We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort in Lake Placid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Resort in Lake Placid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Mirror Lake Inn is a large hotel complex that is a great romantic getaway. In the winter it is very cold (many times below 0 F) and has lots of snow on the ground. It is a place where you could stay in your room the whole weekend and enjoy everything without leaving the complex.

The service is good and so is the restaurant in the Inn. They normally do not allow pets in the facility. However, we brought a service dog to the Inn and they were very understanding and kind throughout the stay. It is a very relaxed atmosphere, so plan on spending several hours eating in the dining room.

They are really organized. It is on a huge hill but they invested in driveway heaters so the snow always melts on the hills no matter how cold it gets. A very unique location! They pay attention to detail. There are a lot of extras in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    110
    43
    21
    7
See reviews for
123
314
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great views, excellent foot and wine, very friendly service. Close to town yet quiet. Family friendly - fun indoor pool and fitness room. Afternoon tea by the fire. Rooms are comfortable, furry blankets are luxuriously soft. Rooms can be a walk from the lobby but completely accessible. Can't wait to return again, would be great in warm weather also.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It has been another wonderful stay at the Mirror Lake Inn. Unfortunately we could only stay one night due to our schedule, but it was very relaxing. We were able to check in early into a room in the Mountainview building on the first floor which is actually like a second floor walk-up. The view of the lake and mountains was beautiful and we couldn't have asked for better weather. The building we were in is connected to the main building of the Inn - and the room was nice and quiet. Arriving early allowed us time to enjoy the pool and afternoon tea. What a civilized and relaxing environment. The indoor pool is one of the most serene and imaginative pools we have ever visited. It is fit-up in true Adirondack style and the pool water is the same temperature as the indoor air. The jacuzzi is wonderful and large and the sauna never seems to be crowded. Our favourite place is the library and the screened in porch overlooking the lake. The Inn is a short walk into the village with numerous shops, a movie theatre and plenty of restaurants. There were great sales on at the outlets when we visited during the second week of March. The View Restaurant was closed the night of our stay - but we were warned in advance. We did have the most delicious burger in the Bistro which was large enough for two! We also had breakfast at the Inn and two of us had the graham encrusted french toast with a hazelnut reduction...oh my goodness was this good. Never a disappointment with the food here. There is always coffee and tea available with take-out cups just to the left of the check-in desk so we always feel we are looked after and are always offered cookies on our departure. I was able to take advantage of a massage the next day prior to our departure which was divine. The spa at the Inn is not limited to guests but to anyone who would love to partake in the services of this wonderful facility. Thank you again for another wonderful stay!

Room Tip: A room on the second floor of the Mountainview building will enable you to walk directly across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisonville, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stay at Mirror Lake in at least twice a year, even though we only live an hour away. There are many things that make it special.
The owners Lisa and Ed are wonderful hosts.They treat each guest with respect and make their stay a memorable event. The staff, all of them, from the housekeepers, to the bar tender, to the grounds people, the wait staff,and the spa attendants are exceptional at what they do and go out of their way to make your stay the best ever!!
Each person greets you with a smile and often offer to help you with whatever you need assistance with: your luggage, your canoe, your bike, anything at all.
We find that Mirror Lake is is a great place to relax and forget it all.
The food is excellent!! Breakfast is our favorite meal of the day, afternoon tea gives us a little pick up, and dinner in the Taste Bistro is delicious!. They often have live music with local musicians and the bartender plays a mean harmonica!!

We also enjoy their well appointed spa.I even have my husband getting pedicures!!The indoor pool and exercise facilities are well kept and the entire place is kept spotless.

The rest of the grounds are lovely, especially in the spring and summer when the flowers start to come up. Each detail has been planned and worked on with their staff.But we also love it in the winter with the ice skating and snow shoeing nearby.

You can't go wrong with Mirror Lake Inn!! Stay there.Get on their mailing list as they often offer special rates on line.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent.If you want a room with a view of the lake and the mountains be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic resort and spa. Beautiful views from gorgeous room. Attentive staff. This hotel though pricey is absolutely worth every cent. Shopping in town is lots of fun and be sure to check out the gift shop in the hotel. Plush complimentary robes and toiletries make your stay fabulous ...be sure to get a relaxing massage at the luxurious spa, This hotel has it all including 4 star fine dining .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our purpose was to stay in a special place that our young children would enjoy and hopefully carry life-long memories of our great time. The place is exceptional and I think we accomplished our mission. My only complaint is the separate WiFi charge. This is the first place I've stayed in several years where WiFi access was not considered part of the basic amenities. But overall, it was a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you were able to make some special memories with your children! Although we do charge for wireless internet charge we do not charge a resort fee, unlike many other resorts which typically cost $20-$50 for items such as internet charges. Additionally, our network is relatively secure compared to the other hotels in the area. We also offer many complimentary items such as snow shoes, ice rink in front of The Cottage, private beach, kayaks, canoes, rowboats, paddle boats, safes in all rooms, fitness room, indoor and outdoor pools, whirlpool, sauna, tennis court, afternoon tea, coffee and cookies in the living room, self-serve 24hr coffee, cookies at the front desk, board games, DVD movies, a guest computer area and parking. We look forward to your return to make many more special memories!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We were in Lake Placid for a couple of days of skiing and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely recommend it to friends and family. For people with aches and pains, the beds left us well rested and ready to go the next day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and skiing and will recommend us to your friends and family! We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.