We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped for and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family, including two children ages 8 and 13, stayed at Mirror Lake Inn August 22nd through August 26th. While knowing very little about the area and the property, we couldn't have been happier with our accommodations and the property overall. Yes, it was pricey ($400+ in the Mountain View building), but the grounds, the views, the exceptional staff really made you feel you were getting your money's worth.

My husband and I had cocktails in The Cottage one evening which was really a wonderful way to end the day. Another day we had lunch there -- terrific salads, soups, sandwiches. On another occasion we had dinner at The Bistro. While the food was overall very good, there was a very long wait between appetizers and entrees. We filled out a guest comment card, and sometime that night, a note of apology along with an invitation for a complimentary breakfast, was left at our door. It's rare that a hotel ever goes to that extent to make sure you are a happy guest.

The front desk staff also really goes above and beyond. We received great suggestions for hikes for our family along with ideas for other activities.

Lastly, while some people have commented negatively about the private "beach", all I can say is it was a little piece of nirvana. First of all, it's a lake, so not sure why guests would expect a sandy beach like on a coast. Having complimentary access to kayaks, canoes, rowboats plus the docks for jumping off, was a wonderful way to spend quality family time.

Kudos to the owners and management for creating a great guest experience. For this busy NY family, it was a truly authentic Adirondack experience and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    133
    46
    24
    8
See reviews for
152
381
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Save your money and splurge on a mini vacation here. We had a fantastic suite in the main lodge overlooking the lake. The staff wants you to totally relax and enjoy. There were good choices of spots to eat at the Inn. It is also a very short walk into Lake Placid. There are kayaks and canoes to use at the beach. We used kayaks everyday. There are lots of porches, living rooms, and nooks to settle with a book or just relax. Sitting on our deck was so wonderful. We didn't have time to try the outdoor pool or indoor pool or spa. If the weather hadn't been perfect I had a few spa services I would have tried. Really so worth the splurge.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester county, ny
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having stayed at several other hotels in Lake Placid, I was a bit disappointed in the rooms..
Very dark, motel-like rooms, their are only window air conditioners which can get very noisy, sliding doors are also very loud especially when someone above or below opens them. They do not have flat screen tv's yet either. While we were there, the breakfast was only a huge buffet which was way too much food so we had to go outside the hotel to eat. And when we got back to the hotel the parking lot was full because the staff had parked in it ..so we had to sit and wait for a spot. Bed was very comfy. The staff is EXCEPTIONALLY friendly and helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for being our guest. We are glad that you felt the staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I am sorry that your guest room did not meet your expectations. We want our guests to be happy and this is why we say on the back of the key card envelope, “PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE we want you to have a wonderful time and to return often. If anything about your stay is not to your liking don’t spoil your stay by holding it in, let us know immediately so we can fix it. PLEASE!”

We have many types of rooms. If for some reason you don’t like your room please let us know and we will try to move you. If there is something that you would like for breakfast that you do not see on the buffet, just tell your server and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund, General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This resort was absolutely breathtaking. Everything about our experience was above and beyond exceptional. We loved the fun vibe at The Cottage for our late night cocktails after an incredible dinner at The View. We had an amazing dinner at The Bistro which was the perfect amount of food. We did not leave wanting more nor were we too full. My wife spent time in the spa while I hung with the kids by the lake. She said the spa was by far the nicest spa she has ever been to (and she has been to many spas). She adored the steam room and the showers which were stocked with everything she could possibly need. She relaxed in the hot tub and said her facial and massages were both wonderful. The kids and I loved kyacking around the lake and jumping off the dock. My kids also adored both the indoor and outdoor pools. My wife said the yoga classes she attended outside by the waterfall were terrific and she's already asking when we will be taking our next trip to Lake Placid. I promised her a winter vacation so we can ski. We are looking forward to seeing the town in the winter. Especially since we enjoyed it so much in the summer. Great shops and friendly people. Overall, we had a great vacation and cannot wait to get back to the Mirror Lake Inn. It's Adirondack feel and true originality make it a place there are no words to describe!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the beautiful Mirror Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very Quiet and stately............. Rooms adequate.....dark small.....unless you want to upgrade to $400 and up.......Mirror Lake beautiful.......... If you want peace and quiet,,, here it is..
Restaurant is fine dinning and the food was good... breakfast too.. the spa was in my opinion
just ok... expeically for the price... very impersonal.... it was like you were just in line shuffled from one room to the next.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I visited here for five days with my young kids.

I agree with the previous reviews that the place is somewhat overpriced for what you get - the rooms are a bit dark and in need of some updating although they are comfortable. Also, it is a bit labyrinth like and not so easy for strollers and young kids because the property is made up of several different buildings that seem like they were added to the property at different periods.

Having said that, that is part of the charm - this is not a "big box" type of hotel - it has a quaint older type of New England charm. The restaurants were all great except for the Cottage where the food was terrible. The View restaurant and the bistro had great food but are expensive (especially the View).

The beach area is not really a beach and the view is nice except that the lake is very built up - coming from Ontario where I am used to the Muskokas and quiet lakes I was a bit surprised by how many hotels were on the lake. There is a very tiny beach and one needs to cross the road to get there - it's bit treacherous with little kids because the stairs from the front entrance end right at the road and I really had to keep an eye on my kids so they didn't run across the road to the beach. Once one got to the beach there were paddle boats, kayaks, and canoes that were available and the staff (summer students) that worked there were very friendly and accommodating and the water was nice and warm.

The indoor pool was loved by my kids but it is also a bit dated (although well maintained). The outdoor pool was very nice and was heated.

Except for it being a bit of a pain to get around with a stroller and the issue of crossing the road, this resort was great for little kids in that they just loved the paddle boats and the pool and the nearby mini golf - that was enough to entertain them. For my husband and I we were just happy to have a nice spa and some good food and a comfortable room. I did wish beach/water access was easier and that it wasn't so commercial and that there weren't so many stairs and different buildings.

I think next year I would rather go to a resort in the Muskokas like Red Leaves where it's a little less commercial and more rustic and about the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view - we stayed in the mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for being our guest and for your review.

We appreciate your comments regarding crossing the road and we are currently working on improving the situation. This afternoon the Owner and I met with the Chief of Police at the site to discuss possible solutions and expect to have them implemented soon. I am sorry that you were not happy with food at the Cottage but pleased you felt the food at both The View and Taste Bistro was great. It is nice see that you appreciate the charm of the Inn and glad you recognize that we are not the typical cookie cutter hotel. We get a lot of positive feedback from children and adults alike and I am glad that your children loved the indoor pool. I hope you recognized that it is designed to resemble a mountain lake complete with clouds on the ceiling, plants, rocks and waterfall. We hope you reconsider going to the Muskokas and will visit again soon. A recent article in the Toronto Star referring to Lake Placid stated “This town is more Jasper than Banff, but think Muskoa with upgrades: a charming downtown framed by enchanting lakes and soaring mountains about 15 km in the distance.”

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund, General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

MLI is no doubt in a beautiful setting, their lake access is great, availability of kayaks/boats to take out plentiful, but....we paid over $400 a night to stay in a room that was dark, dank and in need of an overhaul. Definitely not worth the price. I was a bit surprised that they've managed to remain part of the Small Luxury Hotel Network.

Room Access, at least where we were staying (Mountain View house?) was difficult, you needed to climb a set of stairs before you could take an elevator to the second where we were staying. There were no bell hops to help upon checkin. The property is just awkward, almost as if they've expanded without much thought to access.

We did like/appreciate now cell phones allowed in the public areas of the property. We were traveling with our 3/12 and 6 1/2 year old. The property has activities available for them, but at an extra cost. Also, WIFI is $14 a day - crazy!

Room Tip: anywhere but the Mountain View complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest. The Mirror Lake Inn is more of a classic Adirondack Resort, opposed to a modern city type hotel and our rooms and common areas reflect the decor that is traditionally found in the Adirondacks. We do have bellman available to assist with luggage and it is standard for us to offer this at check in and checkout. I am sorry if this was not offered to you. In the future please do not hesitate to ask for assistance with anything you may need as we are here to help. Unlike most hotels that build their rooms off both sides of a corridor, we have our property laid out off one side of the corridor so that every room is ensured exceptional lake and mountain views and most have balconies. This is why the resort is spread out more than others. We have several free activities for our guests (including children). To name a few: swimming in the heated outdoor pool, indoor pool and private beach, tennis court, canoes, kayaks, paddle boat, row boat, afternoon tea, coffee and homemade chocolate chip cookies and a fitness room. Unlike many resorts we do not charge a resort fee for our amenities. These fees can range from $20-$50 and as high as $180 per night at similar properties. Additionally we do not charge a parking fee.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund, General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.