We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year After Year, We Love It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
AAA Four Diamond~30 years
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Year After Year, We Love It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel at least once a year ever since we were married 15 years ago. We love the warm weather in summer and fall, so generally book our stays here during those seasons.

The inn is gorgeous, warm, inviting, and friendly. It is made up of several buildings, all pretty well connected together. Each building seems to have its own personality, and we have loved staying in all of them.

The main lobby is the heart of the Inn, with a bistro, The View (main restaurant) and some super cozy rooms with great Adirondack furniture and roaring fires. You can get board games from the front desk and spend some real quality time with your family. No TV, cell phones, or distractions.

The spa is wonderful, they offer top of the line services. The pool and sauna area are INCREDIBLE. The hot tub is the size of some other hotel pools, and the pool is really big - even has a little wading area for little kids. There is also an outdoor pool for the summer months. And, of course, there's the lake, with a dock, swimming area, paddle boats, canoes, and a beach.

We stay at the Mirror Lake Inn as a family, and with 2 boys (ages 7 and 9) always find lots to fill our days. The beautiful village of Lake Placid is an easy walk with lots to do and see. The Mirror Lake Inn is one of our favorite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place!!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for being such loyal guests! It is so nice to see how you have grown with us, from a newlywed couple 15 years ago to a family of four today! We are glad that you enjoy your stays, the service and amenities. We look forward to having you back for many more memorable returns!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    124
    44
    23
    8
See reviews for
133
342
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked a last-minute weekend trip to Lake Placid to take advantage of the wonderful March snow at Whiteface. We arrived Friday night and enjoyed great live music in the pub and the crackling fire in the library. Saturday was a beautiful ski day - Whiteface is just 20 minutes (a beautiful drive) away. We returned to spa appointments. My massage was great and my husband enjoyed his facial. The spa locker rooms were very nice. The waiting area is more like a reception area than the 'sanctuary' type you find at spas like Mirbeau in Skaneateles.

Breakfast was wonderful both days. Eggs were perfectly cooked and fruit was tasty - no easy feat in middle of the ADKs in March.

After securing a late check out, we tried the offered yoga class. A little tame - meditation would be a better description - but enjoyable.

It is expensive - aiming for a fringe season was a good way to lower the cost though. It's worth the effort.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the lake. Stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you chose us for your last minute, shoulder season getaway and that you enjoyed the spa, breakfast, service and views from your guest room! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I along with our two sons (7 &9) just returned from a two night stay here. We first stayed at the Mirror Lake 12 plus years ago when we were just married. We returned every Fall up until we had our first child. It has been quite some time since weve been here and decided to make the trip with our boys since we were able to get a discounted rate which was such a treat for us. The boys have heard us talk time and time again about our love for Lake Placid. The Mirror Lake Inn continues to be a place of beauty and history. We both agreed that things have not changed too much over the years. We also agreed this can be a good thing and a bad thing. The staff here is fantastic. Love the warm reception. Our boys were well prepared for the visit with strict standards on behavior and they made us very proud at their top notch behavior during our stay. Several other families were visiting and most were respectful of guests and the atmosphere. We did notice one family with two small girls that seemed to just let them run the place. I found this annoying and was a bit disappointed the staff did not reign them in. Our room was clean, however my husband and I both felt it looked tired and ready for a renovation. The carpet seemed really worn along with the furniture and we noticed the moldings on ceiling etc. were stained etc. We both agreed that we would not pay the full rate here and instead (I hate to say this...) would stay at The Lodge at Whiteface even if it was a bit more $. I feel terrible saying this as we have so many great memories here. To sum this review up, we love this place. There are some things that need to be brought up to par. Mainly, the room we stayed in. I also think it is time to get rid of the green carpets in the hallways. I know that at times it seems so right to go with the if its not broke dont fix it mentality, however, I really think it is time to put some money back into this property. Otherwise, many other loyal guests will seek to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, Owner at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for your comments. We appreciate your feedback. We are currently in the process of renovating and expanding most of our guest rooms and we think you will be pleased with the results. Please contact us by email or otherwise (anonymously if you would like) to let us know specifically what room you stayed in so that we can address any specifics in the meantime. Sorry we missed the unruly children (and their parents), next time please bring it to our attention.

Sincerely,
Edwin H. Weibrecht, Jr.
Owner/Operator
Mirror Lake Inn Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Mirror Lake Inn is a large hotel complex that is a great romantic getaway. In the winter it is very cold (many times below 0 F) and has lots of snow on the ground. It is a place where you could stay in your room the whole weekend and enjoy everything without leaving the complex.

The service is good and so is the restaurant in the Inn. They normally do not allow pets in the facility. However, we brought a service dog to the Inn and they were very understanding and kind throughout the stay. It is a very relaxed atmosphere, so plan on spending several hours eating in the dining room.

They are really organized. It is on a huge hill but they invested in driveway heaters so the snow always melts on the hills no matter how cold it gets. A very unique location! They pay attention to detail. There are a lot of extras in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great views, excellent foot and wine, very friendly service. Close to town yet quiet. Family friendly - fun indoor pool and fitness room. Afternoon tea by the fire. Rooms are comfortable, furry blankets are luxuriously soft. Rooms can be a walk from the lobby but completely accessible. Can't wait to return again, would be great in warm weather also.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It has been another wonderful stay at the Mirror Lake Inn. Unfortunately we could only stay one night due to our schedule, but it was very relaxing. We were able to check in early into a room in the Mountainview building on the first floor which is actually like a second floor walk-up. The view of the lake and mountains was beautiful and we couldn't have asked for better weather. The building we were in is connected to the main building of the Inn - and the room was nice and quiet. Arriving early allowed us time to enjoy the pool and afternoon tea. What a civilized and relaxing environment. The indoor pool is one of the most serene and imaginative pools we have ever visited. It is fit-up in true Adirondack style and the pool water is the same temperature as the indoor air. The jacuzzi is wonderful and large and the sauna never seems to be crowded. Our favourite place is the library and the screened in porch overlooking the lake. The Inn is a short walk into the village with numerous shops, a movie theatre and plenty of restaurants. There were great sales on at the outlets when we visited during the second week of March. The View Restaurant was closed the night of our stay - but we were warned in advance. We did have the most delicious burger in the Bistro which was large enough for two! We also had breakfast at the Inn and two of us had the graham encrusted french toast with a hazelnut reduction...oh my goodness was this good. Never a disappointment with the food here. There is always coffee and tea available with take-out cups just to the left of the check-in desk so we always feel we are looked after and are always offered cookies on our departure. I was able to take advantage of a massage the next day prior to our departure which was divine. The spa at the Inn is not limited to guests but to anyone who would love to partake in the services of this wonderful facility. Thank you again for another wonderful stay!

Room Tip: A room on the second floor of the Mountainview building will enable you to walk directly across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisonville, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stay at Mirror Lake in at least twice a year, even though we only live an hour away. There are many things that make it special.
The owners Lisa and Ed are wonderful hosts.They treat each guest with respect and make their stay a memorable event. The staff, all of them, from the housekeepers, to the bar tender, to the grounds people, the wait staff,and the spa attendants are exceptional at what they do and go out of their way to make your stay the best ever!!
Each person greets you with a smile and often offer to help you with whatever you need assistance with: your luggage, your canoe, your bike, anything at all.
We find that Mirror Lake is is a great place to relax and forget it all.
The food is excellent!! Breakfast is our favorite meal of the day, afternoon tea gives us a little pick up, and dinner in the Taste Bistro is delicious!. They often have live music with local musicians and the bartender plays a mean harmonica!!

We also enjoy their well appointed spa.I even have my husband getting pedicures!!The indoor pool and exercise facilities are well kept and the entire place is kept spotless.

The rest of the grounds are lovely, especially in the spring and summer when the flowers start to come up. Each detail has been planned and worked on with their staff.But we also love it in the winter with the ice skating and snow shoeing nearby.

You can't go wrong with Mirror Lake Inn!! Stay there.Get on their mailing list as they often offer special rates on line.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent.If you want a room with a view of the lake and the mountains be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.