We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but pleasant accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Basic but pleasant accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our group stayed here as it's very convenient to hiking trails and cycling routes. The shuttle bus is also convenient as it runs by every 30 minutes until about 10:30 p.m., however, on Sundays it doesn't run after 6 p.m. so you can get into town but you're on your own to get back (no problem if you don't mind walking a half hour with the last half mile along the shoulder of the road).
The staff are quite accommodating and pleasant - bravo!
Breakfast is a major disappointment - if you are an active person, you will need to go out for breakfast.
Rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
No hesitation in returning but next time we'll compare total costs with the need to add external breakfasts before making our decision.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms would face the back, but no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
23
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massena, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very quaint hotel. It was very comfortable and quiet. Great place to stay if you just need a bed. It's very clean as well. People are EXTREMELY nice too! It's old but very well kept. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Actually I don't think there is a restaurant on property---that's an error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'd have given the Econolodge 3 stars, but four things happened:
1. A wedding party was staying there and a number of them stayed out in the parking lot under our balcony till about 4:30 am, smoking and making noise. Why would the hotel allow this at the expense of the other guests?
2. The air conditioner was noisy too, even though it still couldn't drown out the partygoers;
3. I got a close look at the carpeting when I had to retrieve something from the floor. Filthy and sticky. The hallways and entries were bad too.
4. We came back on Saturday at 2:30 pm and our room had not been serviced, leaving us with a pile of damp towels and a full wastebasket.
$130 a night isn't so cheap that I could overlook these things. It was a much nicer place 7 years ago when we stayed there last. The free breakfasts are very mediocre, the ice machine outside our room wasn't working but was pinging and zinging constantly. Very disappointing overall.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor to choose a different lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonK123, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

I sincerely apologize for the stay you had at our property. Please know I listen to all of our guest’s comments and use them to improve our guest service here at the EconoLodge. This is not the level of guest service we expect from our associates and I assure you we have taken the necessary steps to make sure that this does not happen in the future. I thank you for informing us of the situation and at your convenience, please contact me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Our family has stayed here on numerous occasions as we have a child who trains for sports here and we like to ski at Whiteface. Lake Placid can be a pricey place to stay and we routinely find this to be one of the more reasonably priced options. The rooms are clean and have the basic amenities. We have been particularly impressed with the management who has been accommodating when we've needed to change our plans due to weather conditions. The pool area is clean with a "balcony" area out of the splash zone, a convienent place to supervise kids who are swimming but don't need you at their side.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a very nice motel. Very clean and quiett. If you are close to the pool you may smell a bit of chlorine. Nice large room with iron and frige had to ask for it, but no extra charge. Free shuttle bus right outside the door. Front desk very nice people. There is a continental breakfast, but not much to offer and the coffee and tea was cold.Indoor pool shaped as a fish and hot tub. The pool is very small and no deep end about 5 feet deep. Couldn't really swim in it. Quite a distance from downtown, but shuttle takes you right there. Only comes by every 30 minutes though. Would stay there again. It was a little more then I had hoped to pay, but save by having breakfast there. Stayed two nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool. We had the very last room from the pool and could still smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A last minute trip to the area had us choose between the two remaining types of hotels high end and low end. Not willing to pay twice the money for a one night stay, I chose the Econo Lodge. It was clean and basic. Keeping basic in mind. There wasn't any major problems to report. Clean and comfortable. Basically. Would stay here again facing the same situation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Econo Lodge enroute through to NewHampshire with a group of fellow bikers.
The hotel is hard to find on the end of town, not that close to the downtown. An average hotel - nothing special. My friends had an older room, close to the reception, mine was newer on the second floor in the back building. So if you do stay you might want to inquire about the newer / remodelled section.
If you are travelling through and looking for an economical hotel, then your good. If you are looking to stay for a few days, and tour the town, a little too far away. There is a complimentary "Lake Placid shuttle" but runs every hour.
Pass on the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge
Address: 5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.