We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view-moderate service-inconvenient!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view-moderate service-inconvenient!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am halfway through my trip & I keep and I'm pretty disappointed.

Upon arrival (although it was 9pm) - we were basically given keys and a map. We had to park along the very tiptop of the hill, no assistance was offered for luggage. I not sure how a senior or a small female like myself is expected expected to lug everything in by themselves. We have continued to have to park at the top of the incline because there is never any other parking.

The restaurant: hours are 7:30am-10pm, therefore upon arrival we were forced to go down to Main Street to eat by the tip we unloaded everything and finally got to our room.

The bistro- Food was excellent, I must say! But there were only 2 poor servers running around. I felt very sorry for them! It took nearly 15mins to get a drink, and we waited at least 50mins for the second. I'm assuming they were short staffed.

Unfortunalty there is no room service after restuarant hours. This morning we have booked a fishing excursion - but... We will not be able to enjoy any breakfast because the restuarant opens at 7:30 & the excursion begins at 8.

There is no place to purchase snacks.

Room and facilities are outdated but still charming.

The view is gorgeous, but is across the street. The actual lake area with the beach, kayaks etc is much smaller than I had anticipated - but is nice.

With all of the walking and lack of food/service, I have been pretty disappointed. I rarely post, but after traveling so far I couldn't help myself! I had to share!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.

We make it abundantly clear at check in that we want you to have a wonderful time while you are here and that we will do everything humanly possible and reasonable to cause that to happen if you let us know your concerns while you are here. We’re not in the business of selling beds, food or beverages, but in the business of creating memorable experiences. We have to wonder why you did not avail yourself of that opportunity.

The Front Desk agent that checked you in is one our top agents and is extremely thorough. Offering luggage assistance is part of the standard check in process. Even our best staff can make an error and by simply letting us know you needed luggage assistance we would have immediately notified the bellman.

We have plenty of parking for our guests and it is very accessible and convenient and clearly marked on the map we provided you at check in. We find it very confusing as to why you would have had any trouble at all.

Our restaurant hours are clearly stated on our web site and explained at check in. We are not sure why you state that you had to go down the Main Street as our records show that you dined in our Cottage Café the night of your arrival.

We are glad you felt the food in the Bistro was excellent however we don’t understand how you could have waited 50 minutes for your second drink as is was delivered prior to your entrée being served and the total time you were in the Bistro was under an hour.

We do serve breakfast starting at 7:30am and we would have ensured you were on time for your fishing trip. Had you asked we would have provided you with something to go or even accommodated you early in the restaurant. I understand that your companion has a phobia to canoes and you decided to cancel your guided fishing trip at the same time you were supposed to depart for the trip. The guide was more than fair to only charge you half price but apparently you felt this was not fair and since the guide needed to depart as other guests were waiting our Rooms Manager took care of cancelation charge for you.

We are glad that you found the room to be charming (4 of 5 stars), the view gorgeous and the beach nice.

It is very unfortunate that you posted this review from your room instead of simply talking to us. I am sure we could have done something to make almost all of your disappointments go away and you would have enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    130
    45
    24
    8
See reviews for
137
372
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warren, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As first time visitors to Lake Placid we were a little surprised at how congested the area is. The hotel itself was very much old Adirondack with heavy fabrics and dark woods. The guest rooms very comfortable. The staff was great, but the food was unexciting and unchanging. Prospective guests should be warned that the Modified American Plan is applicable only in The View Restaurant where the cuisine never changes. Anyone up for halibut cheeks> I didn't even know they had cheeks.

Room Tip: The Mountain View Building has wonderful views of the lake from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you felt our staff were excellent and enjoyed the Spa. We are also glad that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the views. Regarding the Modified American Plan; you can dine in one of the other two restaurants instead of The View, but its better value if you go off the MAP plan or switch to the Bed and Breakfast plan since the other two restaurants are less expensive for dinner. We do change the menu a couple times during the year based on fresh and local ingredients that are available. Our Chef creates a market fish and market local feature one of which normally changes daily depending on the type of product he is using. Halibut cheeks are a delicacy and a very popular dish when we run them as a feature item in addition to the menu.

Again, thank you for being our guest! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights. The service and staff were very nice and very responsive. The hotel was at one time quite lovely but has grown a bit tired and worn. It was expensive for the current condition. The woodwork in the hotel is beautiful but the carpets in both the main areas and the hallways is dated and worn and the rooms are quite dated. The views and the great "cottage" porch for drinks may make it worth a trip though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the views, service and drinks at The Cottage!

We’re not sure which room you had while you were, but none of our rooms are outdated. They are traditional. We never have been and never will be contemporary/modern, i.e. we don’t have a lot of glass, plastic, chrome or bright colors - aqua, pink, etc., just lots of custom woodwork, antiques and a traditional, old world feeling.

Being AAA four diamond rated for 29 consecutive years we remain committed to providing our guests with a memorable quality experience. We are continually improving this experience by remaining focused on providing excellent service and by making consistent improvements and upgrades to the property. Even though our rooms are larger than the standard room we are currently involved in in the process of expanding many of our rooms. We think you will be pleased with the results. We look forward to your next visit so you can see it!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I first stayed here 34 years ago and always come back here for one simple reason. It's the best in Lake Placid. Service, ambiance food and drink, there is no better. Be sure and go down to The Cottage, their incredible lakeside bar/eatery. All the locals hang here at happy hour so you know it has to be the place to be. Also, the have an incredible spa to really put you in the mood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal guest! We are happy that you feel we are the best in Lake Placid, enjoy your stays, service, ambiance, food and drink! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Mirror Lake Inn this past weekend, and had a truly amazing experience. From the moment we arrived and checked in we were made to feel very welcome. The girl at the front desk(Elizabeth), greeted us with a warm friendly smile, and was very gracious, polite and accommodating. My wife and I travel extensively for business, and are usually greeted by a clerk who seems botherEd to check you in. Not here - it was a breath of fresh air! The grounds were beautifully landscaped, and it was obvious that this Inn paid attention to detail. We had a room on the fourth floor of the Moutain View Inn, and has a spectacular view of the lake from our balcony. The room was exquisite, as well as comfortable. We indulged in the spa on the premises, and each of partook of a massage as well as a facial. The estheticians were extremely friendly as well as proficient. We left there rejuvenated and refreshed. It was also a nice added touch that for the remainder of the day the whirlpool as well as the steam room was available. I can't say enough about the cleanliness of the spa as well as the overall friendliness of the staff working there. We also ate at the restaurant, and found the food creative, fresh, and delicious. Once again the staff went out of there way to make us feel extra special, and seemed sincerely genuine. We also had the chance to use there free kayaks as we took a lovely tranquil ride on the scenic lake. The time went by to quickly, and we were sorry to see the weekend end, but this place is a hidden jewel in Lake Placid, that we will definitively be returning to.

Room Tip: I recommend staying on a higher floor like we did(4th floor). The view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent three nights last week at the Mirror Lake Inn, and it was lovely! The staff couldn't have been nicer from the restaurants to the bartender to housekeeping. We stayed in the Mountain View building which had a great view of the lake and the mountains beyond. The room and bathroom were very nicely decorated in traditional Adirondack style. The grounds were beautifully kept, and it was very relaxing to sit down by the beach. We loved the availability of the kayaks for a sightseeing cruise around Mirror Lake. We ate at both the Cottage (very good) and the View (excellent) as well as other places in town. Would definitely go back to the Mirror Lake Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn last month during the Ironman. There was a slight mishap in our reservation. We reserved a room with a sofa bed and when we checked in were offered a room without one. The front desk worked it out to our satisfaction. Our room was comfortable but on the older side. The air conditioner was very loud and we ended up just turning it off. The shower had low water pressure and ran hot and cold at times. I'm bringing these items up because the Inn is not inexpensive. Service at the Inn is exceptional. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. There are very few places I've stayed where the service has been this good. The setting of the Inn is beautiful and the lake has a nice beach access with kayaks, paddle boats and canoes available for the guests use. We even had smores by campfire one evening. My only suggestion is for the Inn to add paddle boards. Breakfast was served buffet style with a wide selection of offerings and a station for omelets. While we were there we ate at all of the restaurants on the property and found them all very good. Visited the spa and had a wonderful massage and manicure/pedicure. If I were to return I'd like to stay in the cute cottages by the lake that are part of the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for being our guest during Ironman! Congratulations to your husband on his finish! We are glad that you felt the setting was beautiful, your room was comfortable, all restaurants were very good and service was exceptional. I am also glad you enjoyed the Spa and s’mores at the beach! I am sorry there was a slight mix-up with the room reserved for you, but I am glad we were able to quickly fix it. Thank you for bringing this to our attention while you were here so we could promptly fix it! We look forward to your next stay!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.