We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury spa in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pure luxury spa in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My latest trip to the spa at the Mirror Lake Inn Resort and Spa may not have met my full expectations, but that was not because of the spa! Having been there before, and having had more than one fabulous Swedish massage in past visits, my very pregnant daughter-in-law and I were very excited to have this time of bonding before her baby arrives. We had both attended a workshop in nearby Saranac Lake where I concentrated on yoga and she on cooking healthy meals. The day was cold and snowy so by the time we arrived, we were both ready for some quality time with a professional masseuse. The biggest task was removing all the layers of clothing, but our individual lockers were spacious enough for boots, puffer coats, hats and gloves, as well as our 'change into' clothes. Wearing the spa-provided wraps and flip-flops, we headed for the steam room and the jetted hot-tub, giving our bodies time to warm up and our minds time to prepare for our treats. D-in-Law had a pregnancy massage while I chose a Swedish one. The massage rooms were comfortably warm, had low level lighting, and smelled delicious. Following the massage, we were offered water or tea and spent some time relaxing before heading back to the locker rooms. There I took a shower, washed and dried my hair, thanks to the spa-provided soaps, shampoos, lotions, and even shavers. All dressed, we paid our bill, and left, but did not want the evening to stop....and so walked over the the Mirror Lake's bar-on-the-[frozen]-lake, the Cottage, where we were treated to music, friendly company, and fireworks from the evenings events at the Olympic venues! It was a fabulous mini vacation!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Inn, as we live nearby, but any room overlooking the lake would be magical, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    134
    46
    24
    8
See reviews for
157
397
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. The location is within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants, and the views from the rooms are fantastic. The lobby cozy, warm, and obviously has adirondack decor. The service is always friendly and attentative. The spa, pool, and fitness room are also a delight.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We visited just after peak summer season and before prime leaf season so we enjoyed an attractive rate. The spot overall is pretty nice. Complimentary boats are fun and a small beach/grassy area is a nice touch. That said, rooms are tight and dated. Balconies are a plus, but definitely make your experience a public one. The location is solid on the end of the main village street and the on-site/next door restaurant is fair.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities at the resort. We have many different room types to suit everyone’s needs. We are constantly making upgrades throughout the resort and were surprised to read that you felt your room was tight and dated. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your return soon.
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermontville, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had the ultimate pleasure once again to spend our New Years Eve overnight at the Mirror Lake Inn and Spa with tea time and the sauna / whirlpool in the afternoon and enjoyed a wonderful NYE dinner at The View restaurant and finish our night in the Taste Bistro over drinks.....we have been coming to the Inn for 8 years and have never been disappointed in the staff, the food or the luxury of the rooms......anyone who is looking for a special vacation experience will find none better than the Mirror Lake Inn......be sure and check out their website to see first hand what you can experience there......
Julie and Peter Woodcock

Room Tip: We love the rooms in the Mountain View buidling and of course the higher up floor is the best view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for being such a loyal guest! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and dining experiences in Taste Bistro and The View. Our staff appreciate the compliments on service, food, drinks and accommodation. We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The wife and I went here for a quiet weekend away for our anniversary. We were greeted with a "Happy Anniversary" upon check in and were surprised with a complimentary bottle of bubbly in our room. The hotel was full of families and children, yet was quiet, warm and relaxing.

A first rate place, with impeccable facilities, staff and atmosphere.

This is the type of place all "luxury" vacation spots at this price point should aspire to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and Happy Anniversary again! We are happy that you enjoyed your quiet, relaxing stay with first rate service and atmosphere. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights after our winter/Christmas themed wedding in December. Everything about our stay was perfect. We loved the afternoon cookies in the main house and enjoyed several spa treatments (all of which were the best we have ever experienced from numerous other 4 and 5 diamond resorts/inns we've stayed). The Christmas decorations were very festive, yet tasteful.

We stayed in the Lake Cottage, in the Lakeview Room. It was beautiful! The view of the frozen lake from bed and the wrap around porch/balcony was a sight to be seen. And the bed was very comfy -- move over Westin Heavenly Bed!

The inn is also in a great location and we were able to walk to all of the local restaurants, etc. recommended by the concierge. We also took on a dog sled ride on the lake, literally right outside of our room. That was a highlight - and yet another great recommendation from the concierge.

Mirror Lake Inn was the perfect location for our honeymoon and the only regret we have is not having our wedding there! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for being our guest! We are glad that you enjoyed your lakeview room in the Lake Cottage, your services at The Spa and the convenient location of the Inn. Congratulations again on your marriage! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I first came here 32 years ago as a bachelor skier and not only fell in love with the Mirror Lake Inn but Lake Placid itself. Unquestionably the best apres ski town in the U.S. As for the inn, it is one of the most beautiful and charming places to stay of any mountain resort area. Excellent service, lovely rooms and wonderful restaurants. A year after I came here (I was 32 at the time) I came back with a friend and we fell in love here and was married 6 months later. My wife and I continue to not only come back to Placid but to this wonderful Inn as well. Last night, once again we were at the inn for a charity event, and it's magic never wears thin. Tonight we'll be meeting friends at The Cottage which is one of the coolest places to hang out on Mirror Lake with the locals. Here the inn has created an atmosphere of congeniality and beauty right on the lake with. Come here any season and you'll love it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 77 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinguishing feature of this inn, which has been in business since 1924, is that all 131 rooms have a view of Mirror Lake and the Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirror Lake Hotel Lake Placid
Mirror Lake Inn Resort And Spa
Mirror Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.