We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Lake Placid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Lake Placid to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Lake Placid
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2125 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Red Hook, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Spent four days at the Lake Placid Comfort Inn and truly enjoyed it. The room opened out onto the indoor pool and spa which was great for the kids. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent with a good choice of foods and drinks. The staff were very friendly. There are canoes, row boats and paddle boats available to sign out. It is located on Lake Placid (larger, prettier lake) not Mirror lake BUT walking distance down the main street to all the shopping (and Mirror lake swim area). If you don't want to walk, the trolley stops out front every 20-30 minutes. Really a great find and will definitely return. Added bonus was it was pet friendly! Both our dogs were able to enjoy Lake Placid and our hikes on nearby trails which the hotel provides a list at check in. Great, great place!!

Room Tip: Don't get room by reception room if wedding booked that night. Make sure the AC filter is cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    83
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
65
60
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here as a family for one night in the summer, as we were passing through the Adirondacks, and just needed a place to park ourselves for the night. We found the Comfort Inn to be quite pleasant, with many things to do, and much more than the simple motel we were expecting!

The hotel is located just outside of the main downtown area of Lake Placid and is actually on the Lake itself. We were in the large building up the hill (that had the pool and breakfast room) but there were several buildings in the complex. Our kids are small so we opted not to have a pool side room and instead had a view of the mountains instead with a little deck area, which was really nice.

The rooms were very large for two double beds, and there was plenty of space for our bags and things and for the kids to bounce around in. In addition, the rooms had a microwave and a fridge, which were very convenient. The decor is rather dated and kind of drab, and the room was kind of dark, but it was clean.

The free breakfast they had out was ideal for families with small kids--they had stuff the kids would like (sugar cereals, yogurts, juice) plus hot and cold dishes. The room for breakfast was right next to the pool, and was large and spacious, and the staff was constantly keeping it well stocked. Also, they had little kiddie tables which our kids loved eating at (and we did too, because we could sort of eat in peace). The downsides to breakfast was that it was a little low on the fresh fruit selection (only strawberries and whole apples) and the coffee was very weakly caffeinated.

The pool area was really fun for our kids--a big pool with towels to use, hot tub, fountains made of rocks with miniature streams, gazebos, and a roof that opens to the sky. I imagine that if you had a poolside room, it would be pretty neat to walk out of your hotel room right into the pool area!

The other great thing is that there is a dock that is right on the lake with paddle boats, canoes, and rowboats that you can use for free, where you check out the oars and life vests from the desk. This was really great as that part of the lake is quiet and peaceful. There is also a picnic area right near the dock with deck chairs, so you can lounge by the lake. There were also tennis courts you could use.

Service was very friendly. They were a little understaffed so sometimes you had to wait a while before being helped.

WiFi was free and signal was good in the big building.

Overall, it was a fun one-night stay, though I can easily imagine that it would be great as a multiple night getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed overnight in early July 2011. Check in was quick but the young female receptionist appeared uninterested, as if this was a summer job, and roll on the winter. However, she was helpful when I asked for assistance about things to do and where to go, although had no knowledge of the Olympic bob sledge run (a main attraction just outside Lake Placid town).
We received a 2 queen bed room in the main block on the hill, (the lower smaller block at road level also contains the reception). The decor was very dated and tired (needs a make over), but it was clean. Our room was on the outside of the building and had a small veranda with 2 chairs, with views over the distant mountains. We also had regular visits from ducks when we sat outside. A large number of the rooms in this block overlook the internal courtyard pool area, and whilst this may be satisfactory for families with young children (as they could keep an eye on them in the pool) I'm glad we did not receive one of these internal rooms.
The main plus for this hotel was having free access to kayaks, rowing boats and pedaloes on the lake at the rear of the hotel. This more than made up for any minor gripes we may have had. A young male receptionist quickly got us the oars and life jackets, but it was carried out with a distinct lack of enthusiasm - perhaps they’re not being paid enough!!
The breakfast was well stocked with the usual juices, cereals, coffee, bread and some hot dishes, etc. The breakfast staff was attentive and kept the area clean and tidy.
The hotel is in a good location but it is a reasonable distance away from the main street, if that is important to you.
Would we go back - yes, if only for the kayak. However it would depend on the price, and I would also check out the other hotels first. If we did decide to book again I would ensure that we had an ‘external’ room in the higher block, for easy access to the pool and breakfast room.
I would normally give this hotel an average rating, but I feel in a generous mood and as we did enjoy boating on the lake, I have given a very good mark on this occasion.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in room 300. On a 2 week motorcycle trip. we were able to park the bike right out front of the room.

Pros: Good that it was just outside of downtown.
Access to shops was a walk across the street to the free trolley.
Their breakfast was "Great"
Roms are clean.
Cons: The front door did not seal
The bathroom door did not close
The toilet moved
The noise from the road was intense
The walls are paper thin
The fridge made a maddening noise
The shower/bath was old
The A/C smelled
The walk up to the main part for breakfast is a killer.
I would stay again but in a different room. Up top with a ground access room maybe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmsford, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Spent 5 days at the Comfort Inn in Lake Placid. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. We also enjoyed their pool and hot tub every night. We stay at Comfort Inn wherever we travel and this was the only one we have come across so far that did not have an exercise room for the guests. There was a dock with free use of paddle boats and canoes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The service was good. Staff was very friendly. Our room was located by the pool, which made it a dream room for our children. The pool and hot tub is of good size and seemed clean. The room was clean and somewhat modern. However, the walls and ceiling must have not had much insulation for you could hear people walking above and talking on each side of us. Very sizable breakfast area that was well stocked.

The location is very close to most attractions and shops in Lake Placid. The hotel is located by the lake and they do have canoes, paddle boats, and row boats that guest may use for free.

All in all , our experience was good. I like most everything about the hotel except for the being able to hear through the walls and ceiling.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. The one on the hill has the pool and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We planned for one night during school break and extended to 2 due to the snow storm. Desk was prompt in locating another room for us @ same midweek rate and let us know as soon as it was ready so we could move our items. Rooms were clean, all items working and staff was decent...we really had limited need for interaction with them. I walked to the office on that snowy day without issue and noted the snow plow to be working nearly all day at clearning the main drive. I do think some vehicles could have had issues with slipping but hey, it's winter in Northern New York. Pool was nice and breakfast was totally sufficient to meet our needs to start the day. The only negative I found was the safe charge that you must mention you didn't use on departure in order to have the charge reserved -- obviously a method for making a few dollars off many who don't wish to stop at desk on departure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lake Placid

Address: 2125 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable destination for skiing adventures, golf getaways, Olympic experiences and other outdoor pursuits, Comfort Inn on Lake Placid offers affordable and comfortable lodgings on the shores of Lake Placid in the heart of the Adirondack Park. Just minutes from the world-famous ski destination, Whiteface Mountain, this hotel is ideal for families, groups and even solo adventurers.The Comfort Inn on Lake Placid features deluxe continental breakfast served daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a year-round indoor heated pool and jacuzzi. For groups and meetings, our hotel also boasts versatile meeting/banquet space for up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Comfort Inn Lake Placid Ny
Lake Placid Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.