We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's all we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Placid Bay Inn to your Saves list
Placid Bay Inn
2187 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1013   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“That's all we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We only needed a place to sleep after skiing so this was perfect for us. Clean and cozy room, easy check in, excellent service at the front desk. The Inn is not too far from the main road where all the shops and restaurants are but we drove and parked at the municipal parking when we went out dining as it was cold. In the summer it would be an easy walk. This place was the best deal we could find: we paid $109 a night for a room with a queen bed and had a discount on the ski lift tickets.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a good time in Lake Placid and most importantly, you enjoyed your stay with us at the Placid Bay Inn. We hope to have you back for a return visit, perhaps when its warmer and you can enjoy our outdoor pool and canoes on the lake. Happy New Year! All our best the Dramm Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
109
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Country Comfort Cottage during Columbus Day weekend. Let me start by saying that this cottage can hold 4 people comfortably; however, we enjoy having plenty of space. The staff was helpful and kind which is something I think is important. The cottage was located with a fantastic view of the bay; I spent the afternoons on the porch drinking a glass of wine. The porch was another one of the reasons I had decided to book that particular cottage (my favorite part). The cottage has its own kitchen which was very clean. You can bring your own breakfast foods if you would like, although there is a McDonalds a quick walk away if thats what you decide to do. The bathroom is a bit small but completely manageable. The bedrooms are upstars, they were mostly clean. There we several stains on the bedspreads, not a deal breaker.
Placid Bay is in a good location. You can walk into town if you so choose but wear sneakers or comfortable shoes. The walk home will be uphill and it is not that fun in windy weather. There are plenty of restaurants in the area; we enjoyed Cafe Rustica (good pizza). I unfortunately got sick after eating at Pan Dolce; lesson learned...no more wild mushroom risotto for me. My husband enjoyed his meal at Pan Dolce so I was just unlucky! Placid Bay Inn was very enjoyable and I will return one day to enjoy that wonderful view and crisp air. If you are looking for a clean relaxing place to stay while visiting Lake Placid you should consider Placid Bay Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree with you about the porch with the Country Comfort Cottage. Since this cottage is closest to the lake, you have a bit more privacy and its so peaceful and relaxing. The porch is a perfect spot to view the abundant wildlife in our quiet bay. Often the Heron come in to feed in the morning and early eveings and even an Osprey or Loons as well.
Our location is best suited for those who like being close to town, but not part of the hustle and bustle of downtown Main St. We are conveniently located with many dining spots as you mentioned, while having a more peaceful backyard setting, directly on the quiet Bay of Paradox on Lake Placid.
We also take great pride in our cleanliness and having the accommodations and grounds in tip top shape. As far as the bedspread that had the small stain (bleach mark), that has also been replaced. We replace all of the Comforter sets on an as needed basis, to always keep a fresh and updated look in our cottages. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you as our return guest. Happy New year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Lake Placid for a conference at High Peaks Resort...However High Peaks was booked solid in July for this period of days. Placid Bay was close by and based on the description of the room on-line had a much better price point. I was pleased to find this alternative and really enjoyed our time there.

We had a very lengthy stay. 10 days, so I believe I was able to see what the hotel offers and note all the good points as well as make a few suggestions.

Overall we were well pleased with our stay. The staff is friendly, conversational, and willing to make adjustments for late arrivals, etc. We were very late arriving, after an 11 hour drive...and I love the fact that in this day and age, there is still the honor system in place. Denise left our room unlocked, the key on the table and told us just to check in the next morning. Lovely service...and very appreciated for those moments you just want to crash into your pillow.

The outside of the hotel is very quaint, and vintage. But extremely solid and well-cared for. I love the landscaping, lovely manicured flower beds out back by the lake. This shows how well you love this little place, and the affection is obviously mutual.

The rooms are quite cozy..(smallish) and after 10 days I was ready to be in a room all by myself for a bit! :-) Nothing was mis-represented on-line or in the pictures...but it is a room based on a bygone sense of design. Everything is tightly fitted and there isn't a lot of extra room around the bed or table. My husband brought his road bike for some recreational cycling and finding a decent place for the bike in the room without leaning it up against something I wanted access to in the next five minutes was a challenge.

The bathroom was beautifully redone, the fixtures and tub were sparkling and looked brand new even though the renovation was at least a year or two ago. I love that there was a full-size medicine cabinet for us to use to store our numerous toiletries for our extended stay.

The bed was surprisingly comfortable, and had a nice thick topper on it. There were plenty of pillows, and everything was freshly laundered and smelled nice and fresh. None of that "questionable" bedding you would see at other discounted hotel/motels.

The kitchenette was perfectly stocked for two people. Toaster, coffee maker, mini-fridge, utensils, cutting board, knife, bowls, dish pan and drainer, etc. were all available to us.

Housekeeping was wonderful, and we tipped accordingly. After a long day at conference, it was such a joy to come back to a room that had been tidied up, cleaned, and our breakfast dishes were always washed and put away. Marvelous!

A few minor suggestions.
during the next renovation, please consider adding some insulation to the walls. We stayed over two busy weekends, and our neighbors on both sides were considerably "noisy" on several occasions. Particularly late at night, and sometimes there was little left to the imagination as to their activity. Also plumbing noises could be quite loud on occasion, so much so that we had to shut closet and bathroom doors in order to mute the pipe noises.

If possible invest in a water saving shower head. It increases water pressure delivered, while reducing overall usage. My thick hair needed a little more oomph to get the conditioner all the way out. But everything worked and I can't really complain

We really did enjoy our stay, and would definitely come back again, the next time without needing to have dressy clothes. I recommend Placid Bay for anyone wising to find a good place at a fairly reasonable price.

Room Tip: Stairs are pretty steep only those with strong contitutions need apply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived mid week late afternoon and thought we found a real gem, lovely room, friendly staff, excellent rate, could not be better. By next morning wished ourselves elsewhere. Before dawn we woke to a loud rumbling and thought perhaps an armed invasion was taking place. We then discovered that the street in front of the hotel is a truck detour. This appears to be short term, the detour signs and stoplights are the portable type, but for the time being it seems trucks in the area are being sent this way and because the intersection is rather tight they must sit and idle until they can move forward. As they sat there idling the noise was such we actually had to raise our voices to hear each other over morning coffee. One heavily loaded semi actually shook the building as it sat at the red light. Gravel trucks from the construction site up the road start before 8:00 and roll all day. Although the hotel itself is lovely I cannot recommend it until the traffic situation is rectified. This is unfortunate for the owner, the property is well groomed and the rooms very clean and of course the traffic is beyond his control, but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were on vacation in the Adirondacks and decided to take a trip to Lake Placid on Friday night Sept 21, and see if we could get a room. After a couple of enquiries and expensive quotes, we happened upon Placid Bay Inn. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. We had a queen room with a very clean and roomy bathroom and a view of the lake. It was inexpensive and just what we needed. Adirondack chairs by the lake out the back to watch the sun set and hear the wildlife, boats to take out if we wanted a paddle. We'll definitely be back to stay here. We really recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable last minute getaway. Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation of our Inn. Being a family run business for 32 years, we have a great number of repeat customers; we most certainly look forward to adding you as one of them. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with others. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I chose the Inn based on Ratings and comments in Trip Advisor. The room I had was clean, but very small on the upper level. I would rate it a step above a Motel6 or Super 8 motel in terms of quality, but certainly not to the B&B standards I've experienced elsewhere throughout the US and Canada. Also, this is the only place I've stayed recently that didn't include breakfast. And since the local breakfast places don't open til 9, that only left McDonalds for an early brekkie. Not how I like to start my day, but better than nothing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We are disappointed to read that although your stay with us was, "good", it wasn't "great". We pride ourselves in advertising our Inn as accurately as possible through correct verbage along with actual photos of the various accommodations we offer, as to not disappoint our customers. We are an Inn, NOT a B&B, unfortunately perhaps this was misunderstood. Although we do not provide meals at our Inn, there are in fact, several breakfast spots less than a 5 min walk from us. Despite it not being our "peak" season in Lake Placid, these establishments open up normally between 6- 7:00am. Lastly, the room the customer refers to as being very small, is one of our most economical rooms, and is advertised as being "cozy", along with photos. We find despite the size of some of these rooms they tend to be the most popular, especially for our "value" based clientele. We appreciate your opinion, and value your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

...I was able to share with my cousin last week. We researched a number of hotels in the area and decided upon the reviews we read to give the Placid Bay Inn a try. We were not disappointed!! We shared one of the kitchenette rooms and found it to be very clean and nicely laid out. Our host was informative and friendly and quick to ask if there was anything needed when we would see her during our stay. Really enjoyed sipping coffee lake side, paddling about in the canoe, and watching the ducks wandering around the lakeshore. I'm looking forward to a return trip in the future and sharing this gem with my husband.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with others. We are so glad to read you had a very nice and relaxing time and our property was exactly what you were looking for. We look forward to having you back, next time with your husband. Many thanks again for your kind words; as a family run Inn for 32 years these mean a great deal:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Address: 2187 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Placid Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.