We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Liverpool, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

When booking a hotel for President's Day weekend, the Econolodge was about 1/2 the price of other area hotels. Considering I was traveling with 3 teenage boys, I decided minimum comfort would do. I was pleasantly surprised with the large size of the rooms and unexpected services available, such as WiFi and a hot breakfast, The pool and hot tub were in better condition than those of pricier hotels we have stayed at in the area. As most of our trip was spent at Whiteface or visiting friends in the area, we did not mind being outside the village.

Room Tip: Extra $10 for room with an interior corridor is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Pool and Hot Tub. I hope your sons did as well. I did want to bring to your attention that there is a Free Local Trolley service that does stop at the hotel that would bring your family into town instead of driving.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barb Wood
General Manager
Econo Lodge of Lake Placid, NY
518-523-2817
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
24
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix Mont Blanc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel is not the best... Have to drive to get on the main street where all the restaurants and pubs are...room was very clean, had everything we needed... Pool and hot tub were amazing.. Specially after a long day snowboarding... Breakfast was very disappointing, the waffle machine was very busy.. One morning had to wait for 20 minutes to get a waffle.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you're expecting a 3+ star stay, then go somewhere else. It was perfect for our basic 2 star stay at about $75 a night. The rooms were very clean and pretty comfortable (not 1000 thread count but it's 2 star!). Wifi worked well in our room. There was a nice small pool and hot tub. The hot tub was VERY hot and strong. Lots of TV channels if you plan to watch some TV during your time here.

Staff was friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The free breakfast was a nice surprise because the booking website didn't say we would get one. Breakfast was basic (breads, juice, cereals) but there was a waffle maker.

Location is good but expect to use the car to get anywhere (main tourist area/restaurants, olympic sites)

Room Tip: If you plan to use the pool or hot tub, try to get a room inside the same building. We ran outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is what you would expect for the name, and the price. Our room was very clean, although upon first walking in we could smell a strong air freshner, that thankfully dissapated. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was tiny, but everything worked, and most importantly it was clean (although the tub was a little worn).The staff at check-in and out were very friendly. The breakfast was small - english muffins, cold ceral, instant oatmeal, but the coffee was hot, and fairly decent.

As a no-frills place to stay, for people who intend to spend most of their time enjoying the outdoors around Lake Placid, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Toilet ran all night. Was told when called that we would have indoor corridor. ...not true. Too cold to walk outside to the pool. told could not switch rooms under penalty of death. Breakfast was ok with a waffle maker. Old floral bed spreads with worn blanket s.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We decided at the last minute to make a trip to the Adironacks to see the fall foliage. In searching for a small local hotel/motel we found many of them closed and those that were opened were charging more than we wanted to pay. We finally decided to check the chain hotels and found this one at a very good rate. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and well maintained. The indoor pool was very clean. The only issue that I had was that the ice machine on our floor didn't work but walking down one floor to the other ice machine was no problem. I would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We wanted to visit the high peaks region during leaf peeping time and opted to hold out on making reservations until the last possible minute. We were looking for affordable, simple, and quiet as we were not planning on spending much time in our room. We found Econo Lodge and booked it. The staff was very friendly and professional, and the room was yes a bit behind in fancy bedding and furniture but it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. They offer a light fare for breakfast including waffles, oatmeal, english muffins, cold cereal and donuts coffee cocoa tea and juice. Which if you ask me is more than enough to get me going. The pool area was clean and well taken care of it could have used an area to put your belongings but was well supplied with towels and chairs even a shower. It's really close to downtown without fighting for parking at the other hotels and just a very short drive to Whiteface Mtn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building seperate from the office have indoor acess to the indoor pool without having t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Free internet...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Northwoods Inn
Northwoods Inn
#21 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Address: 5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.