We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 30%
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting the Mirror Lake Inn for over 15 years now. We discovered this jewel and have since introduced it to many people. Our kids are all adults and they all love it. My son got engaged there. My daughter and her husband had a "babymoon" there before having their first child. This hotel has a very special feel from the moment you walk in the door. The smell alone is captivating. The lobby is absolutely beautiful and the view is beyond belief. We love curling up with a book in front of the fire in the lobby - especially in the winter. We were snowed in there a couple of years ago and it was awesome! The staff is top-notch. The rooms are expensive so we usually try to wait for one of their specials. It's worth it to us though. We just came back from a one night trip and feel 100% refreshed. When we arrived we were disappointed to see that the Adirondack chairs weren't out on the dock. We mentioned that to the desk clerk and she immediately had one of the staff place chairs out there for us. It was chilly but the sun was warm and we sat out there for 2 hours reading. Heaven!! We always make a trip to The Cottage while we're there and we love it. We've tried staying in cheaper hotels in Lake Placid but none of us gives us the feeling that we get when we walk in the door of the Mirror Lake Inn!!!!

Room Tip: It's nice to have an unobstructed lake view from your room but almost all rooms have some sort o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for being such loyal guests and for introducing us to your family and friends! We are happy that you consider Mirror Lake Inn a piece of heaven and we look forward to your return for years to come!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    133
    46
    24
    8
See reviews for
152
380
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I received a gift certificate to the Mirror Lake Inn for Christmas. We planned on being in Lake Placid in May and hoped to stay over on Cinco De Mayo. I called Thursday evening to see about booking a room and was politely told that there is a two-night minimum stay on the weekend, but if they were not booked by Friday at 8:00pm I could call back and book a one-night stay. So, this is what I did and we were able to reserve a lovely room in the Mountain View section of the resort. The Inn has a main building where there is are rooms, a formal dining room, a Pub Room which is a bit more casual but the same menu, two fire places, a "game" room, a full service spa, exercise room, pool and several cozy nooks and crannies to enjoy. Tea and cookies are served each afternoon and there are daily activities such as yoga or a fishing trip to a "secret" fishing hole (make sure to have your fishing license). We arrived a little late for tea but were welcomed with homemade chocolate chip cookies which are baked on-site daily. Our room was spectacular with a four poster king size bed, leather coach and baloney that overlooked Mirror Lake and the beautiful Adirondacks. Everything about the Mirror Lake Inn is luxurious from the sheets on the bed, to the toiletries in the bathroom to the delicious food. The staff are accommodating and want to make sure you have a great stay. The Inn is also perfectly situated within walking distance to downtown. There is also a red brick sidewalk that follows along the Lake for 2.7 miles if you want a little exercise. We enjoyed ourselves so much we hope to make staying at the Inn an annual getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Recently stayed at Mirror Lake Inn while at a Conference in Lake Placid. It is by far the best place to stay in Lake Placid!!!!! Our room overlooked the lake and the view was magnification.. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure everything is prefect form Breakfast to dinner! This is a must place to stay when in Placid nice walk to town

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We visited Lake Placid from August 25, 2011 to August 29, 2011, family of four. We initially were planning to visit Cape Cod but the impending arrival of Hurricane Irene made us change our plans.
Lake Placid looks like it is in the Swiss Alps and Mirror Lake Inn looks like a Swiss Chalet with wood paneling and wallpaper every where. We paid a premium for a Lake View room. This was in a separate building on a higher floor connected to the main building by an interior walkway. The hotel has a sliver of private beach on Mirror Lake with swimming and boats. The Lake is across from the hotel with a road in the middle. Our view was across the garden, the road and then the lake. Location is great, with downtown Lake Placid a ten minute walk.
Parking is adequate but tight. They have an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub.
We had one meal at the hotel - at the Cottage, which is their casual dining option on the lake. We enjoyed it.
One thing to note is that we felt that the hotel is geared really to an older profile of guest and not to families with young children. They are very conscious of noise with sound on the TV in the room turned way down and if you want to increase it beyond a point then you have to request maintenance to come and unlock the volume controls. Also, they have warning placards warning that guests are liable to pay a fine if a car alarm goes off and other guests complain.
Of the activities that we did - we enjoyed the visit to Ausable Chasm and Gondola Ride up White Face Mountain. What was really disappointing was the ice skating show at the Olympic Center. It was really amateur hour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have been visiting the Mirror Lake Inn for about 15 years now, with our most recent stay being April 22-25, 2012. I am currently in withdrawal from leaving the MLI -- if only the rest of life worked the way it does when you're a guest at the Mirror Lake Inn!

This is a family-owned place positioned on a hill facing Mirror Lake, at the end of the main business district of Lake Placid. So while you feel like you're on a quiet Adirondack lake (you are), you are also within walking distance to "downtown" Lake Placid. But the location is a small thing in comparison to the other aspects of this place.

When you walk into the lobby, the first thing that hits you is the spectacular aroma from the fireplace mixed with the relaxing herbal scents from the spa below. They say that the sense of smell strongly triggers our memories, and when I open their front door and take my first breath of this intoxicating scent, I want to cry I'm so happy. The inn is older and furnished with some vintage (antique?) furniture -- not opulent, but impeccably maintained. The front desk staff is always bright, efficient, and welcoming. As other reviewers have mentioned, chocolate chip cookies are offered at check-in, tea time, and even when you are leaving, but I have to disagree with my fellow travelers and say that, while it's great that they offer them, the chocolate chip cookies are probably one of the only disappointments here. One of the cool additions to the front desk is the proud display of the Olympic bronze medal the owners' son won in the 2010 Winter Games.

All of the rooms have balconies/terraces and face the lake. They are always some of the cleanest and best maintained rooms ever (I don't know how they get the bathroom grout so sparkling and flawless). I love that they automatically include an empty mini-fridge (no pesky mini-bar items) so that you can fill it with your own beverages and snacks. Housekeeping is attentive and nearly invisible -- regardless of when you leave your room, it's magically all fixed up when you return. The only complaint we have about the room is that the wireless internet service (for which they charge) did not work very well at all -- it was quite frustrating to have it constantly disconnect in the middle of my husband's phone meeting where he needed to be online. The front desk did refund our internet fee and buy us breakfast, but we would have preferred a wireless connection that worked.

All of the staff seem to be happily committed to making you feel cared for. For example, on a previous winter trip our car had trouble starting in the parking lot and a maintenance guy noticed this, brought us some "dry gas" additive, and stayed until the car started up, all without us asking! On another occasion we were having breakfast with some friends and one remarked to his wife that he wished his bacon was more crispy -- the waitress happened to hear this and immediately delivered another portion of crispier bacon. On another visit I asked a server at the View restaurant if they would be offering a spectacular banana cream pie I had enjoyed on another trip there. The server checked with the kitchen and regretted that their banana delivery had not occurred. Later on, someone came up to me and said that they went to the grocery store and bought bananas and would make the banana cream pie just for me -- it was delicious (I had it for several days) and made me feel wonderful!

And then there's the spa . . . it's on the lower level, and is nicely outfitted with a steam room, a whirlpool, simple yet narcotic showers, dark wooden lockers, etc. The spa staff is pretty much excellent to a person. Nobody "phones it in" -- they all are serious about their treatments yet relaxed and easygoing in their manner. I'm partial to the Mirror Lake Classic massage (Swedish) and the Four Layer Facial (the only facial I like anywhere), and my husband feels that they have the best hot stone massage. They tout their Maple Sugar Scrub, but I had it once before and felt the sugar grains were not as exfoliating as the traditional salt scrub, although my husband did mention that I smelled like a doughnut after I had that treatment (not a bad thing). Magically, attendants make sure that there is never a shortage of clean towels or clean shower stalls. Details like plastic bags for your wet swimwear are placed in each locker (that was actually a suggestion of mine one year and they did it).

So what you have here is a beautiful setting, a staff that anticipates your needs, a carefully maintained property down to the last detail, an excellent spa, and just an effortless experience. If only the rest of life worked like it does at the Mirror Lake Inn!

Room Tip: Even the least expensive rooms are lovely (you might get a partially obstructed view), but go for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and two children stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn in March 2012 for 5 nights. We thought we could get in some late season skiing, but it turned out to be 80 degrees instead! So we changed course and had an extremely relaxing vacation together at the Mirror Lake Inn. Everyone was so accommodating and we had one of the best times ever. The front desk staff always had suggestions for us to check out even though it was off-season. We went horseback riding and hiking, and visited the Olympic Center. But some of the best times were just taking advantage of the Inn's many amenities. We had a picnic lunch on the dock, swam in the pool, and relaxed in the hot tub (especially after hiking to the Balanced Rocks!) My husband usually has some complaint for the hotel when we go away and this was the first time he could not think of anything! That says a lot. Definitely recommend this for people of all ages. Getting my parents a gift certificate for their anniversary. Will definitely be back. Thanks Mirror Lake Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in a NoonMark room. It had a nice view of the Lake and was convenient to the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for being our guest! We are happy that you enjoyed your family vacation even though the late season skiing turned into an 80 degree heat wave! It’s nice to see that you enjoyed all our facilities and amenities and had a relaxing time. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I visited MLI February 2012 for two day weekend stay. Upon entering the Inn the wonderful smell pine and wood burning fire greeted us. The front desk staff was very friendly and offered us their signature chocolate chip cookies. Delicious! Our room was absolutely beautiful with Adirondack decor hot tub and outdoor deck overlooking the lake. Heavy terry robes are included in each room for use. The spa is world class! I had one of the best massages ever! The indoor pool and huge Jacuzzi pool was great for the kids! We ate at the Bistro and the food was delicious. On some evenings The Bistro has a vocalist entertaining. The crowd can join in and sing or sit back and enjoy the entertainment. We also had the morning breakfast buffet at The View which was delicious as well. The afternoon tea is a signature tradition of the Inn. Tea, coffee and cookies are served in the lobby to enjoy in the library and surrounding common areas. There are also activities such as yoga, snowshoeing, ice skating, etc. offered for an additional charge and use of boats during the warmer weather. All in all we had a wonderful time at the beautiful Inn. Mirror Lake Inn is a luxury Inn therefore pricing reflects a higher end resort. It is so worth it! We plan to return annually!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.