We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the active traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lake Placid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lake Placid to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lake Placid
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2125 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place for the active traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for a long weekend of cross country skiing, snowshoeing, and general touring of Lake Placid. Three of us stayed comfortably in the lakeside cottage. It had everything we needed and was accessable. The room was clean and the breakfasts were good. Didn't spend much time in the room and it was still a good value. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    80
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
65
58
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gouverneur, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were in Lake Placid for a weekend get away with our two teenage children. We stayed in the newer, upper portion of the hotel, with a second floor room overlooking the indoor pool and hot tub area. The room was smaller than we anticipated, but they did provide a roll out bed for our teenage son, which was in the room before our arrival, so that was appreciated. For an Adirondack hotel, this was not decorated at all in the lodge style. Our room had sun flower wallpaper border and horrible bedspreads. There was a decent size refrigerator and microwave, but the bathroom was tiny (though it was newer and had a great shower head) - two of us couldn't have been in there at the same time for any length of time - and there was almost no counter space at all. The doors security peep hole was at about a 5'8" foot height, making it impossible for me to see out of it (i'm 5'4"). There was no elevator to our floor, causing us to have to drag all of our suitcases up two flights of stairs. The pool area was extremely busy and loud. At one point, we could see about 15-20 children in the hot tub with no adult in the water with them. The first day we were at the resort, we were in the pool about 10 minutes before getting out and returning to the room. Several tables were taken up by large groups of people drinking beer and eating pizza while their children ran around freely - in and out of the pool and hot tub - jumping and screaming. We realize there is not a lifeguard on duty, but they might consider having a staff member checking on guest behavior throughout the day and night. This lasted until 10:00 p.m, when the pool closed for the night - and started up again at 10:00 a.m. the following morning when the pool opened up again. We did spend about 15 minutes in the hot tub our second night there, but counted at least 20 people congregated at tables which they had pulled together from all parts of the pool area - and were again drinking in the pool area while their children ran.

The beds were fresh and clean and the mattresses were comfortable. Ample pillows and towels were provided. A negative was that it seemed about 80 degrees in the room and there is no thermostat, causing us to actually turn on the AC unit in order to cool it off a bit. We had to leave the AC set overnight, In addition, on two occasions, we attempted to call the front desk to ask a question and got no answer at all - the phone simply rang and rang. Vending and ice machines are out of order. The continental breakfast was brought in from an outside restaurant, but was hot and good. Overall, this hotel was clean and the staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful, but the cons will put it on our list of "not agains."

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the upper portion of the hotel - may want to request a room that does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second stay at the Comfort Inn Lake Placid and we were not inclined to return after the less than impressive (very small) room we had during our previous visit. This time, however, we ended up in the main building (up top) and had a much better room facing west and an inside walk to the breakfast room and pool area. The hotel itself is a kilometer from downtown and there are restaurants, a supermarket and a drug store within a hundred meters or so.

The place was almost empty the first night (a Wednesday) but was much busier the next night and booked to capacity for the weekend. In general, Lake Placid fills up on weekends so the experience of staying, visiting and eating may be completely different depending on the time of week you go.

The pool area is large and the hot tub worked just fine and was very relaxing after a day of skiing. The room was clean and spacious but starting to show its age a little and the heating system was old-school noisy and moved into cremate mode if left on for more than 5 minutes even when set on minimum. The breakfast buffet was the standard Comfort Inn type but the large, bright room made the experience more enjoyable than usual. Would stay there again but would be sure to be careful on the room type being rented.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place was ok. The rooms were clean. However, It was snowing during our entire visit and they did not always clean the bottom lot. This caused problems with our friends being able to get to their room. Also, we wanted to stay an extra night. We had to change rooms because our suite was sold out. The staff told us we would have to check out at 11 and take our luggage down to the lobby for 2 hrs while the rooms were cleaned. I thought this was crazy, why couldn't they just let us stay a little late in our room until the other room was cleaned. Anyway, It ended up working out because I spoke with the cleaning crew and they had a room clean for us at 11 so we could move over our luggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this Comfort Inn. Compared to other hotels in the area, this one was reasonably-priced and quite clean. We stayed in a section away from the main building, and it was extremely quiet. The free breakast was impressive (extensive selection of hot foods as well as cereal, bagels, toast, pastries). The only thing we didn't enjoy, was the breakfast area was very warm (was near the indoor pool, so it kind of felt like a sauna in there). Also found it a bit unprofessional that the staff stood by the buffet eating and talking. Then they sat down at a table beside the buffet and were talking/texting/eating. Just seemed odd that they were stationed out there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a hockey tornament was a good set up for the team with the pool. Beds were comfy, staff were friendly.was adequate. Do not eat at thehojos next door... Terrible! The hotwl is showing signs of wear due to all the teams that come herd.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we were lucky with our room allocation, we were given one at the back of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking the car park, lake and woodland, even though the car park was outside our room it wasnt noisy, as a tour group when we arrived we had a wine and cheese reception which was very nice, the girl even gave us a glass of wine each to take back to our room, breakfast was extreemly good for a complimentary breakfast lovely location

Room Tip: try to get a room on the outside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lake Placid

Address: 2125 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable destination for skiing adventures, golf getaways, Olympic experiences and other outdoor pursuits, Comfort Inn on Lake Placid offers affordable and comfortable lodgings on the shores of Lake Placid in the heart of the Adirondack Park. Just minutes from the world-famous ski destination, Whiteface Mountain, this hotel is ideal for families, groups and even solo adventurers.The Comfort Inn on Lake Placid features deluxe continental breakfast served daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a year-round indoor heated pool and jacuzzi. For groups and meetings, our hotel also boasts versatile meeting/banquet space for up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Ny
Lake Placid Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.