We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“dream trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight ski trip. Everything here was to die for. Booked a travelzoo rate and got a cloudsplitter room overlooking the lake. Room was fantastic, pool and hot tub were great for relaxing. My wife had the signature massage which she raves about all the time. We had dinner and drinks at the cottage which was very good. Service was outstanding. We went to Whiteface in the morning and were doing first tracks which started at 730 am. So we needed breakfast before the restaurant opened. The restaurant staff kindly helped us with a continental style breakfast which was waiting for us in the lobby that morning! Its fun to be at a hotel which goes out of its way to help you out! Will definitely go back if I travel to Lake Placid again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    111
    43
    21
    7
See reviews for
125
315
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
barnegat, nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went for a couple's getaway from Friday till Tuesday of New Years weekend. The hotel seemed like it was at capacity, but they handled the crowds well. Every single staff member that we encountered was more than pleasant. They always asked if they could be of assistance. I do agree that the price tag is not cheap to stay here, but you definitely get what you pay for. Since it was only the 2 of us, we stayed in a regular room, but Marcy was the category, which is the best of the standard category. The room was in the Mountainview building and on the 4th floor, so it had a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel was still decorated so it was very pretty. They just received over a foot of snow the day before we arrived and it snowed a little every day we were there, so it really made it such a winter wonderland. The hotel's location is superb, right at the edge of town. We walked into town for shopping, lunch and the movies. It was freezing while we were there but it is a great location to town. We enjoy martinis and the Taste Bistro bar was a great location for them. We ate there 2 nights and the food was just as good as the martinis. We also ate at the Cottage one night and Jimmys 21 one night. No complaints in the food/drink department. We treated ourselves to an 80 minute couples massage at the spa in the hotel and it was wonderful as well. Great amenities in the spa area. The indoor pool and jacuzzi was great as well. I dont recall seeing pictures on line for this area, but it was very nice and large too.
We look forward to going back to Mirror Lake in the near future. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just came back from a four-day stay at the Mirror Lake Inn. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 5 teenagers, and we all had a great time. From the moment we arrived there, everyone who worked there was pleasant, helpful and eager to ensure that we had a positive experience. We had four rooms and they all had breathtaking views of the lake and the holiday lights - 4 days of on and off snow did not hurt in terms of creating a winter wonderland. Definitely sign up for the breakfast plan. It was delicious, fresh, and as fast as you wanted it to be. We had dinner at The View one night and would have eaten there more often but we wanted to check out other restaurants in the area. Cookies in the lobby and tea served in the afternoon were another nice, cozy touch. After eating dinner on New Year's Eve at another restaurant, we came back for champagne in the lobby, balloons, hats, etc. They think of everything here! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice place. Oak paneling in the library after a lovely breakfast to read the papers.Lovely view from the restaurant across the lake. Good food and a relaxing time. We went in early winter and it was pituresque.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Perfect way to prepare for the holidays...a mini getaway ...relax in the spa, swim indoors while watching the snow fall, dream by the fire,sip champagne in the bar overlooking the lake...if you prefer the outdoors, strap on your snowshoes or head to the ski slopes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I just wrote a review about the bad experience we had at The View restaurant in this hotel. Therefore my overall rating for the hotel could never be more than Average.
The hotel itself is an old charmer; loads of history, well maintained, beautiful view, very nice and helpful staff. But... at this level (four diamonds, paying over $ 600 for a good size suite) one can expect a little more. Old charm is nice if it comes to the classic high quality furniture but the bathroom in our suite was in need of an update; at this level I do not want to climb into a (true, huge) jacuzzi to take a shower under a fixed shower head. Showers should be thermostat controlled as standard at this level. Although it is winter I did notice the old style air-conditioning
I realize the dilemma for the owners but I think they need to bring the hotel up to standard if they want to maintain the high ratings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mirror Lake Inn during the long Thanksgiving weekend and everything was wonderful! Our room had a beautiful view of the lake with a fireplace and balcony. The hotel is very cozy and the staff was very helpful and professional. It is perfectly located within a easy walk to town so once you get there you can park the car and walk. Thanksgiving dinner was very good and plentiful, cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.