We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, reasonably-priced hotel with free breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lake Placid
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2125 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Gettysburg, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent, reasonably-priced hotel with free breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this Comfort Inn. Compared to other hotels in the area, this one was reasonably-priced and quite clean. We stayed in a section away from the main building, and it was extremely quiet. The free breakast was impressive (extensive selection of hot foods as well as cereal, bagels, toast, pastries). The only thing we didn't enjoy, was the breakfast area was very warm (was near the indoor pool, so it kind of felt like a sauna in there). Also found it a bit unprofessional that the staff stood by the buffet eating and talking. Then they sat down at a table beside the buffet and were talking/texting/eating. Just seemed odd that they were stationed out there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    71
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
53
45
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a hockey tornament was a good set up for the team with the pool. Beds were comfy, staff were friendly.was adequate. Do not eat at thehojos next door... Terrible! The hotwl is showing signs of wear due to all the teams that come herd.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we were lucky with our room allocation, we were given one at the back of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking the car park, lake and woodland, even though the car park was outside our room it wasnt noisy, as a tour group when we arrived we had a wine and cheese reception which was very nice, the girl even gave us a glass of wine each to take back to our room, breakfast was extreemly good for a complimentary breakfast lovely location

Room Tip: try to get a room on the outside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have to start this review saying that I dont like staying in hotels and tend to be a bit picky about them...
That being said, this place was not bad, but it wasnt great either. We hotwired the room so we didnt know where we were staying until we booked. The price we aid for one night (friday night) was 149 plus tax. And that was hotwired! When we arrived to check in, I was a little disappointed. The complex is set up kind of wierd- the check in area and office are ina seperate building up front. Behind it is a motel style area with about 15 or so rooms. Then up the hill is the main section of the complex with a bunch more rooms and a dining area as well as the pool and recreation area. We got assigned a room in the main building and luckily it did not overlook the pool. We snooped in an empty room across the hall from us that did overlook the pool and I would have to say that I would not reccomend taking one of those rooms. They do not have any windows to the outside, or any natural light. The overlook the indoor pool area which is dark and can get loud when filled with a hockey team of teenage boys..... Just an FYI. The rooms are pretty dated. The televisions are the old style and are very small. The beds have those thin, rough, classic "hotel/motel" bed spreads on them, and the pillows are really tiny! The room was realtively clean, but everything was kind of dark so it was hard to tell for sure. Our rom didnt smell funny but the hallway kind of had a musty smell to it. The bathroom was the most updated part of the room and appeared very clean. The toilet seat was mind of loose though and that was annoying.
The pool was the best park of the place (not including the view out our balcony which was pretty nice) and the pool area was well kept. It was also pretty dated, but somehow in a more likeable "vintage" way and we really enjoyed the time we spent down thre relaxing in the evening. My husband and son swam and enjoyed the hot tub while I relaxed on a chair and read.
The next morning they served a complimentary breakfast, and though that is a nice perk- it was nothing to get too excited for. The eggs were good but the room was crowded, the toasters were being monopolized and they kept running out of things, like cereal and yogurt. We came down to eat about 9am and all that was really left was eggs, donuts and coffee. The dining room staff was not very friendly and kind of rude when I asked if they were going to be bringing in more cereal.
Overrall, I would most likely stay here again.
The GOOD points: nice pool and hot tub, cool pool area, great location
The BAD points: outdated, a little pricey for what it is, strange layout- make sure you pick a room that suits you. ie- remember the poolside room situation. And also there is a section of rooms more like a motel where you would have to walk to use the pool or eat in the breakfast area- its seperate from the main building.
Also worth noting- its a good location but it isnt on the main section of Saranc Ave. Its around the corner and up the hill. If you have little ones you will want a stroller.

Room Tip: Don't do poolside- they have no natural light and dont open to the outside at all. And if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When I checked in this hotel I asked for a quiet room, but the check-in guy said the hotel was booked solid and had no other choice to assign me a handicapped room by the indoor pool. What a disappointment... I had no natural light nor window, and had to keep the indoor patio door shutters closed at all times as the indoor pool was crowded with people looking directly in my room...

The room was definitely not sparking clean at all... and I had tons of fruit flies in the room for no obvious reasons. I was happy I had only booked one night there. For the price I paid, I was expecting more.

I don't understand why the desk guy said that the hotel was booked solid; the room next to me was empty and the parking lot was about half-empty.

I think people in the rooms with balcony may have had a different experience than I had.

On the positive side: parking was free, breakfast was included (typical Comfort inn breakfast), wifi too and there's an indoor pool.

Room Tip: Ask to NOT be assigned a room by the indoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I came in to Lake Placid exhausted after a race and was early for check in. Kayla and Megan went out of there way to get me and my friend situated. They went above and beyond and for that we are most greatful. The hotel is well kept, has nice views and is affordable. I would stay there again most definitely!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view.....maybe not of the pool because it is indoors and you will hear guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

quick weekend trip to the high peaks to catch a little fall foliage landed us here and we satisfied. great indoor pool with hot tub in the court yard. the included breakfast is like a continental breakfast on steroids. eggs, sausage, fresh fruits, yogurt, breads, juices etc. all in a nice seating area in the courtyard. you get the idea. it saves time and money so you can get out and do the stuff you came to do. we paid $127 a night with AAA discount. its about a 10 min walk to main st. for shopping if you dont want to deal with the parking meters.

Room Tip: we liked our room overlooking the courtyard and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lake Placid

Address: 2125 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lake Placid 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable destination for skiing adventures, golf getaways, Olympic experiences and other outdoor pursuits, Comfort Inn on Lake Placid offers affordable and comfortable lodgings on the shores of Lake Placid in the heart of the Adirondack Park. Just minutes from the world-famous ski destination, Whiteface Mountain, this hotel is ideal for families, groups and even solo adventurers.The Comfort Inn on Lake Placid features deluxe continental breakfast served daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a year-round indoor heated pool and jacuzzi. For groups and meetings, our hotel also boasts versatile meeting/banquet space for up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Ny
Lake Placid Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.