We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and value have stayed consistent over the years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Placid Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Placid Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Placid Bay Inn
2187 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1013   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Pelham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality and value have stayed consistent over the years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here for the past 6 or 7 years. The property is extremely well maintained and Denise and her family are most gracious and helpful. The grounds are beautifully manicured and there is nothing more relaxing than sitting by the bay,in an Adirondack chair, watching the ducks meander by.
The positive reviews of Placid Bay Inn are all quite accurate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    45
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
80
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

For the past decade, my daughter and I have been coming to Placid Bay Inn. We travel to Lake Placid twice each summer and stay in this quaint hotel located right on the shores of Lake Placid. We originally chose this hotel because it's location, but continue to return because of its owners. The Dramm family has ALWAYS welcomed us as if we were family and we look forward to seeing them each year!! :) Each and every time, our room has been clean, the grounds are perfectly landscaped, and our stay has been comfortable and happy. Anything we need from an alarm clock, to a canoe paddle, to advice on cool local hiking spots is given with a smile and heart felt warmth. The high level of consistency of our "Placid Bay home" is impeccable and keeps us coming back. I am proud to say that many, many family memories are attached to this beautiful, warm, and friendly place. We hope to keep coming back to our home away from home for years to come!!! (PS- Can't forget to mention the BEAUTIFUL view of Whiteface Mountain right from the hotel's lawn! Just PERFECT!!)

Room Tip: The Dramm family is VERY accomodating! Just ask for what you'd like and they will do everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed for two nights in February 2011. The Inn was easy to find, check in was a breeze and the room was very clean and comfortable. We appreciated the mini-kitchen and coffee maker. We stayed in one of the main floor rooms with parking right at our door.

It was close to downtown, (like most places around Lake Placid) and close to the grocery store too. The bed was pretty comfortable, lots of closet space and the bathroom must've been recently updated. It was bright and lots of room and a great shower head! lol.

Despite being a two level hotel, we didn't hear much noise. A bit of walking around the deck upstairs but mostly within reasonable times so it didn't bother us. Check out was very easy too, and we had no complaints about our two nights at the Placid Bay Inn. I would book there again when I go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at the Placid Bay inn in June. The weather was terrible. It rained almost during all our vacation, but we enjoyed the place. Our room wasn't huge, but it was clean. I find it's not too expensive for what you get and you can use their canoes. Next time I will go for a waterfront room because the main street is very busy. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
We will go there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The welcome when we arrived was extremely friendly, and the room was very clean, but the bed was downright awful. It mattress was little better than a cot mattress. Both my husband and I ended up in a great deal of pain by morning. The bathroom looked like it was newly remodeled, but the bathtub/shower is extremely narrow, and the accordion shower door protrudes into the already narrow space, even when it's closed, so that you can't face the shower head without your shoulders pushing against both the wall and the shower door. Consequently, it's not very easy to manouver around in the shower. The price of the room was reasonable, but I've rated it low on value, because it doesn't matter how cheap it is if you can't get a good night's sleep. I wouldn't stay here again because the bed was so bad.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in a room with one queen bed. The staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable, and the property was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed sitting out back looking at the lake and mountains, using the canoe (which is free and they supply life jackets for both adults and children), and walking to the village frequently. It's also close to a grocery store, mini golf, and other restaurants that aren't right in the village. We'd happily stay at Placid Bay Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We first visited the Placid Bay Inn when my now 18 year-old daughter was two and just returned from our 10th visit. We have never considered staying anywhere else in Lake Placid .Denise, the owner, has always been helpful and cooperative.The room inside are typical hotel furnishings, but the beauty right outside the door is far from typical. Denise provides Adirondack chairs and a picnic table where one can sit and marvel at nature at it's finest. Placid Bay Inn is right on Lake Placid (which is made very clear...Lake Placid not Mirror Lake) with a beautiful view of Whiteface Mountain. Canoes are available free of charge. Within walking distance is a boat rental facility where one can rent a motor boat for tubing, water-skiing, etc( Motor boats are not allowed on Mirror Lake.). It is absolutely possible to walk into town, but there are municipal lots available for those who wish to drive. We know that we will return to the Placid Bay Inn again in the future. If Denise allowed pets, we would give it 10 stars !!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Address: 2187 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Placid Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.