We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine space, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fine space, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We requested an early check in and Barbara was wonderful in getting our room ready. She even took my husbands phone number and called us when it was ready (we needed it for about 12pm and called around 11am) Accommodations were fine, but how nice the staff were made it 4 over 3 stars for us.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
24
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Lake Placid. We had lovely accommodations at the Econo lodge. It was nice and clean and the rooms were well maintained every day.Lovely fluffy towels and other amenities which make it a great place to stay. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. The hotel was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again. The staff was terrific going out of their way to fulfill requests quickly. Thanks again to everyone invovled.

Room Tip: We liked facing the back of the hotel. The view was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our group stayed here as it's very convenient to hiking trails and cycling routes. The shuttle bus is also convenient as it runs by every 30 minutes until about 10:30 p.m., however, on Sundays it doesn't run after 6 p.m. so you can get into town but you're on your own to get back (no problem if you don't mind walking a half hour with the last half mile along the shoulder of the road).
The staff are quite accommodating and pleasant - bravo!
Breakfast is a major disappointment - if you are an active person, you will need to go out for breakfast.
Rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
No hesitation in returning but next time we'll compare total costs with the need to add external breakfasts before making our decision.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would face the back, but no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very quaint hotel. It was very comfortable and quiet. Great place to stay if you just need a bed. It's very clean as well. People are EXTREMELY nice too! It's old but very well kept. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Actually I don't think there is a restaurant on property---that's an error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'd have given the Econolodge 3 stars, but four things happened:
1. A wedding party was staying there and a number of them stayed out in the parking lot under our balcony till about 4:30 am, smoking and making noise. Why would the hotel allow this at the expense of the other guests?
2. The air conditioner was noisy too, even though it still couldn't drown out the partygoers;
3. I got a close look at the carpeting when I had to retrieve something from the floor. Filthy and sticky. The hallways and entries were bad too.
4. We came back on Saturday at 2:30 pm and our room had not been serviced, leaving us with a pile of damp towels and a full wastebasket.
$130 a night isn't so cheap that I could overlook these things. It was a much nicer place 7 years ago when we stayed there last. The free breakfasts are very mediocre, the ice machine outside our room wasn't working but was pinging and zinging constantly. Very disappointing overall.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor to choose a different lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonK123, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

I sincerely apologize for the stay you had at our property. Please know I listen to all of our guest’s comments and use them to improve our guest service here at the EconoLodge. This is not the level of guest service we expect from our associates and I assure you we have taken the necessary steps to make sure that this does not happen in the future. I thank you for informing us of the situation and at your convenience, please contact me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Our family has stayed here on numerous occasions as we have a child who trains for sports here and we like to ski at Whiteface. Lake Placid can be a pricey place to stay and we routinely find this to be one of the more reasonably priced options. The rooms are clean and have the basic amenities. We have been particularly impressed with the management who has been accommodating when we've needed to change our plans due to weather conditions. The pool area is clean with a "balcony" area out of the splash zone, a convienent place to supervise kids who are swimming but don't need you at their side.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a very nice motel. Very clean and quiett. If you are close to the pool you may smell a bit of chlorine. Nice large room with iron and frige had to ask for it, but no extra charge. Free shuttle bus right outside the door. Front desk very nice people. There is a continental breakfast, but not much to offer and the coffee and tea was cold.Indoor pool shaped as a fish and hot tub. The pool is very small and no deep end about 5 feet deep. Couldn't really swim in it. Quite a distance from downtown, but shuttle takes you right there. Only comes by every 30 minutes though. Would stay there again. It was a little more then I had hoped to pay, but save by having breakfast there. Stayed two nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool. We had the very last room from the pool and could still smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Address: 5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;