditions during our stay.
And again no crowds or events taking place so we didn't wait in line for anything -- oh except on the kids learning center side - the cafeteria service there was painfully slow - recommend that you choose the base lodge for food. And the sign up for kids lessons is very involved so show up an hour before the lesson to get registered.
For food we recommend the Great Aidrondack Steak & Seafood brewery in town which was excellent. Tried a few other pubs /sports bars around town but no success i.e., nothing special menu's or atmosphere... and call ahead to make sure restaurants are open - this time of year not all were.

Everyone's experience will be different based on time of year, events happening locally, weather, etc - but if all comes together like our week did you'll be happy you chose this place.

  • Liked — pillows, beds, front lobby/bar
  • Disliked — If you go when there are events (hockey, conferences, etc) expect trouble with parking.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    342
    151
    53
    23
See reviews for
305
341
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

The Crowne Plaza has a nice view of Mirror Lake and is in Lake Placid proper. They have a pool and hot tub which are still the same from their former time as a Holiday Inn. The kids still loved the pool even though it needs to be upgraded.
The CP is on top of a hill and you can request a room with a view of Mirror Lake. It's an easy walk down to the main street of Lake Placid where there is shopping and lots of restaurants. The Olympic rinks are also at the bottom of the hill very close and so is the Speed Skating Oval which is open for public skating at night.
If you are looking for a good restaurant nearby drive over to the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery--good food and brews.
The beds were very nice and the service was solid too.
Overall this is a great base camp for all of Lake Placid. The free shuttle bus stops right at the hotel and takes you to Whiteface for skiing & boarding during the season. This was great in case some of your party wants to leave early from the mountain--It runs pretty regularly too.

  • Liked — Location and views of Mirror Lake
  • Disliked — Pool and hot tup are okay, but need to be upgraded
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

I recently took my two teenage kids and their friend to Lake Placid for a winter holiday break from Mardi Gras. A week and a half of Mardi Gras is enough particularly if you have lived in New Orleans for decades.

We chose the Crown Plaza site unseen and with little info except for the hotel website and the mixed reviews on this site. The fact that the reviews were mixed prompted me to write this as our experience was great, particularly at $149 per night for a double.

When we arrived on Fat Tuesday evening, it was 44 degrees and raining so I was assuming I had made another bonehead vacation decision. But the hotel reception staff assured us it would get cold and snow that night and provided detailed, up to the minute weather conditions and ski conditions at Whiteface which cheered us greatly. They also promptly provided all the necessary toiletries for a night until I could get to the drug store the next day, as I had cleverly forgotten my toiletries kit. Then, when the main dining room was closed for a private party unless we wanted to wait 40 minutes, upon hearing of our plight, the manager on duty immediately opened the Great Room for us to dine by the fire place even though we were the only ones in there. That was a treat for the kids after a long journey.

True to the hotel prediction, that night it snowed about 10-12 inches, and for the next few days we were able to ski at the nearby Cascades Cross-country Ski Trails (Looked like the Chronicles of Narnia!), ski at Whiteface and Tube at Saranac Lake and dog sled right at the foot of the hill where the hotel lies. The hotel was also conveniently located within walking distance for skating at the Olympic 400 Meter Oval, breakfast at the Bluesberry Bakery and Adirondack Bagelry, dinner at the Great Adirondack Brewery and several other restaurants as well as the shops.

So the location was great, the rooms were fine with a nice view of the Lake, the food was good at the hotel and elsewhere, service was great and we had a good time. Yes there were boys' hockey teams there which did prevent access to the pool but that was no big deal. Definitely stay here!

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — POOL ACCESS-TOO CROWDED WITHYOUNG HOCKEY PLAYERS
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

We attempted to stay at the Crowne Plaza the night of February 23, 2008. We walked in without a reservation and were able to rent a standard room. The room was clean but definitely no whistles or bells. After dinner we were walking down the hallway to our room and heard barking from the room across the hall from ours. We waited for a couple of minutes and the dog continued to bark non-stop. We went into our room hoping that we would not be able to hear the dog bark once inside. Alas, we still heard the barking dog. I called the front desk and asked if dogs were allowed in the hotel. I was told the hotel is dog friendly. We complained about the dog and was told they would try to do something about it. However, my husband was so upset by the incident we decided to leave. The representative at the front desk was very nice about it and said the hotel is trying to cater to wealthy customers who travel with their pets. That is great for them but bad for people who want a quiet night sleep or for people with allergies or people who are afraid of dogs. I do have to compliment the staff on how they handled the situation but it would have been nice to know the hotel was "dog friendly" upon check in.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed in the newer "Adirondack Wing" and the rooms were quite nice. However, the main part of the hotel was taken over by families in town for a hockey tournament. Management told me it was like this every weekend during hockey season. The worst part was that to get to the dining room or pool we had to navigate through a hallway of partying parents in the evening. They were sitting in the halllways drinking and enjoying themselves. Our children were quite intimitaded when they ventured out to the pool. The pool was so crowded they didn't bother staying.

It was clear that management tolerated the hockey parents behavior and for that I was quite disappointed. At $269 night for a double room I expected and deserved a much better experience.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Hotel had little control over rude behavior of other guests
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Traveling from Seattle to Albany and then renting a car w/ our two pups makes for a long day. The four of us crashed in our warm room until a knock on the door some hours later... When we arrived the staff took quite kindly to our dogs Butch and Sundance. I had mentioned to my wife that at some point we needed to get some food for the dogs. When I answered the knock at our door we were so surprised that the manager had in a plastic bag some tasty dog food.! He had gone above and beyond and just made us feel so at home. So thanks again to the staff from Tod, AMY,Butch &Sundance

  • Liked — Location and their generosity
  • Disliked — The big hill when you had to walk
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

i have traveled the world and stayed at many places. I've been traveling to Lake Placid every winter for over a decade. I have a choice to stay wherever i want and i will not stay anywhere else but the Crown Plaza, or one of their properties. The front desk answered my questions promptly and took care of my needs. The management is courtious and the rooms were clean. Again, i have a choice of which hotel/condo to stay at every season and i have had nothing but positive things to say about the Crown Plaza crew and their properties.

I'll be staying with them again in 2009.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.